We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel's friendly staff made me feel very welcome.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“This hotel's friendly staff made me feel very welcome.”
Reviewed 11 April 2011

This is a large modern hotel in a great location. My room was spacious, very clean and had superior furniture and fittings. The breakfast was excellent, everything you could want including lovely lean bacon and fresh fruit juice. I really enjoyed the 3 course evening meal in the restaurant, there was great choice and everything was beautifully cooked and presented. As I was travelling alone the highlight for me was the staff on reception and in the restaurant. They weren’t just doing a job they were genuinely friendly and helpful. Very well done, I could not even think of one thing not to like!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anderj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rmdivmanager, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Thank you for your review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much and will certainly pass your comments on to the team. I really hope that we will see you again in the future! Kind regards Yvonne Colgan, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    1,053
    482
    156
    92
See reviews for
410
952
134
586
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Wanted a weekend break away and found this through Late Rooms mystery hotel. Great location right in the heart of things and near the Floating Harbour. Easy to visit the SS Great Britain and enjoy the riverside and city. Its the largest hotel I have ever stayed at - enormous.
Rooms very clean and big - upgraded at a cost of £15 per night. Rooms on the front have some road noise though not that obtrusive.
Leisure facilities are clean and the gym looks brand new - I discovered why. If you are over 6 feet tall you cannot use the cross trainers, steppers of treadmills as the ceiling is too low! Pool fine and lots of clean free towels. Do not book this hotel for its leisure facilities though.
Never used the restaurant and opted for the pub next door with a good veggie breakfast for £3.00. Piping hot and lovely people there. Recommended if it the outside is a bit shabby.
Overall the hotel did seem expensive for what it is.

Room Tip: Stck to a regular room and eat out for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinf444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rmdivmanager, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Thank you so much for your considered review and I'm really pleased that generally your stay was positive. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards Yvonne Colgan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

This hotel's security is really not very good. Anyone can just walk past hotel staff into the room area.
Someone broke into our room, we were asleep at the time ! He got away with good and only woke us when he was leaving the room as he got stuck on the door on the way out. The area is very busy and is a target for thieves. We were warned of this while there by locals. I have paper evidence of the robbery. It was also caught on CCTV which the staff do not seem to watch from behind the reception desk

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rmdivmanager, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Thank you so much for your considered review. As you know, our security at the hotel was responsible for the conviction of the offender and therefore proved to be very robust. Unfortunately your door was left open therefore our stringent security systems cannot be effective in this situation. We have had no other similar incidents since opening and I hope that this continues. I remain at your disposal, as I have been for the past year since the incident. Kind regards Nicholas Bees, Rooms Division Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wells next the sea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We came to Bristol for a family reunion. We chose this hotel because it has a 14 metre swimming pool & my husband is in training for a tri-athlon. The fact that there is a pool and spa hardly gets a mention in the online publicity and on the Mercure website - I had to google 'pool' and 'Bristol hotel' in order to find out. Although the hotel is rather utilitarian and mass tourism in feel, we actually did sleep better there than in most hotels! - thanks to an air-vent in the outside wall which allowed fresh air to come into the room and prevented that airless & claustrophobic feeling one gets in hotels where one cannot open the window. slim and 1 I noticed the 1 reviewer complained about the pillows - we found 1 fatter feather pillow each and they were comfortable as was the bed - not too soft, not too hard! This hotel is situated between a busy main road and its own car park (chargable at 2.50 per hr/£10 for 24hrs) - & our rooms faced the car park. A rather grim view was only relieved by glimpses of Georgian architecture and a tree in full bloom over its boundary wall, but for it was QUIET! The hotel does however have an inner courtyard with a large tree; a portion of hotel guests (the lucky ones) would get a room facing that - worth asking about when making a booking. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room were appreciated but would benefit from the addition of a choice of herbal teas. We did not sample the hotel breakfast. We had espressos from the Bar - poor quality (which alas, is not unusal), The room was rather cool. Overall, we were comfortable and slept surprising well.

Room Tip: ask for a room looking into the inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank screennamesrabore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rmdivmanager, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
Thank you for your comments about the hotel. I'm glad to see that the majority of your stay exceeded your expectations. We are currently testing a new espresso machine and are constantly monitoring this so you will hopefully see an improvement on your next visit. In the meantime many thanks again, and kind regards Yvonne Colgan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Whenever I need to be in Bristol for business, I stay at this hotel. Every room I have stayed in has been extremely spacious and attractively decorated. I don't know what that other reviewer was talking about (he must work for the opposition I reckon) as the pillows were so comfortable, fluffed up feather pillows. The linen and towels were white , clean and fresh.
The food is excellent and beautifully presented, both in the restaurant and also room service.
Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice, something for everyone. My only complaint there was that, one morning there were 4 members of staff clearing tables and no one offered me any tea or toast even though I sat and waited for a while, I eventually sought someone out, who apologised and immediately brought me my tea.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Unfortunately, this time I did have a complaint about the room I stayed in (room 128) it had a bad smell throughout the week. There was a stain on the carpet which I suspect may have something to do with it. I could have complained and would have been moved to another room, but I didn't bother as everything else was perfect. I have since informed housekeeping who I am sure will put this right for the next occupant.
I will certainly stay there again the next time I go to Bristol. I might just avoid room 128 though!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patclarke1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rmdivmanager, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
Thank you for your considered review of the hotel, and the great pictures. We really appreciate it! Just to keep you up-to-date, we're in the middle of replacing some of our carpets as, although regularly deep cleaned/washed, some stains are permanent. In the meantime I hope that you continue to return to the hotel, and please feel free to contact me directly on your next stay so that I can say "thank you" in person. Kind regards Yvonne Colgan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,625 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Property: Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Address: Redcliff Hill, Bristol BS1 6SQ, England (Formerly Mercure Holland House Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#13 Business Hotel in Bristol
#13 Family Hotel in Bristol
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of the 4 star Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa which is perfectly placed for business or leisure, be it a family break, city getaway or a fun filled adventure in this cosmopolitan metropolis. All 275 rooms are contemporary and well appointed bedrooms with large beds. The Urban Bar & Kitchen offers a vibrant and contemporary atmosphere with a fantastic open plan dining facility. Using the finest local produce, you can expect urban food, unsung heroes along with some guilty pleasures to satisfy your appetite. For ultimate relaxation and indulgence why not visit the Spa which offers various treatments, a large indoor heated pool and fitness suite. An affordable yet stylish and luxury hotel that delivers and will ensure your stay is memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Bristol Hotel Bristol
Mercure Holland Hotel Bristol
Accor Holland Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing