We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid week visit good atmosphere”
Review of Turtle Bay

Turtle Bay
Ranked #56 of 1,576 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Jerk...Rum...Reggae...Caribbean eating and drinking...is at the heart and soul of the Caribbean Island culture and we, here at Turtle Bay, aim to capture the essence of this way of life and the great food that evolves here. We are a Caribbean restaurant serving authentic great tasting Caribbean style food from Aruba to Saint Lucia. You will also taste our fantastic rum based cocktails and experience friendly service which we hope leaves customers wanting to come back to our bay again and again.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Mid week visit good atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Came here mid week to sample some cocktails and food as had been recommended
We arrived just before happy hour was finishing so had a few drinks and then sat down for food.
Menu was limited but a good selection available still.
Food was hot in spice which I like but not too spicy. Our waiter was attentive and cheerful
We shall return again

Helpful?
Thank Superem123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,880 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    961
    605
    191
    73
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hot hot Hot”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This place is amazing. The service, the cocktails, the food. I couldn't fault it and would highly recommend Turtle Bay. Its atmosphere is laid back, with reggae music playing, as you can imagine from a Caribbean restaurant. The staff were helpful, funny and friendly. This place was packed, and it was a Tuesday night. that says it all!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant atmosphere, cocktails and food!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

A group of my friends and I went a couple of Saturdays ago to celebrate my Birthday. We had book for 6 and then 9 turned up last minute! Although the restaurant was packed, they were very accommodating and found an extra table and chairs for the extra guests. The waitress who served us was awesome and joined in with her banter. A well deserved tip was given. The cocktails were amazing and the food was perfect!
there was a mix of meat eaters and vegetarians in the group not one single person had a complaint, everyone loved their food!
The atmosphere was lively and buzzing and really made you feel like you were on holiday!
It is also situated right in the centre of town, so perfect for you to stumble tipsily onto the clubs!
Will most definitely be going back soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steffy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Favourite dining experience in Bristol”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great food, friendly service and lovely drinks. Relaxed atmosphere and very reasonable prices! We have dined here a few times but still return because it hasn't let us down yet!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Reserved a table for Saturday night via the website which was easy. Arrived and our table was ready for us. The whole place was buzzing and the atmosphere was great. Our waiter, James, was brilliant. He was attentive, helpful and even replaced a drink, without charge, as I accidentally knocked mine over. The food was so tasty and the portions were just right. Thought the prices were good and with the cocktails in happy hour being b.o.g.o.f what more could you ask. Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diece_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turtle Bay also viewed

 
Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 

Been to Turtle Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing