We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not made for a Summer Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
1 review
“Not made for a Summer Vacation”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Staff were very apologetic for the conditions in this hotel during the high summer temperatures, but that did not help our situation. The windows in the rooms cannot open more than 2 inches, and we were given one pedestal fan to cool a room which 3 people were staying in. The situation could have been resolved somewhat if staff could release the safety catch on the windows to let more breeze in. But that is against company policy. Surely during such out of the ordinary conditions, a little flexibility on Premier Inns part could have helped to support their promise "a great night's sleep"- which you won't get if you visit when the temps are 25 or higher.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    196
    68
    16
    28
See reviews for
191
213
17
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

We are Aussies and are currently living in the UAE,so we are NO strangers to warm weather. But I have to say this place was a real hardship to put up with during the warm sunny days the UK is currently having. No a/c and you cannot open the windows beyond 2 inches! We had one pedastal fan to circulate the warm air. Avoid avoid we had to sit outside for cool air. What a shame

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen-AD1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
155 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Room was standard for a Premier Inn. Located in a leisure park which means that there is plenty of parking and restaurant chains next door.

Probably about 20-30 minutes drive to get into central Bristol.

At the height of the heat wave, it is unfortunate that there is no air conditioning and that the windows are restricted from opening more than a couple of inches.

OK if you are touring in the area. We preferred the Premier Inn in central Bristol (King St) due to its location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saraBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The hotel is situated South of Bristol adjacent to a Leisure Park. The rooms are the typical Premier Inn rooms - quite basic but very comfortable and clean. There was plenty of parking and several places to eat in addition to a small local Co-op at the nearby Petrol Station where you could buy a few provisions etc.
We ate a delicious breakfast at the Brewer's Fayre next to the hotel - great selection for continental or cooked and a pleasant room to sit in. The staff at the hotel and Brewer's Fayre were really friendly and helpful - and this did enhance our stay and boosted the hotel's rating.
I would recommend the hotel as good value for a short stay in this part of Bristol.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This hotel is well located and the staff at reception are friendly and welcoming. But the problems start once inside the room. When we entered our room we greeted by the disgusting smell like an overflowing sewer. This in the end turned out to be a problem with the piping in the local area. We were then told that another family had already relocated that afternoon to another room because of this problem. Luckily they had another vacancy in the hotel and we were able to relocate and the staff kindly moved our luggage while we were at dinner. We were also given a free night in accordance with their good night guarantee. My other problem is that we were staying in summer and the rooms were not air-conditioned and the window would not open properly so I had trouble sleeping on all 4 nights I was staying there. On the more positive side there were plenty of restaurants nearby including one onsite. There was also a huge park for children of any age and a decent cinema nearby.
My advise: If you are going in winter you should have no problem as rooms have adjustable heating and the toilet was probably just a one-off bad experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We used this hotel as a base for visiting both Bath and Bristol. The location served our purposes. It was especially quick to get into the southern side of Bristol, for example to see the SS Great Britain. The hotel (motel really) was very basic, situated on the edge of a big car park also serving low budget restaurants like McDonalds and KFC. There is also a restaurant at the Premier Inn. There is no air conditioning at this particular Premier Inn and fans are supplied to address the problem, but you might be very uncomfortable there in the summer, so be warned. Housekeeping was spotty. Our two rooms were skipped one day because we slept until 10:30 (jet lag). The front desk staff tried to help but they usually said "Can you let management know about that problem? Our hands are tied." Finally, there was a planned power outage on our final day, but no one warned us in advance. It started at 10 am and we were still showering and trying to get organized for the day. Obviously the fans and internet went out as well. Because of Premier Inn's satisfaction guarantee, we were given one night's room refund (one night out of a total of six we had paid for). Better than nothing. Room bordered the parking lot and black out curtains were necessary to shut out the lights that were on all night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaucerquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We booked two nights with two young children, upon arrival a second bed and cot had already been made up and a fan running to cool down the room. The receptionist told us about the children's park just behind the gala bingo, and it was a great park just five minutes away. The room and bathroom were very clean and well decorated with enough space for the four of us. We ate in brewers fayre for breakfast and one meal all of which were very good. There is also a frankie and benny's, an oriental and cinema all within five minutes walk if that. Overall a good location for those travelling with children.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisainBude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Arnos Manor
Arnos Manor
#36 of 37 in Bristol
3.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
2.8 mi away
Future Inn Cabot Circus Hotel
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel
Address: Hengrove Way | Hengrove Way, Bristol BS14 0HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#17 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everybody needs good neighbours. And, with three restaurants, a cinema, adventure playground, Olympic swimming pool and sports facilities all within 10 minutes of the Premier Inn Hotel Bristol South, we've certainly got lucky. But venture beyond your doorstep and there's lots more to see and do. Take a dip beneath the stars in Bath or rock-out with the stars in Bristol. Drift away at the Harbour Festival or lift off at the Balloon Fiesta. And, when you're back on dry land, relax in our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Important info Please note that this Premier Inn does not have a lift. Guests requiring an easily accessible room please contact the hotel direct. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. This Premier Inn does not have air conditioning. Please note, there can be noise disturbance due to the location of this Premier Inn. Directions From City Centre take A37 to Wells and Shepton Mallet. Turn right onto A4174. Hotel is at 3rd set of traffic lights on the left. Next to the Wessex Flyer Brewers Fayre. Transport and local information: Bristol International Airport 7 miles Bristol Temple Meads Train Station 3 miles Bristol Zoo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing