We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$94
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Bristol Centre(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,841)
Filter reviews
2,841 results
Traveller rating
862
1,134
538
180
127
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
862
1,134
538
180
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolseparate buildingprivilege roomcity centrehen partiesoffice blocktwo double bedstrouser pressgood sizeper nightan upgradefamily roomcar parkingsunday morningcoffee machinestayed here for one nightbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
1,733 - 1,738 of 2,841 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Poor lighting in rooms is a common criticism in many of the hotels' reviews. Really can't understand why it has not been put right. Only stayed one night in December. Would not go back. Basic cleanliness of room was very poor. Hospitality tray was ludicrous. Normally read in bed, but that was a no no! Paid £12 for car park. On leaving at 7.30am, found it was totally pitch black. Thank goodness for remote key fobs, or would never have found the car! Must be heaven to car thieves! Seems Mercure like to keep electricity bills down. Should have taken a torch to read by.

Room Tip: Maybe you get better lighting if you upgrade!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penrose_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback though I was of course very disappointed to read that you were not happy with your recent stay with us. I can assure you that we are taking your comments very seriously and shall certainly investigate the points that you have kindly brought to our attention. The car park lights should have been on and knowing how dark it can we do appreciate how frustrating it may have been at the time. Regarding the lighting in the bedroom, we do provide extra lamps at reception should any guests struggle in the rooms!
We do hope that one day in the future we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide with a relaxing stay.
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My third stay here. Always comfortable. Breakfast in your room is delicious! (extra £5). And restaurant food is a good standard. They also have Guiness at the bar! Parking could be expensive if not included.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for continually choosing to stay with us! We are delighted that you are enjoying your stays!.
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

A well positioned Hotel in Bristol for easy access to both Bristol Meads Temple Station and Bristol City Centre, Approx 5 mins walk from Temple Meads which is extremely manageable even with your overnight case, You are also approx 5 mins walk from Bristol Old City area and about 15 mins walk away from the Broadmead Shopping area, All the amenities you could need in your room, LCD TV, Tea & Coffee making facilities, Iron & Ironing board, Trouser press, Spacious super clean bathroom with large walk in shower but no bath in the standard room I had, Overall, Nice clean Hotel at a good value price with all the facilities you will need for an enjoyable overnight stay whether that be staying for business or leisure, Couldn't comment on the Spa or food in the restaurant as I was room only basis. No problems recommending the Mecure Holland House and I would certainly stay again when back in Bristol.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southshields_DAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you for a brill review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Hotel nice but lighting in rooms very poor indeed, if you wanted to read anything had to go into bathroom as only decent light, fairly central taxi cost £5.30 from train station ( weekday lunch time) we had a very good choice at breakfast included in the price of our break, if not a bit steep at £16.50. Some very good deals on this hotel and on the deal we got would go again happily

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fisherman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us! Should you stay with us again (and hopefully you shall!) you can pre order breakfast at a special deal of £10 per person rather than £16.50! Have a lovely Christmas!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Unfortunately overall a pretty poor experience with shambolic restaurant service that Fawlty Towers would have been proud. of.I had a ground level room with no net curtains/blinds so the curtains had to be drawn shut throughout my entire stay and the room was very dimly lit- so a cosy cave-like ecperience. The restaurant succeeded in delivering food I did not want and not delivering food I had ordered. Food was late when it eventually arrived so my guest and I had to eat out of sync. Staff did not know the contents of their own menus. Requests for compensation are vaguely promised but never fulfilled and when we complained about the service the manager shrugged his shoulders and said that: yes, it was true his staff needed further training !

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yanhLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Once again we do apologise for the inconveniences that you experienced and I do hope following our communication via email that you will visit us again in the near future.
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews