We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and VERY CHEAP!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lodekka

Lodekka
Ranked #1,196 of 1,564 Restaurants in Bristol
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Part of the Hungry Horse chain, this new pub and restaurant stands on the Bath Road site, in Brislington, Bristol, where the city's iconic Lodekka buses were built 60 years ago. The pub's links with these green and cream low-height double deckers are mapped out on a wall near the bar. It explains that 5,217 Lodekkas were built at the Brislington works between 1949 and 1968, although they were still in service as recently as 1983, when they were withdrawn. The retro bus theme even extends to one wall being used as a screen to show old films. They were showing On The Buses, which was amusing and quirky although wall-to-ceiling projections of Olive and Blakey might be enough to put you off your dinner. The huge menu is basically the same as in any other Hungry Horse and it certainly appeals to all tastes and budgets. There are the "famous" big plate specials, such as The Full Monty Mixed Grill (£9.49) And the Smothered 9oz Steak Sizzler for the same price. Other options include burgers, hot dogs, pizzas, jackets, burritos and a large section of "favourites" - everything from £3.99 Sausages, mash, peas and gravy to British beef and ale pie (£5.89). This is not trying to be a gastronomic experience, but a child-friendly place where lots of families can enjoy generous portions of familiar, consistently cooked dishes at low prices
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and VERY CHEAP!!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I often visit The Lodekka due to the cost of food and drinks. Each and every time I have gone I wouldn't fault a thing! Food is always gorgeous especially for the price. A young man behind the bar I think his name was Jamel? Ever so lovely. I will be more than happy to visit again and again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    53
    45
    45
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good family pub”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A relatively new family pub with good standards. Very clean and tidy. Standard VFM menu. Overflow car park
Location makes it easy to miss
Watch out for GROMIT hiding in a corner

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 340paul01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY WITH GREAT STAFF!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Always great value for your money food, well cooked and presented. We were surprised on our first ever visit at the choice of food as some shall we say snobby types had told us some, frankly, rubbish! This is a great 'night off from cooking' or a nice little lunch place. It is has a family vibe but that said all ages are always there either dining or just having a drink. The staff are all very attentive and helpful as well as happy and friendly... they work very hard but seem to be very 'chipper' as well. Too many high end place never have this kind of service! It is always busy and it would be nice to be able to book a table but we never have to wait long so far. The only negative thing I can find to say, and it is serious, is that there is no self closing gate off of the pavement. It is only a few metres to the doors from the main road and the doors are sometimes wedged open with chairs. With so many children milling around it seems like an horrendous accident about to happen at any moment, ditto the low garden/playground wall that the kids climb on again only feet away from the busy A4 road. (Would like to see a nicer/cozier interior too, a bit too modern eclectic shall we say at mo!)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wisewonderer1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
129 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A really nice place”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Clean tables and other areas, friendly staff, really nice food, attractive place to eat! I dined here tonight in a group of 5 adults and everyone was happy with their food. The salads were fresh, the deserts looked amazing (and I'm told were good!)

I'll be back with my kids and husband soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BristolClogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I eat in at least one Hungry Horse a week and this one was very good enjoyed my meal it very good then had a cakeaway dessert next time I'm out this way I will visit here again

Helpful?
Thank Damon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lodekka also viewed

Yate, Gloucestershire
 
Keynsham, Somerset
 

Been to Lodekka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing