We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but not special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We booked this hotel as a 'getaway' after a particularly difficult month with work. The arrival was okay, with quick check in to our upgraded Executive Room at £100, which was according to the staff cheap! The room on the forth floor was smelly to be honest. It smelt of 'toilet' or damp smell, we couldn't work it out. It wasn't dirty, or unclean but just smelly. The room was large with modern TV and things, but again nothing special. The bed was really small, and hard. I found it difficult to sleep because my arm would 'go asleep' and turning over woke up my wife.

The gym is a joke! There were 2 steppers, 1 runner, 1 cycle and some heavy weights at the other end. The height of the ceiling meant I couldn't use the steppers as my head bumped it.

The restaurant was a delight. The food excellent and so was the service. It was also quite reasonable for a Hotel Restaurant.

So overall for the price, average.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrPThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, Guest Services Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank for you the feedback. If you could kindly email me at h6698-dm@accor.com, so I can investigate which room you stayed in. I'm happy to see that you had a chance to dine in our wonderful restaurant and I'm sure the staff will appreciate the kind words.

Kind Regards,

William Hooper
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,149 - 2,155 of 2,692 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed there 12/13th May 2012. Very clean comfortable room. Staff went out of their way to assist. Reception staff were enthusiastic and well able to assist in sorting out places of interest in town centre. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank binocularbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, Guest Services Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you for the feedback. The front office team are always available to assist with anything. I will pass your lovely comments on to them.

Kind Regards,

William Hooper
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We had excellent stay at this hotel.All the staff were very friendly.The hotel is in great location with parking.I will definetly recommend this hotel..

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dhingra27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, Guest Services Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you for the feedback. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards,

William Hooper
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The outside of the hotel is not what you would call inspiring but the service was good, my room large and comfortable and it was a pleasant walk to the office in the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ask_a_local
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, Guest Services Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Thank you for the feedback. I'm happy to see you enjoyed the hotel. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

William Hooper
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

Wonderful place, location and accessibility both ideal. We stayed here following a Spa day in Bath, so it was all about checking in and having a bed for the night. The place is clean, the staff polite and friendly and the cost for a room for 2 was ideal. Thank you to all who made this a flawless visit

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paultqy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, Guest Services Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Thank you for the feedback. I've passed all your lovely comments on to the staff.

Kind Regards,

William Hooper
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ca_hedges
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
William H, Guest Services Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 May 2012

First class service well worth staying in,enjoyed every minute of it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, Guest Services Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Thank you for the lovely feedback, I'm sure the staff will be delighted with your comments.

Kind Regards,

William Hooper
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,760 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Address: Redcliff Hill, Bristol BS1 6SQ, England (Formerly Mercure Holland House Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#13 Family Hotel in Bristol
#13 Business Hotel in Bristol
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £67 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of the 4 star Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa which is perfectly placed for business or leisure, be it a family break, city getaway or a fun filled adventure in this cosmopolitan metropolis. All 275 rooms are contemporary and well appointed bedrooms with large beds. The Urban Bar & Kitchen offers a vibrant and contemporary atmosphere with a fantastic open plan dining facility. Using the finest local produce, you can expect urban food, unsung heroes along with some guilty pleasures to satisfy your appetite. For ultimate relaxation and indulgence why not visit the Spa which offers various treatments, a large indoor heated pool and fitness suite. An affordable yet stylish and luxury hotel that delivers and will ensure your stay is memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Bristol Hotel Bristol
Mercure Holland Hotel Bristol
Accor Holland Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing