We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saturday Night service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wallfish Bistro

Wallfish Bistro
Ranked #46 of 1,565 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$77
Cuisines: European, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Clifton's best restaurant that is named after snails
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Saturday Night service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Another fantastic Saturday night, this place never fails to deliver great value for money. The attention to detail in the main course and dessert in giving what the customer wants doesn't go unnoticed. Thanks for going the extra!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    62
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“On the Snail Trail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have been trying to get to Wallfish for ages with the last attempt when they were closed for holidays last month but we finally managed it on Sunday for a late lunch much to our delight. Wallfish is a place you could easily pass without a second glance but this little eatery is well worth that second glance and undoubtedly another visit will be on the cards very soon.
A nice little place, plain and understated in décor and design it lays bare an excellent and varied menu which is reasonably priced.
The menu is small but well designed and thought through offering just enough variety to suit most palates and tastes. Evenly sprinkled between fish and meat with a limited vegetarian choice the menu left me spoilt for choice and wanting several of the starters leaving me no option but to play "eeny meeny miny mo" to make my selection - even then I think I changed it a couple of times not relying on the fact that I had eenied or meenied correctly!
Settling on the snails for starters (well you have to in a restaurant called Wallfish surely that is compulsory) and Ling to follow, the food was perfectly cooked, all finished off with the light and delicious rhubarb and panna cotta (the old man having the cuttlefish and squab). Presentation lacked slightly for me and it seemed a bit muddled on the plate but that's not the most major part of a meal to me so am happy to forgo presentation on taste any time.
The restaurant did seem to lack a certain ambience and was a bit shop front/café more than bistro/restaurant but again the décor is not a major part of my meals either so this is barely worth the mention.
Overall a very good meal and well worth a return visit and I would recommend Wallfish to friends and family as it is certainly one of those places you really must try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cazz111_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Amazing squid and the best Gurnard fillet I have ever tasted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We popped in for a business meeting on a Wednesday lunchtime and were very warmly welcomed by Liberty who was attentive and helpful but never overbearing. The setup is very nice with good use of the natural light. The food was absolutely excellent, the cumin and fennel flavours working with the squid brilliantly (I could have eaten a bucketful) and my main, the fillet of Gurnard with samphire was perfectly cooked, melt in the mouth good and brimming with flavour. I hope to eat here again very soon - oh, and the coffee is pretty decent too!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Basemess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Full marks to Wallfish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The menu lets you know these are food people.
Bloody Mary to start, rock oysters, fried squid, pork crackling and apple sauce as nibbles.
Snails, cuttlefish, crab, hangar steak, oxtail ragu, gurnard, Salt marsh Lamb, Somerset Kid.
All these things tell you these are full on food people. Not a lame sounding dish on the menu. Such exciting ingredients. Such a refreshing change from the boring usual.
The execution did not disappoint.
Go. Go now. This is a gem of a place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Won't hesitate to recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Nice, simple tasteful decor, really lovely service and great food on an imaginative menu offered with a great selection of drinks. Couldn't fault anything really!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJPuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wallfish Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Wallfish Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing