We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here for my birthday paid extra £20 when checking in for an upgrade the room was very nice and clean.
We caught the train to temple meads and it was about a 10-15 min walk and we found it easy.
The hotel is about a 15 min walk to the hippodrome.
We used the swimming pool and gym and although neither are big they suited us.
We also had a massage which we thought was a tad expensive but still enjoyed it as it was a treat.
In a nutshell the hotel was very nice although a little way out of the town but a pleasant walk

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, Guest Services Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Thank you for the lovely feedback, I'm sure the staff will be extremely happy to read the lovely comments.

Regards,

William Hooper
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,158 - 2,164 of 2,655 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

We had an enjoyable relaxing stay here. There was a mix up as our room had not been cleaned after the previous occupants but the staff were very apologetic, cleaned it straight away and offered us complimentary drinks without being prompted. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was large and comfortable. Breakfast was good. Pool was small but good for a splash around with the kids and no restrictive opening hours. Also pool was really warm which you don't always get in hotels. Severn Shed and tapas restaurant are good places to eat within 5 mins of the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, Guest Services Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Thank you for the feedback. I'm happy to read that the issue with the room was quickly rectified, and you were able to enjoy your stay. We hope to have you stay again in the future.

Regards,

William Hooper
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed there on a Saturday for 1 night. Overall it was a pleasant stay, and the staff were all friendly and helpful. Arrival at the car park was chaotic, as when it's full the queue of cars waiting to enter blocks the route for cars trying to exit. We had booked a twin-bedded room and it had two full-size double beds. Very spacious, but the lighting was appalling. Impossible to read in one of the armchairs as no light there, and only the desk had really good lighting. Minor problems with the bathroom, e.g. door not staying shut. But the beds were comfortable and the room was quiet. Breakfast was good, with efficient service. For a 1-night stay, the little problems were soon overcome, and our overall impression was good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardRFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, Guest Services Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

Thank you for the lovely feedback, I've passed your comments on to the Maintenance Manager about the lighting. Thank you once again for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards,

William Hooper
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Pleasant hotel, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Breakfast was good with a wide selection in the buffet plus items available from the menu.

A room on the second floor, as we had, is quiet (even when there was a wedding on). The pool is very small but nice to relax in rather than do any proper swimming.

There was an odd smell in our room but we could not be bothered to move as we were only there for two nights and we were out most of the time.

Room Tip: Ask if there's a wedding on as it can get nosiey near some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerryMinuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, Guest Services Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

Thank you for the feedback, I'm happy to see you enjoyed your stay. Please, if you ever have any issues with the room, let us know so we can rectify it, we are more than happy to correct the problem.

Regards,

William Hooper
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My 2 friends and I stayed at the Mercure Holland House on a Spa night break and it was great. We had a ground floor room that slept 3 with 2 double beds and the room was lovely, clean and big. We had a spa treatment - Swedish Back massage which was fabulous and the Spa Manager, Tricia, was lovely and welcoming - Thank you. The swimming pool was good too. The evening meal was included in the price which was really good and 4/5 choices, we had a bottle of wine which was a good price for a hotel £16.The breakfast was buffet and a good choice.We even had time for some shopping -Cabots Circus was approx 15 min walk or £6 in a taxi. The hotel also had a locked room where we left our luggage after check-out which was FOC and very useful.
All in all we had a wonderful time with no complaints only complements. We will definately stay here again. Thank you.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which had 2 double beds and the room was large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, Guest Services Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

Thank you for the lovely feedback, I'm extremely happy to see that your stay was perfect. This is something we're extremely passionate about. I've passed on all your comments to our staff, who are extremely delighted with your feedback.

Regards,

William Hooper
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed over Christmas 2011 - Christmas day and boxing day as there was not enough room at our daughter's house.
We had a room on the ground floor -I think everyone had a room there- the hotel was not that full!
The room was comfortable and a reasonable size - plus no real noise from the road. Bed was comfortable - bathroom very decent.
My only grumble would be breakfast -not very inspiring, a little amateurish despite their claim of local ingredients -giving them the benefit of doubt maybe all the 'good' chefs had a Christmas holiday?
I would stay there again -great position in the middle of Bristol and overall a decent experience [but I do like my breakfast:) ]

Room Tip: Quieter at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, Guest Services Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

Thank you for your feedback, I hope you had a wonderful Christmas with us, and we hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Regards,

William Hooper
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishstain
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
William H, Guest Services Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,715 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Address: Redcliff Hill, Bristol BS1 6SQ, England (Formerly Mercure Holland House Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#13 Family Hotel in Bristol
#13 Business Hotel in Bristol
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £63 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of the 4 star Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa which is perfectly placed for business or leisure, be it a family break, city getaway or a fun filled adventure in this cosmopolitan metropolis. All 275 rooms are contemporary and well appointed bedrooms with large beds. The Urban Bar & Kitchen offers a vibrant and contemporary atmosphere with a fantastic open plan dining facility. Using the finest local produce, you can expect urban food, unsung heroes along with some guilty pleasures to satisfy your appetite. For ultimate relaxation and indulgence why not visit the Spa which offers various treatments, a large indoor heated pool and fitness suite. An affordable yet stylish and luxury hotel that delivers and will ensure your stay is memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Bristol Hotel Bristol
Mercure Holland Hotel Bristol
Accor Holland Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing