We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go elsewhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Bristol Centre
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Go elsewhere!”
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Only positives are location and discounted parking!

Clearly this hotel has a problem with non-guests entering because they have bouncers on the door from about 10pm onwards, whom literally check you off a list as you enter the hotel. Talk about a lack of privacy! You therefore cannot invite friends to your room.

I had asked for the sofa bed to be made up for a 3rd adult to stay and was made to pay another £25 at 4am in the morning. I was told to 'pay up or sleep on the street' despite the £75 i had already paid for the room.

The rooms are extremely basic and reek of cigarettes, even though they are supposedly non-smoking. I will not be staying here again and recommend you look elsewhere, unless you want to be dissappointed!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butterflybarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibismanager, Manager at Ibis Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
I am really sorry to hear that your stay at Ibis Harbourside in Bristol wasn’t up to expectations. I would very much like to discuss the matter with you in person and would appreciate it if you would email me on h5547-gm@accor.com.
Kind regards,
Emilie MARCEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    630
    291
    117
    62
See reviews for
168
491
121
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2010

would never recommened this hotel 2 anyone.....after paying 75.00 4 the room 4 1 night we got evicted..at 12.30 no where else 2 stay every where was booked we travelled from cardiff and our transport wernt till 12 the following day...we had 2 spend 11 hours in a bus stop...no consideration of them ..and no refund shocking !!!! this will b takin futher !!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxgexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibismanager, Manager at Ibis Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at Ibis Harbourside in Bristol. I have already looked into this matter with you and sent you a couple of emails. You are aware of the reasons why you have been asked to leave the property. Please send me another email if you want to clarify again the situation.
Kind regards,
Emilie MARCEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

This is the second time I've stayed there. Other than it's location there is nothing going for this hotel.

My first room had not been cleaned but I was quickly moved to another room when I complained at reception with many excuses being offered.

The pillows are like sleeping on bricks and even asked for another pillow but this was no improvement.

Breakfast is a joke. The crockery is chipped and often not clean. The croissants were burnt. The scrambled eggs were grey. There was food on the chairs in the breakfast room.

Needed a hairdrier and there were none available as I was told that they had all been handed out. This has happened on both of my stays.

I will not be staying here again. Premier Inn is better than this by a long way

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJH14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibismanager, Manager at Ibis Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 11 August 2010
Dear Guest,
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at Ibis Harbourside in Bristol. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness. Feel free to email me on h5547-gm@accor.com to discuss this further.
Kind regards,
Emilie MARCEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brignoud
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We stayed in Ibis Bristol Centre for Harbourside Festival. Location is so great. Just in the city centre by the harbour. Night life around. We booked in advance on the Internet for the Festival to get it cheaper. So it was a great alue for money. staff was quite busy but still available and helping as much as they can. They gave me extra pillows and explained me about the city. Bar was very busy but friendly service. I did not except anyway the hotel will be quite during this event !!! Breakfast only costs 6,95 for an english breakfast. quality was good and a lot of variety. ( I especially enjoyed the muffins!).
To sum up : Best place to stay in Bristol if you want to be in the centre !!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theparadizofmoorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibismanager, Manager at Ibis Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 11 August 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Harbourside in Bristol and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Emilie MARCEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We traveled to Bristol to visit Bath and Stonehenge during the day and enjoy the Harbour Festival in the evening. We booked the night before and were disappointed to find limited rooms available so we chose the "cheapest" of the options. The Ibis was 110 pounds a night and not worth half that. Upon check-in, the staff were too busy serving drinks to notice us until we stood there for 15 minutes. The non-smoking room reeked and the bed was horrendously uncomfortable (even after the several beers I consumed at the festival). The bathroom floor was dirty. This room was as bare bones as it gets.
To be fair, we did pay event prices for an economy hotel. Had this room been 50 pounds a night, I would have expected that level of service and cleanliness. The hotel is centrally located to the festival and plenty of bars and restaurants. Not within walking distance of Temple Mead- about a 5 minute taxi ride.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlmostProTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibismanager, Manager at Ibis Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 11 August 2010
Dear Guest,
I am really sorry to hear that your stay at Ibis Harbourside in Bristol wasn’t up to expectations during the busy Harbourside Festival week end. Feel free to contact me by email on h5547-gm@accor.com if you wish to discuss the matter.
Kind regards,
Emilie MARCEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We stayed 3 nights at the Ibis Bristol Centre. Room was clean on arrival but the carpet needed vacuuming, as it did every day of our stay. No spoons with the coffee/tea facilities. No heated towel rail in bathroom. Wet towels not replaced just folded and replaced on the hand rail. Smell of drains/stale water every time the taps were turned on in the bathroom. Spills on table top were not cleaned. There was a smell of cigarette smoke in the corridor every morning, close to the housekeeping room. Are the staff having a quick smoke before starting cleaning rooms? Perhaps this is why they are not cleaned properly! In the evening the dining area was littered with dirty cups etc which were still there some time later. Didn't make the place look enticing so we dined elsewhere. It's a budget hotel in every sense except the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citytraveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibismanager, Manager at Ibis Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 11 August 2010
Thank you for your comments. I can assure you the matter is being looked into. Feel free to email me on h5547-gm@accor.com to discuss this further.
Kind regards, Emilie MARCEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2010

I stayed here for 1 night before an exam that I had to sit the next morning. I booked on line and got a cheap rate. Having stayed in the Ibis Hotels in New Zealand I thought I knew what to expect. I agree with many of the reviews about the bed - I have never seen a bed made out of two pieces of chipboard - it was so bad it was almost funny - had I not had an exam the following morning I probably would have laughed. The bathroom was again bizarre, in fact you cannot call it a bathroom more like a plastic tardis which stank of smoke. Had to keep the curtains closed due to the gym right outside the window. There was no fridge either but the worst thing about the room was the bed - you had to see it to believe it. Never, ever again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cymru014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bristol Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bristol Centre

Property: Ibis Bristol Centre
Address: Explore Lane, Bristol BS1 5TY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#18 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Bristol Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Bristol Centre is ideally situated within the bustling Harbourside district of the city of Bristol, and a short stroll away from the city centre and shopping facilities. With easy access by road or public transport from Bristol Airport and full access to the M5 and the M4 corridor via the M32, reaching the hotel is simple. Boasting a capacity of 182 rooms of twin and doubles beds for two adult occupancy, and with disabled access for both room types. A newly refurbished restaurant serving until 22:00 and bar serving until midnight along with a newly developed public area. Services include free Wifi and a discounted stay rate for overnight and long stays at the nearby Millennium square (underground) car park. Always service with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Bristol Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bristol Centre Hotel Bristol
Accor Bristol Centre
Bristol Hotel Ibis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing