We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Write a Review

2,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    1,003
    459
    144
    84
See reviews for
389
914
131
553
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Had a special rate pre-pay family room for £69, room was clean, spacious and well equiped. Reception/bar area was very modern and inviting. Didn't use the Spa so can't comment on that. Would have scored a 5 if the heating and lighting were better. Decided not to have breakfast on site as it was just too expensive, there's a cafe open from 7:30am next door, where you can have a no frills fry up- plus a cuppa for a fraction of the cost!
As we arrived (easter Sunday) there were tons of stag and hen parties just checking out so beware if staying over on a weekend!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank fellowsIPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
I am delighted you consider us great value! That’s one of the things we strive to be! I do hope you consider us again for a future visit to Bristol and please do try out the Spa facilities should you have the time!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I have just returned from the best weekend EVER!!! Myself and 21 of my family and friends stayed at holland house for my hen weekend, which included spa treatments.
From the start, staff were extremely helpful, Monika was in constant contact with my sister who arranged the weekend.
For a very reasonable £87.50 we got accommodation (which included 2 double/king beds per room) a 3 course evening meal (which was delicious) breakfast and £35 towards spa treatments.
There is a pool in the basement of the hotel, which is lit with mood lighting, giving it a very relaxed feel, and sun loungers at the end of the pool.
The spa itself is in a separate building to the hotel (literally a 30second walk and in the hotel grounds) there is a lovely relaxation lounge, where you an stay for as long as you wish. Treatments were amazing and considering our large group were booked in for treatments all of Sunday morning, the staff managed and organised everything perfectly.
I couldn't have asked for a better weekend away. It really was amazing and I will remember it forever. I will recommend holland house and the spa to anyone I know who's looking for a relaxing break and I will be returning in the future for some more R&R.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for having a great weekend with us at Mercure! It really is a delight when we have fabulous reviews such as yours – it’s a huge encouragement for the team! Thank you very much for recommending us and we hope to welcome you back to Mercure in the future!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Location of the hotel is a short walk from the harbour. Room was immaculate but I would agree that the lighting in the room was poor! I also struggled as there was no plug within easy reach of the mirror, making hair drying difficult. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SherryBobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We certainly are perfect for visiting the harbourside! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I am very glad that you found the room to be immaculate. The refurbishment later on in the year will sort out the lighting in the room!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Great location, very close to the docks. Food in restaurant average and quite expensive. Lovely warm pool. Room was not spotless, spoons not washed up from previous guest, carpet needed to be hoovered better, hole in duvet cover.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickiharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your comments, though I am of course disappointed to read that you experienced housekeeping issues within your room. I can assure you that I have shared your feedback with our housekeeping contractors to ensure these small details are noticed.
I do hope we can welcome you back again in the near future for a stay not marred by such details!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The hotel was once an office block so it isn't all that appealing from the outside. However, it is very modern inside and has everything you need for a short city break. As it was a special birthday weekend I had booked a superior room which was lovely with a king size bed, complimentary soft drinks, water and newspaper. Our view was particularly nice looking out over the river and the city from the 4th floor. The reception staff were a bit on the slow side but all were pleasant and helpful and the staff in the bar were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was pretty standard fare but it was a buffet so you could help yourself to whatever you wanted. The hotel was 5/10 minutes away from Bristol's lovely harbourside which is full of bars and restaurants and where you can go on boat trips or visit the lovely aquarium.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are worth the extra for the lovely views and the immense bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
The hotel definitely is a surprise once you walk inside – very different to the look of the building itself!
Thank you for choosing us for your special weekend – I hope you had a lovely birthday! Lovely to see you explored Bristol too, we are very lucky to be so close the harbourside!
We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Paid extra for the Privilege room and was amazed - you could have fit 2 rooms into one and a roll-top bath in the ensuite. Shame I wasn't there long enough to enjoy it! Good location and good brekkie. Wifi no problem and a nice bar. Barman very friendly which makes a difference. One disappointment - the room lighting was abysmal.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank blueskychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your room and thank you for upgrading! I shall also share your comments with the bar manager regarding the friendly service you received.
Thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Property: Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Address: Redcliff Hill, Bristol BS1 6SQ, England (Formerly Mercure Holland House Bristol)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#13 Family Hotel in Bristol
#13 Business Hotel in Bristol
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of the 4 star Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa which is perfectly placed for business or leisure, be it a family break, city getaway or a fun filled adventure in this cosmopolitan metropolis. All 275 rooms are contemporary and well appointed bedrooms with large beds. The Urban Bar & Kitchen offers a vibrant and contemporary atmosphere with a fantastic open plan dining facility. Using the finest local produce, you can expect urban food, unsung heroes along with some guilty pleasures to satisfy your appetite. For ultimate relaxation and indulgence why not visit the Spa which offers various treatments, a large indoor heated pool and fitness suite. An affordable yet stylish and luxury hotel that delivers and will ensure your stay is memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Bristol Hotel Bristol
Mercure Holland Hotel Bristol
Accor Holland Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing