We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Bristol Centre
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Northants
Level Contributor
190 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel Good Location”
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Stayed at this hotel for one night during the snow in January. The room was very basic, bed was OK, maybe a bit hard, and only one pillow per person. Used the £9.99 internet and movie package, for 24 hours, which is a good offer although the internet was not particularly fast and the movies picture and sound sometimes got scrambled. For the room rate £65 for the night you could get a better hotel on lastminute or priceline. Shower was good though. No bath.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K8NSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibismanager, Manager at Ibis Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 24 June 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Ibis Harbourside in Bristol. I have noted your comments about the Internet, which we have since addressed.
Kind regards, Emilie MARCEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    630
    291
    117
    62
See reviews for
168
491
121
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mijas, Spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Great for location, reception and price but bed was very hard and uncomfortable and this is the main thing you need in a hotel. Staff were courteous. Restaurant (snack bar really) ok but again very basic.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richgreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Spent the week end in Bristol, and was staying at the Ibis Centre. Hotel has the best location ever!
it took us 2 minutes to reach SS Great Britain, and the town's five minutes away.
Beds are comfy, staff is great, would definately come back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwarfy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Stayed one night only..never again. The room was shabby(marks on wall and holes in curtains) and the climate control does not cool the room which was warm and stuffy. The window opens but there was a vent from the cellars outside and it was so noisy and it ran constantly. Staff did try to resolve the problem but where unsuccessful. They said we couldn't swap rooms but they could move us to another hotel. We where supposed to be with family to celebrate a wedding so we chose not to move, It turned out the hotel cancelled the four rooms booked by the rest of our party even though they had a booking reference!!! It was a disaster. We also had a very very noisy creaky bed and the small towels are useless. The location in the Quayside area is lovely with lots of bars and eating places.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojo53Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
180 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

When staying in a chain such as Ibis, you know what you are going to get before you stay. This hotel is typical of this French chain, with the strange "all in one" moulded plastic bathroom, thin carpets and incredibly uncomfortable bed.

Breakfast - pay extra - is a non descript continental affair, with quite horrible fruit juice and coffee.

Stay here if you are desperate, short of money or both, otherwise avoid.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pigman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Room was clean but the carpets etc were quite tired. I quite like the compact bathroom.

Staff were at best unhelpful (more interested in finishing their chats with each other than serving you) and at worst rude and grumpy.

But by far the worst thing was, we didn't realise when we booked in that the place directly opposite our window was a night club. Needless to say, the music was very loud and there were a lot of equally loud and drunk people outside it. Fair enough, the hotel can't do anything about the fact their neighbour is a night-club but I do feel there should be some kind of warning on their website/booking pages etc. that rooms on that side of the hotel should be cheaper, and that guests should be advised they've got a "club side" room if this is the case. It was extremely noisy and we got, basically, a shrug and "nothing we can do" when we asked if it would be possible to move rooms. Add to that some joker running around the corridors and banging on all the doors in the early hours (honestly not something I've ever had happen before) and it all made for quite an unpleasant stay - I booked a budget hotel, fair enough, but it was less than £10 cheaper than some others and the very least I'd expect from a hotel (no matter how cheap) is to be able to get a night's sleep...

The only thing this place has going for it is that it's very central but unless you can request a room away from the club, have industrial-strength earplugs or sleep like the dead, my advice would be to give this place a wide berth!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandhag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We stayed for 3 nights and got a very good deal after booking more than 30 days in advance (Ibis offers a discount for this.) The hotel is in a pleasant location, and there isn't much of interest that can't be reached by a brief walk.

I prefer a slightly firmer bed so it was a good sleep for me. The "space pod" bathroom which some commented on as a dislike, I didn't mind at all. The shower was a good size and the design of the pod is efficient and I imagine, easy to keep clean & free of mould (an issue in some UK hotels.) Towels were changed daily throughout our stay, though we noticed the sheets were not. Aside from the bath gel dispenser in the shower and a little bar of soap, you will not receive additional toiletries however (like shampoo, conditioner, lotion.)

Breakfast had no hot options save for the coffee/hot chocolates and toast, which was a little disappointing at £5.75 per person, but it was definitely sufficient for keeping us full until midday despite walking around, and offered several options (baguettes, charcuteries, croissants, apples, oranges, hard boiled eggs, cereals, cheese & spreads.) There are supermarkets and cafés nearby that offer great breakfast options, so I'd recommend if you can, opt for eating breakfast out of the hotel as you'll get a better deal food and pricewise.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spriite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bristol Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bristol Centre

Property: Ibis Bristol Centre
Address: Explore Lane, Bristol BS1 5TY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#18 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Bristol Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Bristol Centre is ideally situated within the bustling Harbourside district of the city of Bristol, and a short stroll away from the city centre and shopping facilities. With easy access by road or public transport from Bristol Airport and full access to the M5 and the M4 corridor via the M32, reaching the hotel is simple. Boasting a capacity of 182 rooms of twin and doubles beds for two adult occupancy, and with disabled access for both room types. A newly refurbished restaurant serving until 22:00 and bar serving until midnight along with a newly developed public area. Services include free Wifi and a discounted stay rate for overnight and long stays at the nearby Millennium square (underground) car park. Always service with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Bristol Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bristol Centre Hotel Bristol
Accor Bristol Centre
Bristol Hotel Ibis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing