We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My third stay here. Always comfortable. Breakfast in your room is delicious! (extra £5). And restaurant food is a good standard. They also have Guiness at the bar! Parking could be expensive if not included.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for continually choosing to stay with us! We are delighted that you are enjoying your stays!.
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,559 - 1,565 of 2,662 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

A well positioned Hotel in Bristol for easy access to both Bristol Meads Temple Station and Bristol City Centre, Approx 5 mins walk from Temple Meads which is extremely manageable even with your overnight case, You are also approx 5 mins walk from Bristol Old City area and about 15 mins walk away from the Broadmead Shopping area, All the amenities you could need in your room, LCD TV, Tea & Coffee making facilities, Iron & Ironing board, Trouser press, Spacious super clean bathroom with large walk in shower but no bath in the standard room I had, Overall, Nice clean Hotel at a good value price with all the facilities you will need for an enjoyable overnight stay whether that be staying for business or leisure, Couldn't comment on the Spa or food in the restaurant as I was room only basis. No problems recommending the Mecure Holland House and I would certainly stay again when back in Bristol.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southshields_DAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you for a brill review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Hotel nice but lighting in rooms very poor indeed, if you wanted to read anything had to go into bathroom as only decent light, fairly central taxi cost £5.30 from train station ( weekday lunch time) we had a very good choice at breakfast included in the price of our break, if not a bit steep at £16.50. Some very good deals on this hotel and on the deal we got would go again happily

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fisherman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us! Should you stay with us again (and hopefully you shall!) you can pre order breakfast at a special deal of £10 per person rather than £16.50! Have a lovely Christmas!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Unfortunately overall a pretty poor experience with shambolic restaurant service that Fawlty Towers would have been proud. of.I had a ground level room with no net curtains/blinds so the curtains had to be drawn shut throughout my entire stay and the room was very dimly lit- so a cosy cave-like ecperience. The restaurant succeeded in delivering food I did not want and not delivering food I had ordered. Food was late when it eventually arrived so my guest and I had to eat out of sync. Staff did not know the contents of their own menus. Requests for compensation are vaguely promised but never fulfilled and when we complained about the service the manager shrugged his shoulders and said that: yes, it was true his staff needed further training !

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yanhLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Once again we do apologise for the inconveniences that you experienced and I do hope following our communication via email that you will visit us again in the near future.
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Good points were nice size room ,comfy bed,no traffic noise even though we were on the front. Staff seemed to be happy in their jobs although sometimes forgetful. Fulfilling breakfast which kept you going for hours.
Bad points were terrible lighting in room [take a torch] or as I did take a chair in the bathroom to read. Safe locked permanently was opened the morning we left, asked for tissues as box was empty and found screwed up toilet paper in the box when we returned.
The bar was very nice but very,very pricey and the 2 evening meals we had certainly didn't seem like they had been cooked by an experienced chef using local ingredients,unless you are fond of broccoli.

Room Tip: No trouble with actual room ,position and layout, just lighting is extremely poor,impossible to read...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you for your review, I am glad to se that overall you enjoyed your stay! I am disappointed to read that you were not impressed by our food, usually this is recognised as one of the best parts of the hotel!
I do hope we can welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for just 1night but have to say the stay was great.Staff were very attentive &smiley.Our room was on the top floor so we had a great view of Bristol.The room was clean & tidy but could do with more tea/milk as 2 of each isnt enough.Bed was large & comfy but the aircon does dry the room out.We would have eaten breakfast but at £16:50 each that is far to expensive!!Its only £4:50 at the Ibis.Also with room service the breakfast would have been £43!!We gave it a miss..

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Ghillie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

We stayed for just 1night but have to say the stay was great.Staff were very attentive &smiley.Our room was on the top floor so we had a great view of Bristol.The room was clean & tidy but could do with more tea/milk as 2 of each isnt enough.Bed was large & comfy but the aircon does dry the room out.We would have eaten breakfast but at £16:50 each that is far to expensive!!Its only £4:50 at the Ibis.Also with room service the breakfast would have been £43!!We gave it a miss..

Firstly, regarding breakfast, we do offer a special deal at our reception were we offer breakfast for £10 per person! I do sincerely apologise that this was not mentioned to you!
Secondly, thank you for your lovely review and your encouraging words about staff
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed here for two nights as part of an arranged package to go to the Christmas Markets of Bristol and Bath. The hotel is well located, with easy access to the City centre. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, and the restaurant staff in particular were very professional. The twin bedded room I had was spacious, very clean, comfortable and well appointed. The only slight grouse I had was I found the lighting in the room inadequate, which is a complaint I have about most English hotels - I will never understand why they think I wish to grope about in semi darkness! Apart from that everything was very good. The breakfasts were excellent and the buffet dinners which were part of our package very good. All in all, an excellent stay and great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your lovely review - the christmas markets are definitely worth the visit! I am delighted you had an excellent stay!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Address: Redcliff Hill, Bristol BS1 6SQ, England (Formerly Mercure Holland House Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#13 Family Hotel in Bristol
#13 Business Hotel in Bristol
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £63 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of the 4 star Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa which is perfectly placed for business or leisure, be it a family break, city getaway or a fun filled adventure in this cosmopolitan metropolis. All 275 rooms are contemporary and well appointed bedrooms with large beds. The Urban Bar & Kitchen offers a vibrant and contemporary atmosphere with a fantastic open plan dining facility. Using the finest local produce, you can expect urban food, unsung heroes along with some guilty pleasures to satisfy your appetite. For ultimate relaxation and indulgence why not visit the Spa which offers various treatments, a large indoor heated pool and fitness suite. An affordable yet stylish and luxury hotel that delivers and will ensure your stay is memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Bristol Hotel Bristol
Mercure Holland Hotel Bristol
Accor Holland Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing