We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Croydon Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good base to stay”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights to visit the Balloon Fiesta. The hotel is a great base to get out & about from with easy walking into Bristol itself.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful.
Car parking is difficult and expensive £12 a night. 1 night we got back at 10.45pm and it was full, we parked in small pay & display round the corner.
Breakfast was very variable, 3 mornings and each day it was different. Staff in restaurant didn't seem to have a system and not particularly friendly or helpful.
Room (first floor looking into car park) was nice and comfortable although noisy from staff below emptying bottles and beer barrels. We did have to phone for 1 set of towels.
We didn't use the pool or spa facilities.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rmdivmanager, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
I'm delighted that on the whole your stay was positive and thank you for your review. I will certainly investigate your comments regarding Breakfast and will ensure that the team read your fair and considered review. Many thanks again, Nicholas Bees, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    1,043
    478
    153
    91
See reviews for
403
944
133
583
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We were greeted by an excellent, friendly reception team who were knowledgeable about facilities within the hotel as well as in the city itself.

The main areas were well appointed and comfortable.

The room itself seemed a little badly laid out, although manageable. The bed was a little too firm for our preference, but this was made up for by the bedding, which was luxurious.

The shower was fantastic! Didn't want to get out of it! Unfortunately, the hotel were a little stingy with toiletries, only providing 1 shower gel & 1 shampoo for 2 people for a 2-night stay, even though room was serviced on 2nd morning.

We didn't use the restaurant or room service facilities although the food looked good. We did use the bar area which was quite chic but comfortable, run by another very friendly member of staff.

The location of the hotel was excellent, just 5 minutes walk from the buzzing atmosphere in the old city, temple mead station in the other direction, and a few minutes in a taxi to harbourside and millennium square.

We used the pool but found this a little too cold for us and were disappointed that the 'spa' hotel didn't include a steam room/sauna or a jacuzzi/hot tub.

Overall, a well appointed hotel in a great location for all the city's amenities and nightlife, run by excellent, friendly and helpful team of staff.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyStroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rmdivmanager, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
Thank you for the review of your stay. I'm really happy that it was such a positive experience and I really hope that we can welcome you back soon. In the meantime, kind regards Nicholas Bees, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed in tis hotel as it was a present at Christmas which inclued a spa session .
Great hotel if your planning on enjoying what Bristol has to offer (shops, resturants , etc)
very friendly staff and helpfull .The hotel is located 10mins from the city centre easy to walk to.
The room could do with a bit of money spent on it some of the furniture had large knocks in it and looked tired.
The food in the resturant was lovely we ate there both the nights we stayed couldnt fault.
There is 2 things that we could deffently fault though:-
1, The Spa. The buliding is located in the carpark not joined to the building , which is locked you have to get someones attention to let you in.
I had rang before hand and booked mine and my partners treatments which were part of our package we filled out client cards in reception then taken upstairs to a chill out room with free drinks(tea coffee&water) then waited!!!! Our treatments were booked for 12 we waited for 35mins it was a joke no one even asked if we were ok .
The treatments were ok .
2, The car parking . You have to pay for carparking at £12 per day!!
overall great location to the city centre very near cabbot circus.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca30028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rmdivmanager, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
Thanks for your considered review of the hotel. I'm really pleased that the majority of your stay was a positive experience however I'm sorry that some of the aspects of your stay failed to meet your expectations. I do hope that we have the chance to welcome you back in the future and show an improvement in some of these aspects. Kind regards Nicholas Bees, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as a practical and good value alternative to staying in Bath which we intended to visit. The hotel had paid parking, although it seemed a bit of pot luck to secure a space, and was handy to restaurants and attractions in Bristol. The hotel itself was clean and comfortable and the staff generally pleasant. Based on an assessment of travelling around the UK for 7 weeks, the breakfast was OK but not outstanding. A small nuisance was the room servicing only leaving lwo long-life milk vials on each occassion, with the back-up being the opportunity to call reception to have fresh milk sent up, which we thought was odd, wasteful and a nuisance. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longplannedholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rmdivmanager, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
Thank you so much for your constructive review of the hotel. It's always great to have feedback from a seasoned traveller. I'm so pleased that, on the whole, the stay was positive and I shall certainly be investigating the points that we can improve. Many thanks again, Nicholas Bees, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We booked the hotel for a short leisure braek and it met /exceeded all our expectations The bedroom had a very comfortable bed and the bathroom /shower was great.
An ideal place to stay when visiting Bristol

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rmdivmanager, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. It's always lovely to receive positive feedback and I shall ensure that I share your review with the team. I hope to welcome you back soon... in the meantime kindest regards, Nicholas Bees, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I booked this hotel for birthday treat for Husband, I pre arranged with the hotel to have wine in the room for arrival and they were more than happy to help and discus wine options and if there was anything else i would like. We were made very welcome on arrival and our room was absolutely beautiful and very big. I was very impressed. The whole room and bathroom was spotless could not find any faults. The location was great, close to bars and restaurants. We had great sleep and in morning had breakfast in the restaurant and it was very good quality and great service. We will be coming back and will make use of the spa facilities on our next stay. The best hotel we stayed in and amazing value. Thank you Mercure Holland House Bristol.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rmdivmanager, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay here so much - I really hope that we helped your husband enjoy his birthday! I'm so glad that you've decided to return and we look forward to welcoming you back! In the meantime, best wishes, Nicholas Bees, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Property: Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Address: Redcliff Hill, Bristol BS1 6SQ, England (Formerly Mercure Holland House Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#13 Business Hotel in Bristol
#13 Family Hotel in Bristol
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of the 4 star Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa which is perfectly placed for business or leisure, be it a family break, city getaway or a fun filled adventure in this cosmopolitan metropolis. All 275 rooms are contemporary and well appointed bedrooms with large beds. The Urban Bar & Kitchen offers a vibrant and contemporary atmosphere with a fantastic open plan dining facility. Using the finest local produce, you can expect urban food, unsung heroes along with some guilty pleasures to satisfy your appetite. For ultimate relaxation and indulgence why not visit the Spa which offers various treatments, a large indoor heated pool and fitness suite. An affordable yet stylish and luxury hotel that delivers and will ensure your stay is memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Bristol Hotel Bristol
Mercure Holland Hotel Bristol
Accor Holland Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing