We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a hidden gem in Bristol” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Still a hidden gem in Bristol”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We have just returned from our third stay at this hotel and we are planning out next stay there already. The staff in the hotel are all so friendly helpful and well presented. The rooms are great warn with very comfortable beds and quiet and peaceful. The pool is an added bonus and warm and inviting. We really enjoyed our three course dinner and my eggs Benedict for breakfast were beautifully cooked. I recommend the whole thing and if you ever did have any small problems Zowie will be there to solve it - she doesn't seem to stop and works very hard and always seems to be on duty and with a smile

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you once again for your lovely feedback (I may go a little pink from your kind words as it is always a delight to ensure guests are as comfortable as possible during their stay!)
We look forward to welcoming you again in the New Year!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    1,004
    462
    145
    85
See reviews for
391
918
131
553
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, Somerset.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Yes, the staff are friendly & the food was good quality, hot & unlimited.
But: unless you're really lucky you can't park in the car park, they automatically added £15:00 to my room charge stating "that's for you to spend in the bar later" which I took to be majorly presumptuous & the room had most definitely not been vacuumed as the previous visitor obviously wasn't keen on their complimentary flapjack & had spread it around the room / stuffed it down the back of the chair etc.

We stayed for a colleagues birthday celebrations & the evening was very good. Plus, we were off & out early the following day so the state of the room wasn't worth complaining about as the bed & bathroom were satisfactorily clean. But the aforementioned food deposits just proved that the cleaning staff only concentrated on the obvious areas (apart from the floor!) & certainly hadn't taken any care or pride in their work.

We paid a complementary rate due to the function & it was reasonable plus included the car parking fee; by pure chance, I found the last remaining place: nobody else in our party did so had to use on-street. We didn't use the pool, spa etc so can't comment.

So yes, a nice place, a reasonable location in relation to the city centre & good food.
I would stay again but please, have a word with your cleaners & certainly do NOT assume that I will be using your bar by adding a charge to my credit card as I book in!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neo680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay. With regards to the pre authorisation that was made on your card when you checked in- by all means, the amount that we hold is not to assume that you will go to the bar, or to even encourage you to do so. It is simply an estimate of the final total that may be on your bill at the end of the stay. I apologise if this caused you offence but we certainly did not intend to as it is a standard policy.
I do offer my sincerest apologies for the cleanliness of the room and I have shared your feedback with our housekeeping contractor as what you found was certainly unacceptable. I would like to confirm that the appropriate action has been taken.
Thank you once again for your comments and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I got a fantastic deal on my room and was very pleased. Big room and bathroom. Very clean. Nice bright communal areas and a lovely bar. Only downside the room has nowhere near enough lighting..rather gloomy...and the muppet who set off the fire alarm at 3am (but appreciated the apologetic letter from the night manager). Great spot. Recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid the room by the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Lovely to see that you were pleased with the room! Thank you very much for recommending us! As for the fire alarm - thank you very much for your great feedback!
We look foward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

I really loved this hotel.
Lovely room,facilities & location.
Breakfast was good & the pool was really clean.
The staff were helpful and very friendly.
Parking was not great, the hotel had two car parks, but both were very small & struggled to accommodate all of the guests.
Excellent location, close to everything that we wanted!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelzR35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
What a brilliant review! Thank you ever so much, we are delighted and flattered that you love our hotel!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I have just completed a three month membership of the spa and gym. Both are fairly basic but adequate - or could be if a few basic issues were rectified. The facilities are only passably clean - even though they are closed every Monday supposedly for a 'deep clean'. The loo particularly could really do with a proper clean. The water in the shower is boiling hot - and it cannot be regulated. The last thing you need after a workout is a 'too hot' shower. I was told by the staff on the desk that the water has to be hot for babies - this can't be right - someone told me that she had heard a child scream in pain because the water was so hot. I can't understand why this can't be sorted - it would save the hotel money and meet 'green' objectives. I have fed back my comments to the staff but they aren't really interested. I won't be going back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ginger072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your comments, though I am very sorry to hear that you did not see the results of a sufficient deep clean! I have shared your feedback with our housekeeping contractors as this is certainly not a usual standard and once again I do sincerely apologise! I can assure you that we are interested in what you have told us and we shall be taking the appropriate action necessary.
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yeovil
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is a large modern corporate style hotel with good facilities and comfortable rooms.
The staff are friendly and helpful. There is secure parking.
Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Bar prices are high, but apart from that the hotel is good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Delighted that you consider us good value! We hope to welcome you again soon!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel. It's a bit corporate, but if you book early enough it is a complete bargain. The rooms are spacious, clean and modern and the staff are friendly. The added indoor pool, fitness facilities and spa just add to the hotel. It's a short walk into the quay area of Bristol where you can find a ton of great bars and restaurants.

The breakfast buffet is a little pricey, but worth every penny.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flick1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Good to see that you will be back ! Thank you for your lovely comments, we are flattered that you love the hotel!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Property: Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Address: Redcliff Hill, Bristol BS1 6SQ, England (Formerly Mercure Holland House Bristol)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#13 Family Hotel in Bristol
#13 Business Hotel in Bristol
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of the 4 star Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa which is perfectly placed for business or leisure, be it a family break, city getaway or a fun filled adventure in this cosmopolitan metropolis. All 275 rooms are contemporary and well appointed bedrooms with large beds. The Urban Bar & Kitchen offers a vibrant and contemporary atmosphere with a fantastic open plan dining facility. Using the finest local produce, you can expect urban food, unsung heroes along with some guilty pleasures to satisfy your appetite. For ultimate relaxation and indulgence why not visit the Spa which offers various treatments, a large indoor heated pool and fitness suite. An affordable yet stylish and luxury hotel that delivers and will ensure your stay is memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Bristol Hotel Bristol
Mercure Holland Hotel Bristol
Accor Holland Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing