We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfortable rooms but not completely problem free”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed 29 August 2008

We had a pleasant stay here overall. The hotel is large, clean and has comfortable public spaces and bedrooms. However standard bedrooms seem only to have showers which was unexpected. We were told that only the ground floor has the plumbing suitable for baths! These rooms, with baths, are in my opinion best to avoid, as the one I saw was above the indoor swimming pool and smelt damp.

On our Sunday morning some guests had to wait patiently to get given tables for breakfast as the hotel was I assume full and there was not enough space in the dining room. Guests helped themselves to a good buffet breakfast but we had to collect coffees and teas from catering urns. Apparently there is a waitress service for guests for tea and coffees on all days but Sunday!

The staff were pleasant, welcoming and friendly. Our weekend price + £10 for parking ( apparently a cost every hotel in Bristol adds) was very good value- something masses of other August holiday makers must have noticed !

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank windsorsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,541 - 2,547 of 2,711 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2008

Mostly agree with everyone except that no one has mentioned the noise that is in the room when the air conditioning is off. There's background hum that (if you concentrate on trying to sleep) seems to get louder. I tried three rooms and eventually had to submit to using the one with the least noise.

Breakfast in the dining room was embarrasing - it was more like a self service motorway cafe than a 4* hotel.

Staff looked surprised when I reported problems so I guess I was the first to have them.

Great location - take a right turn out of the hotel and the first right again to the bottom of the road and you can walk over the bridge to the harbour. The Ostrich pub does good food at brilliant prices.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DarrenSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

I was very happy with my stay! James was a perfect example of what a front of house manager should be.
I had some concerns but they were dealt with really quickly.
The hotel was clean and very airy and well lighted.
I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank XHappyTravellerX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2008

Well situated and easy to get to

The room was large, but laid out in a strange way. There was a large cupboard in the corner of the room which was making a lot of noise - a mechanical droning. We advised reception of this and were told there was nothign they could do. A bad nights sleep.

Parking cost extra and the breakfast was very expensive and cold.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BubbleChog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

I was sorry to read the recent traveler's negative experience with the Mercure Holland House. As an International Flight Attendant, I have the opportunity to stay in incredible locations at top notch hotels around the world. This summer alone I have visited Rome, Milan, Paris, Frankfurt, Zurich, Barcelona, Madrid, London, Stratford Upon Avon, etc., etc.

Here's what I've enjoyed at the Mercure: (by the way... we use to stay at the Marriott... a very nice hotel... but I prefer the neighborhood feel and convenience of the Mercure)
1- 5 minute walk to the train station which has taken me to Bath (a 15 min. ride) where I enjoyed a tour of the Roman Baths
2- A short bus ride from the train station where I attended the International Hot Air Balloon Fiesta in 2007... incredible!
3- A short 15 minute walk along the beautiful River Avon to great shopping and fine dining.

Other crewmembers have enjoyed the scenic hike to the expansion bridge too. (in my future travel plans!) :o)

There is also the lovely church adjacent to the hotel, mountain bike rentals for the outdoor enthusiast, and a very nice restaurant and lounge in the hotel.

The rooms are spacious, classy and clean, with many amenities. I always look forward to picking up a trip to Bristol (as I am tomorrow) to enjoy this hotel and the sights nearby. P.S... I typically go out alone (daytime hours) and have never been approached or felt threatened here in the many times I have stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jerseyflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2008

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, the weekend of the Bristol Balloon Fiesta. Due to abismal weather we made the most of the hotel facilities! Booked the cheapest standard rate through the hotel's own website, £69 a night summer offer, breakfast included. Our room (no. 426) was very modern, neutrals/browns colour scheme, flat screen tv, iron & irnoning board provided as well as tea/coffee facilities. The three large windows looked out over the city and the hotel car park, and though they could not be opened, the air conditioning worked a treat. The bathroom was very modern too - large walk in shower, tiled in beige & brown. On first use the shower pipe pulled away from the shower head... We reported this to reception, and it was fixed straight away whilst we were out having dinner. The gym facilites are limited - a couple of machines & some small weights - but adequate for a quick work out. The pool is like an oasis of calm, big not huge, but big enough to do a few laps, clean towels provided in the changing rooms. Both access to the gym and the pool is via a key card from reception; it's free, you just need to ask for it. I also used the spa facilities, (40% off all treatments that day) - a tranquil place, but not very well signposted, it's part of the hotel but you actually have to go outside, and cross the car park to get there. Had a snack in the bar - ham/cheese panini - and was shocked to find it cost £8! Breakfast was good though - self service full english, and a continental selection of croissants and pastries. Parking is limited, to say the least, and at £10 per 24hrs, the public car park round the corner is much better at £2.60 (Saturdays) or £1.60 (Sundays) for the whole day. It's maybe a 10min walk to the harbourside cafes and restaurants, but that's not bad. Overall, the hotel is great for a break, staff were friendly and helpful; would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IndependenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

We got a pretty good rate from lastminute.com for a long weekend stay in Bristol. We booked a standard room which was large and well equipped whithb a huge bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. However, there was a VERY weird smell every time we came into the room. I think it was polish as there was dark wooden furniture which had been polished, however it wasn't a pleasant smell either for me or my partner. Luckily being in the room we got used to it and didn't notive it any more. Another negative was the housekeeping - It wasn't done until very late in the day and they forgot to replace the toilet roll which was almost finished and also left the bathroom floor unclean. This was disappointng for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Katinaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,781 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Address: Redcliff Hill, Bristol BS1 6SQ, England (Formerly Mercure Holland House Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#13 Business Hotel in Bristol
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £62 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of the 4 star Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa which is perfectly placed for business or leisure, be it a family break, city getaway or a fun filled adventure in this cosmopolitan metropolis. All 275 rooms are contemporary and well appointed bedrooms with large beds. The Urban Bar & Kitchen offers a vibrant and contemporary atmosphere with a fantastic open plan dining facility. Using the finest local produce, you can expect urban food, unsung heroes along with some guilty pleasures to satisfy your appetite. For ultimate relaxation and indulgence why not visit the Spa which offers various treatments, a large indoor heated pool and fitness suite. An affordable yet stylish and luxury hotel that delivers and will ensure your stay is memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Bristol Hotel Bristol
Mercure Holland Hotel Bristol
Accor Holland Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing