We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
uk
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 31 August 2008

We've just spent a lovely long weekend with my spouse in Mercure Holland House. It was amazing. We felt very welcomed, loved our room, which was spacious and clean.
The hotel provided free casino at the bar (based on free hotel money) so we even won few drinks for free! While we enjoyed our drinks, hotel magician grabbed our attention and showed us few tricks.
Where else could you get this?

On the top of that, bar staff was amazing during all the time. If we had been to Bristol before we wouldn't even bother to go out. I especially want to thank Lenka for the great service that she provided us with. Witty bartenders cannot be found in every hotel either!
We also loved the swimming pool which is open 24/7!

The only thing we did not like was car park charge and the view from the room.

We definitely recommend this hotel and would surely come back.

  • Liked — staff, room
  • Disliked — view, expensive car park
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JackS699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    1,043
    478
    153
    91
See reviews for
403
944
133
583
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2008

We loved our stay at Mercure Holland House, Bristol. The hotel is an excellent place to stay, being within easy walking distance of the centre of the city and having excellent amenities. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was large with a super-king bed, two armchairs and a chaise-longue. There was a swimming pool and a gym - both free. Fast internet access was also free. Our price included breakfast, which was a buffet with a wide selection of foods, both hot and cold.

  • Liked — The size and comfort of the room.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheerfulchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2008

We had a pleasant stay here overall. The hotel is large, clean and has comfortable public spaces and bedrooms. However standard bedrooms seem only to have showers which was unexpected. We were told that only the ground floor has the plumbing suitable for baths! These rooms, with baths, are in my opinion best to avoid, as the one I saw was above the indoor swimming pool and smelt damp.

On our Sunday morning some guests had to wait patiently to get given tables for breakfast as the hotel was I assume full and there was not enough space in the dining room. Guests helped themselves to a good buffet breakfast but we had to collect coffees and teas from catering urns. Apparently there is a waitress service for guests for tea and coffees on all days but Sunday!

The staff were pleasant, welcoming and friendly. Our weekend price + £10 for parking ( apparently a cost every hotel in Bristol adds) was very good value- something masses of other August holiday makers must have noticed !

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windsorsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2008

Mostly agree with everyone except that no one has mentioned the noise that is in the room when the air conditioning is off. There's background hum that (if you concentrate on trying to sleep) seems to get louder. I tried three rooms and eventually had to submit to using the one with the least noise.

Breakfast in the dining room was embarrasing - it was more like a self service motorway cafe than a 4* hotel.

Staff looked surprised when I reported problems so I guess I was the first to have them.

Great location - take a right turn out of the hotel and the first right again to the bottom of the road and you can walk over the bridge to the harbour. The Ostrich pub does good food at brilliant prices.

  • Liked — Location, leaving
  • Disliked — air con noise, cleaners late servicing room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DarrenSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthWest
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2008

I was very happy with my stay! James was a perfect example of what a front of house manager should be.
I had some concerns but they were dealt with really quickly.
The hotel was clean and very airy and well lighted.
I will be staying there again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank XHappyTravellerX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2008

Well situated and easy to get to

The room was large, but laid out in a strange way. There was a large cupboard in the corner of the room which was making a lot of noise - a mechanical droning. We advised reception of this and were told there was nothign they could do. A bad nights sleep.

Parking cost extra and the breakfast was very expensive and cold.

  • Liked — Big clean room
  • Disliked — Very noisy
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BubbleChog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

I was sorry to read the recent traveler's negative experience with the Mercure Holland House. As an International Flight Attendant, I have the opportunity to stay in incredible locations at top notch hotels around the world. This summer alone I have visited Rome, Milan, Paris, Frankfurt, Zurich, Barcelona, Madrid, London, Stratford Upon Avon, etc., etc.

Here's what I've enjoyed at the Mercure: (by the way... we use to stay at the Marriott... a very nice hotel... but I prefer the neighborhood feel and convenience of the Mercure)
1- 5 minute walk to the train station which has taken me to Bath (a 15 min. ride) where I enjoyed a tour of the Roman Baths
2- A short bus ride from the train station where I attended the International Hot Air Balloon Fiesta in 2007... incredible!
3- A short 15 minute walk along the beautiful River Avon to great shopping and fine dining.

Other crewmembers have enjoyed the scenic hike to the expansion bridge too. (in my future travel plans!) :o)

There is also the lovely church adjacent to the hotel, mountain bike rentals for the outdoor enthusiast, and a very nice restaurant and lounge in the hotel.

The rooms are spacious, classy and clean, with many amenities. I always look forward to picking up a trip to Bristol (as I am tomorrow) to enjoy this hotel and the sights nearby. P.S... I typically go out alone (daytime hours) and have never been approached or felt threatened here in the many times I have stayed.

  • Liked — Spacious, classy rooms
  • Disliked — View from back of hotel
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseyflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,575 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Property: Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Address: Redcliff Hill, Bristol BS1 6SQ, England (Formerly Mercure Holland House Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#13 Business Hotel in Bristol
#13 Family Hotel in Bristol
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of the 4 star Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa which is perfectly placed for business or leisure, be it a family break, city getaway or a fun filled adventure in this cosmopolitan metropolis. All 275 rooms are contemporary and well appointed bedrooms with large beds. The Urban Bar & Kitchen offers a vibrant and contemporary atmosphere with a fantastic open plan dining facility. Using the finest local produce, you can expect urban food, unsung heroes along with some guilty pleasures to satisfy your appetite. For ultimate relaxation and indulgence why not visit the Spa which offers various treatments, a large indoor heated pool and fitness suite. An affordable yet stylish and luxury hotel that delivers and will ensure your stay is memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Bristol Hotel Bristol
Mercure Holland Hotel Bristol
Accor Holland Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing