We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing pancakes! ”
Review of The Tube Diner

The Tube Diner
Ranked #118 of 1,616 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing pancakes! ”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Visited for brunch after seeing the great reviews on here. We were not disappointed. We all had pancakes and they were absolutely fabulous. Quite a big stack and tasted great! Nice atmosphere too and the staff were really pleasant and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Roxstediis_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    18
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I have never had a bad meal here”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The staff and food at The Tube Diner are second to none. I found it quite by accident a few years ago when visiting an exhibition at The Paint Works and decided to drop in for a quick meal. I had no idea it was going to be so excellent.

While the setting wouldn't normally strike you as somewhere to go out of your way to eat, you certainly would not be disappointed that you did.

My only criticism, is they aren't open every day and into the evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rTiGd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Brilliant food, nicely done and fantastic friendly staff.

Charlie the owner should do the voice for the M&S adverts, makes all his food sound fantastic and they back it up by producing fantastic food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food with excellent service.”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Went to the diner today and I can honestly say I had the best poached eggs I've ever tried. My brunch was amazing and the bacon out of this world. Such good quality food and staff very friendly. Have been here before and have never been disappointed. An all round great experience, funky and relaxed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BeeWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A little gem of a place. Best burger I've had for years.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We visited on American Independence Day, a good time to try out a place with a good reputation for top quality burgers.

Two shiny, aluminium, caravan "diners", one the kitchen, the other a 30/40's style " restaurant car, with outside tables on artificial grass, at The Paint Works. I'm told the vans were imported from The States.

The staff were engaging, friendly and really hard working, especially the guy, who was virtually one-handed with his right arm in a splint.

When we arrived, the place was busy, we were told "I'm sorry, but everyone's come at once, and we've got 10 take-outs to do as well, so there will be a 20 min wait for the food". Fine, we knew the score and were happy to wait and chat.

We found seats for the 5 of us inside and had a coke or two. 20 mins later the food arrived, the cheese burger was excellent, made from real mince beef, the sort of meat you'd buy from an independent butcher's shop. I rarely have burgers simply because in most fast food chains the meat is scraped of the bones after all the decent meat as been removed. The last burger I had from the American chain with a Scottish name made me ill for days. Nothing like that here, the quality of the product at The Tube was obvious.

Service with a smile, the place was clean,

If you haven't been yet - go! The Tube Diner is worthy of a detour.
Top quality, American style "fast food", from a quirky, eatery with excellent staff, providing good "old fashioned service, "Back to the Future".

Brilliant, well done!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tube Diner also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Been to The Tube Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing