We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed 25 June 2013

After a weekend spent in a youth hostel in the rain in Wales, craving comfort and a swim in a pool, I booked a Prestige room at this hotel. With the promise of robes, a Nespresso machine, free internet, a free newspaper and soft drinks, we were looking forward to being pampered. Upon checking in at 5pm, we were told that the pool was closed until 7pm for lessons. The unfriendly Receptionist tried to up-sell us on every aspect of our stay +20£ for a room upgrade? “But I thought we had the best room?” “ No! There are better views in bigger rooms available that we don't advertise on websites”; “Broadband at £10 per day?” I thought we had free internet in our room? “Oh it’s only good for emails!” came the reply! I eventually negotiated free broadband codes in exchange for the closed pool. Our room, opposite the cathedral's tolling bells lacked all the extras promised, this was, however, quickly remedied by the staff. The shower was weak and very difficult to get the right temperature. We ate nearby and went for a cold swim in a dirty pool (the floodlights served only to highlight the floating bits in it), the changing rooms were dirty with overflowing bins (I had warned the reception about this earlier and nothing had changed). The car park is 12£ per night, internet is extra, the bar is expensive .... I gave exactly this feedback to reception on checking out, they apologised but made no effort to compensate us - they could have charged us for a standard double instead? Why ask how our stay was if they aren't prepared to do anything about it? This wasn’t the chilled, pampered stay we were expecting, I don't think we'll be returning!

Room Tip: Try to get a room to the back of the hotel on a Sunday, the Cathedral bells toll for a long time!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for telling us of your recent stay here at Mercure Bristol Holland House and Spa Hotel, though I am very shocked that your experience was such the disappointment that you described and I offer my sincerest apologies.
I would very much like to discuss this further with you therefore may I kindly ask that you email me on h6698-dm@accor.com.

Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,622)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,706 - 1,712 of 2,622 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank annoflondon
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed for just 1 night with work and was not overally impressed.

The location is quite a walk from Bristol centre and overlooks a busy dual carriageway. Unfortunately I was allocated a room on the ground floor overlooking the road so noise from traffic and passing pedestrians was quite high. It also did not feel private and I had to keep curtains closed.

Room service was fairly efficient but usual overpriced dry curly sandwiches.

Breakfast was in a large restaurant which was buffet service. Food was ok but it all seemed very busy and chaotic.

Overall, not too bad

Room Tip: high floor
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank perfectionists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

I am sorry that you were not overally satisfied with your stay, for next time we would most certainly place you in a quiet part of the hotel. Thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed at the hotel as a group of friends the night before going on holiday. Great service and very very clean. Little disappointed at the size of the room but this is only because I had stayed in the Cardiff Hotel previously. Breakfast was fantastic and highly recommended, well worth the money. Drinks in the bar are very expensive however this was to be expected with all hotels really. Would go back again but not if I was travelling to the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmor_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you for your comments - our Cardiff hotel does have some large rooms but we do too! Please do not hesitate to upgrade should you hopefully stay with us again!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The size of the room with plenty of windows was the outstanding feature for me. I was in the front of the hotel which though overlooking a busy road was nice and quiet. The room was very comfortable with all that you could want. Staff on check in were great; I was also using the conference facilities and I found the staff on that side of things to be really helpful and attentive as well, nothing was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant was excellent, very tasty, nicely presented and the service was prompt. The proximity to Temple Meads station is a real bonus, being just five to ten minutes walk away.

There are great pubs close to this hotel, just down the road is the Portwall Tavern which is small but comfortable and on Temple Street is the Cornubia a real ale lovers paradise, lively and friendly, one of my favourite pubs anywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

I'm glad to see we are perfectly located close to one of your favourite pubs! Please use that as an excuse to visit us again! Thank you for your feedback!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed at the Mercure for 1 night on a Spa Reviver package. For this, we got a treatment each (25mins), dinner, breakfast and an over night stay. Was good value and I was pleased with the hotel during my stay.

We were allowed to check in early as a room was available (which was great) but the room faced the Air conditioning machinery. A quick call to reception and we were told we could swap to a room on the other side of the corridor - we now faced the car park but was quieter then the previous room and received more sunlight.

Treatment at the Spa was good, this is separate to the hotel/pool - its a building at the rear of the hotel. We thought we would spend the rest of the day at the pool and sauna, jacuzzi, steam room area BUT we found that there is no sauna, steamroom or jacuzzi. Just a pool which was pretty busy.

The food at the hotel was good - both dinner and breakfast.

All staff encountered on this stay were very accommodating, helpful, polite, happy and gave very good customer service. I couldn't fault them - even the poor young guy working Saturday night gave us good directions and recommended bars to visit.

The only other negative about the Mercure really was the amount of Hen Parties and Stag do's. Seemed to be loads, but the only inconvenience we experienced was waiting to get stuck in at breakfast as the queue for the buffet was long.

Oh, and also the hotel kept pushing for me to spend an extra £20 to upgrade. I didn't bother and I don't think it would have been necessary as the standard room was an excellent size.

All in all, a nice stay. Bristol town centre was just a short walk away. Would definitely think about staying here again if I returned to Bristol

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrFreeperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with Mercure and I am delighted that you would consider us for a future visit!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed at The Mecure Holland Bristol for just one night but would most definitely return should we visit Bristol again. This was a stop over on our way to Cornwall but wished we could have stayed longer. The reception staff were very professional and courteous. We were offered an upgrade and took this - hey why not!! Used the pool next morning followed by a good breakfast - plenty of choice. Again the staff were polite and helpful. The hotel was positioned well and our room overlooked the river. The room was very comfortable and clean. The only down side was the weather - totally out of anyone's control, but that's England for you.

Room Tip: Take up the offer of an upgrade - worth that little extra
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank looby_looEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

We look forward to welcoming you back! And yes, unfortunately we have not had the best weather for this time of year - still waiting for summer!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Address: Redcliff Hill, Bristol BS1 6SQ, England (Formerly Mercure Holland House Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#13 Family Hotel in Bristol
#13 Business Hotel in Bristol
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £72 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of the 4 star Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa which is perfectly placed for business or leisure, be it a family break, city getaway or a fun filled adventure in this cosmopolitan metropolis. All 275 rooms are contemporary and well appointed bedrooms with large beds. The Urban Bar & Kitchen offers a vibrant and contemporary atmosphere with a fantastic open plan dining facility. Using the finest local produce, you can expect urban food, unsung heroes along with some guilty pleasures to satisfy your appetite. For ultimate relaxation and indulgence why not visit the Spa which offers various treatments, a large indoor heated pool and fitness suite. An affordable yet stylish and luxury hotel that delivers and will ensure your stay is memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Bristol Hotel Bristol
Mercure Holland Hotel Bristol
Accor Holland Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing