We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like Premier Inns but was disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We've stayed with Premier before and have always appreciated the good sized rooms which have been clean and comfortable. Added to the helpfulness of the staff and decent onsite eating it has been a winning combination but this one did not match up to the usual high standard (still better than many I could name though). On arrival we had the usual friendly reception but found that the room had not been fully serviced with no soap in the dispenser, a smelly shower curtain, burnt out lightbulb and TV that defaulted onto a dubious adult dating channel. All sorted promptly by staff once reported. There is a service access to the pub at the rear right under the bedroom windows so drivers sit there with their engines running on cold mornings - not good at 6.45am and not helped by the speed hump adding to the noise. The heating system was having problems and would not stay on and the water pressure to the shower head was weak. Rather ironically the hot water at the basin was bordering on dangerously hot. These are not housekeeping matters so not reported at the time but later. Finally, the Wessex Flyer. Breakfast was good with helpful and attentive staff but shuts at 9am - not helpful if you are there on a break as opposed to work. Dinner was another matter entirely, it could have been a different restaurant. Meals were advertised from 12 noon to 6.30pm but on arrival at 5.45 we were told nothing could be ordered before 6pm. Much of the eating area was marked out as reserved but with no diners apparent. The best meal we had was average and the others very poor. I had a glass of beer which was virtually flat and my partner found something stuck to the bottom of her glass (inside) as she drained it - Yeuk! Did not bother making a scene as staff did not really seem on top of things so just paid (less 1 drink) and left. MacDonalds looked classy in comparison....
We will use Premier again as we guess this is a one off but someone needs to sort out some of the problems at Bristol South and remind dinner staff in Table Table what they are supposed to be doing. Regret having to moan about a brand we have come to respect over the last few years.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestSaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

614 - 620 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2010

As soon as we arrived we were greetly by the friendly, bubbly receptionist who had us laughing straight away when she was asking where my scouser boyfriend was from and we had a giggle about his and her accents. We were really impressed with the room, nice and spacious and the bathroom was very clean.

Really liked the location as it was right by a cinema and several restaurants - an oriental buffet, frankie and benny's, mcdonalds and kfc - and weren't too far from the city centre.

We could see the road from our room but had no issues at all with traffic noise (and I am particularly fussy about traffic noise). Was a wonderful night's sleep, just a shame we only stayed overnight.

We loved Bristol and definitely plan on visiting again. We'll be going back to this hotel for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2010

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team here are committed to ensuring all our guest are comfortable during their stay and receive the best possible service. Your feedback is very important to us and is very much appreciated our team will be thrilled to receive it. Thanks for your review it will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

hotel is fine with lots of on site free parking, there's the usual bar/restaurant an site which serves good pub fair. but also there is the usual choice of kfc, mcdonalds etc etc.

I like staying here when in bristol as there is a large field just to the right of the hotel where I can go running off the road.

other than that its the usual premier inn experience, freeview TV, good shower, comfy bed etc etc

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northernneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

This is the first Premier Inn where I've actually had a good night's sleep. Not their fault I guess there's no place like home. As you'd expect, room nice and clean, bathroom ditto. No problems with traffic noise as my room faced away from the main road. Breakfast good too, staff friendly and welcoming. The Table Table restaurant next door was to be candid average for dinner, tho there are a few other places to eat in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertthefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueLagoon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heron11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSUK1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Bristol Filton Hotel
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
2.8 mi away
Future Inn Cabot Circus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Arnos Manor Hotel
Arnos Manor Hotel
#38 of 39 in Bristol
674 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Town and Country Lodge
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel

Address: Hengrove Way | Hengrove Leisure Park, Bristol BS14 0HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bristol
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £54 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everybody needs good neighbours. And, with three restaurants, a cinema, adventure playground, Olympic swimming pool and sports facilities all within 10 minutes of the Premier Inn Hotel Bristol South, we've certainly got lucky. But venture beyond your doorstep and there's lots more to see and do. Take a dip beneath the stars in Bath or rock-out with the stars in Bristol. Drift away at the Harbour Festival or lift off at the Balloon Fiesta. And, when you're back on dry land, relax in our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Important info Please note that this Premier Inn does not have a lift. Guests requiring an easily accessible room please contact the hotel direct. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. This Premier Inn does not have air conditioning. Please note, there can be noise disturbance due to the location of this Premier Inn. Directions From City Centre take A37 to Wells and Shepton Mallet. Turn right onto A4174. Hotel is at 3rd set of traffic lights on the left. Next to the Wessex Flyer Brewers Fayre. Transport and local information: Bristol International Airport 7 miles Bristol Temple Meads Train Station 3 miles Bristol Zoo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing