We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A haven in a vibrant city”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bristol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Greenhouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 52 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A haven in a vibrant city”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Bristol is a vibrant fascinating city. That’s great, but like a lot of people we needed a haven away from urban busyness and we found it in the Greenhouse, which is situated in south Bristol not far from the city centre and the lively North Street with its bars, cafes and restaurants. Fran, the owner was very accommodating over our arrival time and made us really welcome. The room and en suite bathroom were beautifully appointed, with a high quality finish but also having a refreshing simplicity to them. After a good night’s sleep we came down to a delicious breakfast with Fran wishing us good morning and introducing us to other guests. This made the Greenhouse not just a comfortable and restful place to stay but also an extremely welcoming one. We particularly like Fran’s commitment to sustainable principles which is quietly there is the background, in an understated, appealing way with no hair shirt in sight! In short this Bristolian retreat gets a 5 smile rating!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellersontheTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    34
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
202
73
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UNITEDKINGDOM
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I recently stayed at The Greenhouse and it was perfect. Fran welcomes you into her B & B and makes you feel relaxed from start to finish. There is a calmness within the house and the bedrooms have been thoughtfully furnished. My room was spotless and having a breakfast menu to peruse and decide upon was wonderful - and need I say more about the breakfast!

I will definitely return as the location is ideal if you wish to be close to the harbour.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIGBYBETTISONMILNER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The Greenhouse is a very pleasant B&B, with a lovely owner, comfortable beds, great breakfast, and good location close to the river and the centre. For this price, I doubt you'll find better in Bristol.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed here one weekend and received a great welcome, lovely room, wonderful breakfasts and all warmly delivered by Fran who was able to give us lots of useful local advice. Would definitely go back and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cuchulainn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

As a solo female traveller I always love staying at The Greenhouse. It feels safe and is quiet, comfortable and friendly. You can count on a good chat with Fran. Gorgeous breakfasts too (no wonder the place keeps winning awards) and great that all the treats come with good green credentials. Also, I like being able to park outside and walk to the city centre along the lovely waterway. Very warmly recommended - and even more so with the improvements and extension.

Room Tip: The back rooms look over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 388Flora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rüti
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

....and we will visit the greenhouse again this spring!
thank you fran for a fantastic stay, the interesting dicussions, the excellent breakfast and all the very good tipps.
we are looking forward to see the extended and refurbished greenhouse and to the reopening in

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milka00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Greenhouse has provided me with a home from home while staying in Bristol on business. All that is most important is provided - a perfectly appointed, spotlessly clean room, comfy bed and bed-linen, tea(s) & (fresh) coffee, hair dryer, iron and board, lockable drawer, great organic breakfast, chilled water and more milk from a fridge. Fran has a real attention to detail - arrival and access is really efficient and she gives your programme her friendly attention. She also loves Bristol and can help with transport and ideas for activities; you can rely on her dining recommendations. The Greenhouse is an enjoyable 20 min walk from the City Centre and the nearby docks are a great place to explore.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSeenitawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.8 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,514 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenhouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Greenhouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: 61 Greenbank Road, Bristol BS3 1RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally based but quiet, calm organic and eco b&b offering six double or twin bedrooms newly refurbished in 2014 and offering a lovely stay to tourists and working people visiting Bristol. 'A real home from home' as guests have found. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Greenhouse Hotel Bristol
The Greenhouse Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing