We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad subject to room type”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
wakefield
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Not bad subject to room type”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed for just 1 night with work and was not overally impressed.

The location is quite a walk from Bristol centre and overlooks a busy dual carriageway. Unfortunately I was allocated a room on the ground floor overlooking the road so noise from traffic and passing pedestrians was quite high. It also did not feel private and I had to keep curtains closed.

Room service was fairly efficient but usual overpriced dry curly sandwiches.

Breakfast was in a large restaurant which was buffet service. Food was ok but it all seemed very busy and chaotic.

Overall, not too bad

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank perfectionists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
I am sorry that you were not overally satisfied with your stay, for next time we would most certainly place you in a quiet part of the hotel. Thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    1,043
    478
    153
    91
See reviews for
403
944
133
583
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed at the hotel as a group of friends the night before going on holiday. Great service and very very clean. Little disappointed at the size of the room but this is only because I had stayed in the Cardiff Hotel previously. Breakfast was fantastic and highly recommended, well worth the money. Drinks in the bar are very expensive however this was to be expected with all hotels really. Would go back again but not if I was travelling to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmor_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for your comments - our Cardiff hotel does have some large rooms but we do too! Please do not hesitate to upgrade should you hopefully stay with us again!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The size of the room with plenty of windows was the outstanding feature for me. I was in the front of the hotel which though overlooking a busy road was nice and quiet. The room was very comfortable with all that you could want. Staff on check in were great; I was also using the conference facilities and I found the staff on that side of things to be really helpful and attentive as well, nothing was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant was excellent, very tasty, nicely presented and the service was prompt. The proximity to Temple Meads station is a real bonus, being just five to ten minutes walk away.

There are great pubs close to this hotel, just down the road is the Portwall Tavern which is small but comfortable and on Temple Street is the Cornubia a real ale lovers paradise, lively and friendly, one of my favourite pubs anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
I'm glad to see we are perfectly located close to one of your favourite pubs! Please use that as an excuse to visit us again! Thank you for your feedback!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed at the Mercure for 1 night on a Spa Reviver package. For this, we got a treatment each (25mins), dinner, breakfast and an over night stay. Was good value and I was pleased with the hotel during my stay.

We were allowed to check in early as a room was available (which was great) but the room faced the Air conditioning machinery. A quick call to reception and we were told we could swap to a room on the other side of the corridor - we now faced the car park but was quieter then the previous room and received more sunlight.

Treatment at the Spa was good, this is separate to the hotel/pool - its a building at the rear of the hotel. We thought we would spend the rest of the day at the pool and sauna, jacuzzi, steam room area BUT we found that there is no sauna, steamroom or jacuzzi. Just a pool which was pretty busy.

The food at the hotel was good - both dinner and breakfast.

All staff encountered on this stay were very accommodating, helpful, polite, happy and gave very good customer service. I couldn't fault them - even the poor young guy working Saturday night gave us good directions and recommended bars to visit.

The only other negative about the Mercure really was the amount of Hen Parties and Stag do's. Seemed to be loads, but the only inconvenience we experienced was waiting to get stuck in at breakfast as the queue for the buffet was long.

Oh, and also the hotel kept pushing for me to spend an extra £20 to upgrade. I didn't bother and I don't think it would have been necessary as the standard room was an excellent size.

All in all, a nice stay. Bristol town centre was just a short walk away. Would definitely think about staying here again if I returned to Bristol

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFreeperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with Mercure and I am delighted that you would consider us for a future visit!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed at The Mecure Holland Bristol for just one night but would most definitely return should we visit Bristol again. This was a stop over on our way to Cornwall but wished we could have stayed longer. The reception staff were very professional and courteous. We were offered an upgrade and took this - hey why not!! Used the pool next morning followed by a good breakfast - plenty of choice. Again the staff were polite and helpful. The hotel was positioned well and our room overlooked the river. The room was very comfortable and clean. The only down side was the weather - totally out of anyone's control, but that's England for you.

Room Tip: Take up the offer of an upgrade - worth that little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looby_looEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
We look forward to welcoming you back! And yes, unfortunately we have not had the best weather for this time of year - still waiting for summer!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We seem to keep coming back to this hotel for the odd weekend in Bristol, simply because it's really well priced, good location and the staff are always great.
This time i'd booked my wife in to use the Spa, she really enjoyed this and she said the girls in there were great. I used the Gym and whilst it's small i was the only one using it so no problems there.
Upgraded to an Exec room for just an extra £10 which gives you a little more space.
We went to see Strictly Confidential in the evening, after this we came back to have a drink in the hotel bar and then the whole cast from the show turned up and they were happy to have a few photos taken. Rounded off the stay nicely!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benny007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
What a great title! Thank you for visiting us each time you come to Bristol! it looks like you had a great stay plus a bonus! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a hen weekend with family and friends ranging in age from 9 to 71. The rooms had nice décor and were clean. The staff were pleasant enough. At breakfast there was a good range to choose and the kids eat free made it good value.

Now the negative. This hotel (and a great deal of Bristol) was full of stag and hen parties. This was not a problem on the whole , we ourselves were celebrating a forthcoming wedding. We were not disturbed by noise in any way. The stags however seemed to think that it was appropriate to wander around the lobby and corridors in their undies. I found it strange that staff did not seem to have a problem with this. The final straw came when we were eating in the slightly pricey restaurant one evening and my 9 year old spotted that across the courtyard there was a room full of men in there undies with the curtains wide open and which you could clearly see in the bathroom peeing. One of our party decided to knock on their door and explain that the windows were not tinted and ask them to close the curtains. This turned out not to be a good idea, they all stripped and started pressing their body parts against the windows and making inappropriate gestures. To be fair when I called a waiter over the hotel staff had the curtains closed at speed.

Finally we tried out the spa. This was nice but a shame it was in a separate building and a little overpriced. I found some of the staff to be very pleasant but was not very pleased with the lady who did my manicure.

Overall a well located hotel with nice rooms but if hotels are going to book in hen/stag parties I think there should be better security.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireJ318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
I most shocked to read of the appalling behaviours of these stags that you descibe as this certainly is not the usual kind of situations you would find here at Mercure! This is a serious matter that we will take into great consideration for future groups of stags. I am very glad that something was done as soon as you reported this.
I hope this stay would not discourage you and your family from visiting us again in the future as I can assure you it will not be a repeat of your last stay!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Property: Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Address: Redcliff Hill, Bristol BS1 6SQ, England (Formerly Mercure Holland House Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#13 Family Hotel in Bristol
#13 Business Hotel in Bristol
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of the 4 star Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa which is perfectly placed for business or leisure, be it a family break, city getaway or a fun filled adventure in this cosmopolitan metropolis. All 275 rooms are contemporary and well appointed bedrooms with large beds. The Urban Bar & Kitchen offers a vibrant and contemporary atmosphere with a fantastic open plan dining facility. Using the finest local produce, you can expect urban food, unsung heroes along with some guilty pleasures to satisfy your appetite. For ultimate relaxation and indulgence why not visit the Spa which offers various treatments, a large indoor heated pool and fitness suite. An affordable yet stylish and luxury hotel that delivers and will ensure your stay is memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Bristol Hotel Bristol
Mercure Holland Hotel Bristol
Accor Holland Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing