We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We chose this hotel because it was 20 min drive from Wookey caves and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is on a pleasure park where there was a cinema complex, a couple of restaurants plus a KFC and McDonalds. There was also an impressive play area which my kids loved. Would definately use again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    206
    75
    18
    29
See reviews for
202
222
18
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Probably the best Premier Inn that we have stayed at. Great location as close to main road but far enough away not to see or hear the traffic. On a business park so the cinema and other venues on site, but also facing the countryside so relatively rural. Excellent room. Good size and very clean as well as modern. Would definitely stay again if in the area. So much to see and do from this location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We have just had a three day break staying in Bristol South premier inn. The room was very clean and extremely comfortable. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is ideally located for exploring and relaxing. There is a large selection of restaurants within walking distance and the Brewers Fare next door did some very reasonable “all you can eat” theme nights. While we were staying they had a Mexican night and an Italian night. Both all you can eat for £7.49. Breakfast was also extremely good offering either continental or full English for very reasonable prices. There is also a cinema and bingo hall within walking distance for evening entertainment.

It is very easy to get to both Bristol and Bath city centres from the hotel. We used the local bus to get to Bristol and the park and ride for Bath. If you want to explore this area I would highly recommend staying in this hotel for comfort, cost and convenience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Very clean hotel lovely friendly staff. Highly recommend this hotel. Does what it says on the tin! It was peaceful and quiet and ideal for purpose of our visit. Would definitely book it again if I am down in bristol again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We normally use Marriot's, but as this place was right next door to the Hengrove 50m Pool, we thought we'd give it a try. I always ranked Premier Inn alongside Travelodge, but was pleasantly surprised by the standard of the rooms. A good size, with plenty of room to move around, a comfortable bed, (with extra pillows on hand), a good sized TV and a nice bathroom. Our room was warm and clean and although the hot water flow to the washbasin was slow, the shower was fine. Noise wasn't a problem, although there was an element of light pollution from the adjacent car park and leisure park. Nothing to worry unduly about, but I would think that the even numbered rooms would be less affected as they are on the other side of the hotel.
Breakfast was taken next door at the pub and was plentiful and of a good standard. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, especially John, who couldn't do enough to make us welcome. A credit to the business.
The facilities within the hotel are really non-existent, definitely designed for the business user, but as a place to sleep and eat, it works well and although not cheap, is reasonable value for money.

Room Tip: The even number rooms are on the side away from the leisure park and car park, so may be quieter and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvascoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

What can you say ? They're all pretty much identical ! Room was the usual good standard, with a large TV, kettle, table lamp, sofabed and a king size main bed. The water pressure was very low, but sufficient for a shower. The mixer tap on my sink went from freezing cold to scalding hot within a millimetre of movement, and though I reported this to the girl on reception, she wasn't interested and didn't make any note of it for the maintenance people. Location-wise, it's ok... there's a Brewer's Fayre next door (see my other review) which isn't up to much, a Chinese buffet place, a Frankie & Benny's, a KFC and McDonalds all within the car park.

Luckily for me, this was a business trip and the hotel was paid for by my employers... Premier Inns are now knocking on close to £100 per night (some are even more than this), which is pretty cheeky for what is really an upmarket Travelodge. In future will be making an effort to book my stays in pubs with accommodation and supporting local B&B's, as these invariably come in a lot cheaper and usually include breakfast. I'd rather give my money (well, my employer's !) to local businesses in future than to a multi-million pound chain.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Poor reception from manager and Reception smelly bathroom drains ,room window frame ,black algae , apart from that very good room and had good 2 nights sleep,
Their restaurant next door had cold plates and cold cooked food for breakfast , drinks were good though , a little more care and the food would be excellent it did look good it was not until you tried the cooked food did you know it was cold, being involved with the service industry pleasing the customer is very important to get return business.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Guest Relations and the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Bristol Filton Hotel
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
2.4 mi away
Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Arnos Manor
Arnos Manor
#37 of 38 in Bristol
581 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol Airport
2.3 mi away
The Town and Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel
Address: Hengrove Way | Hengrove Way, Bristol BS14 0HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#17 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everybody needs good neighbours. And, with three restaurants, a cinema, adventure playground, Olympic swimming pool and sports facilities all within 10 minutes of the Premier Inn Hotel Bristol South, we've certainly got lucky. But venture beyond your doorstep and there's lots more to see and do. Take a dip beneath the stars in Bath or rock-out with the stars in Bristol. Drift away at the Harbour Festival or lift off at the Balloon Fiesta. And, when you're back on dry land, relax in our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Important info Please note that this Premier Inn does not have a lift. Guests requiring an easily accessible room please contact the hotel direct. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. This Premier Inn does not have air conditioning. Please note, there can be noise disturbance due to the location of this Premier Inn. Directions From City Centre take A37 to Wells and Shepton Mallet. Turn right onto A4174. Hotel is at 3rd set of traffic lights on the left. Next to the Wessex Flyer Brewers Fayre. Transport and local information: Bristol International Airport 7 miles Bristol Temple Meads Train Station 3 miles Bristol Zoo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing