We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great post-Grillstock Festival Bar.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Having returned to the hotel after a long day at Grillstock festival, I was delighted to see that at 1am the bar was still in full force. Despite the bar being out of stock for my first two choices of drink, the Barman made me his own, extremely satisfying concoction which definitely did the trick. Nick provided me with good quality conversation throughout the night and dealt brilliantly with a few troublesome members of one of the many hen parties at the bar, he is a brilliant young man and is a credit to the company.

In addition, I was pleased with this morning's breakfast, it provided me with that much-needed hangover cure and set me up for another day at Grillstock. Cheers!!!!!

H


  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HugoBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear HugoBeaver,

Thank you for your recent review and praise of Nick our barman. I know he will be delighted to read such positive feedback and I appreciate you taking the time to share this with me. I hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,406 - 1,412 of 2,659 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We paid for an executive room and were impressed with the size of the room and the bathroom with a roll top bath!!!!! The service was standard, got told on check in that I hadn't paid for the room even though I had paid in person the day before, had to wait for about 30 minutes before someone else to confirm it had been paid......
Breakfast was excellent, a large range of food and drinks to choose from.
The swimming pool was small but nice to use.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaniKimmings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear DaniKimmings,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa.

I am delighted to hear that you were impressed with your room, the pool and the breakfast. Please be assured I will review the payment issue with the team and take the appropriate actions where needed.

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We visited this hotel for a hen party specifically to attend the spa. On arrival we met up in reception. We ordered teas coffees and scones. Our teas and coffees arrived .. 20 minutes later we were still enquiring as to when the scones were likely to arrive to be told that they were on the way. 30 mins after ordering scones arrived but they only had 5 .. 6 were ordered and paid for and this is a 4 star hotel??? We had to ask for more tea and coffee which was eventually given .. reluctantly free of charge.

Then to the spa which was booked through chilli sauce. This in my opinion is not a spa .. It is a beauticians. Only one basic relaxation room .. Nothing else .. Our treatments were fine but all in all a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Rachael65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa.
Please accept my apologies for the issues you highlighted, I will follow these up with the relevant departments.

Kind Regards
Karin Snoek – Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rmdivmanager, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night with my husband.
The hotel staff were very helpful and where happy to do anything for you.
The hotel room was lovely and big and the bed was very comfortable however our fridge did not work in the room which was a little bit frustrating.
Breakfast was lovely and there was plenty of choice.
The location was great and only a 10 minute walk to some great shops and lovely places to eat.
Was a little disappoint with the parking charge as I was not advised of this when I placed the booking and the reason I picked the hotel was because hotel had parking.
Other than that a nice hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room If you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alyson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rmdivmanager, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Alyson,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay at the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa.
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay and it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

In regards to the car park, I was dissapointed to hear that you were not made aware of the charges. We always try to make sure, where possible, that the charges are published on the various websites including our own, I will follow this up with our reservations manager.

We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,

Karin Snoek
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Sorry to write a negative review but hopefully help other people. My wife booked this as a special stay for my birthday and paid a premium rate. I have absolutely no problem with paying premium rates but if you are going to charge it earn it.
One, arrived. No easy parking signs so temporarily parked in a council car park very close by went in said where I was and if there as hotel car parking. Yes Sir. Result paid think it was £10-£12 for hotel when could have stayed for £2- £3 in council. Not the amount which is important fact is was not told. When queried was told signs advertised fact. I pointed out being told would have helped and in a four star hotel should a guest not expect parking got a shrug.
Afraid the reception staff are clearly all well trained in everything but being friendly. Simple things like have you stayed before, no I have not, so client of ours this is how hotel works etc
Room nothing special and put in one above a noisy appliance (I discretely asked for a move but no chance although no way hotel was full), bar empty - on account of prices, location not as central as it would have you believe (although smashing pub on walk), definitely not a spa hotel only a small, crowded and not overlly clean pool.
So my advise if looking for somewhere special in Bristol chose elsewhere.

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nevik017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rmdivmanager, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa.
Please accept my apologies for the issues you highlighted, all of which will be addressed with the Departmental Managers.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Bristol Holland House and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Kind Regards,

Karin Snoek
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here weekend of 17th May, with a group of friends, from check-in to check-out everything went smoothly, we had the first room you came to and we thought we would get disturbed but we didn't, the room was excellent, very clean with two double beds, which were very comfortable and a huge window with blackout curtains, a must for me! I thought the reception staff were exceptional, sorry didn't get any names, but although they were busy, they were friendly and helpful. I didn't use the restaurant preferring a lie in, but it looked busy. Hotel is within walking distance of some nice riverside eating places and the shops! Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palmplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rmdivmanager, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your very positive feedback following your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Karin Snoek
Operations Mnaager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,721 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Address: Redcliff Hill, Bristol BS1 6SQ, England (Formerly Mercure Holland House Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#13 Business Hotel in Bristol
#13 Family Hotel in Bristol
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £63 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of the 4 star Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa which is perfectly placed for business or leisure, be it a family break, city getaway or a fun filled adventure in this cosmopolitan metropolis. All 275 rooms are contemporary and well appointed bedrooms with large beds. The Urban Bar & Kitchen offers a vibrant and contemporary atmosphere with a fantastic open plan dining facility. Using the finest local produce, you can expect urban food, unsung heroes along with some guilty pleasures to satisfy your appetite. For ultimate relaxation and indulgence why not visit the Spa which offers various treatments, a large indoor heated pool and fitness suite. An affordable yet stylish and luxury hotel that delivers and will ensure your stay is memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Bristol Hotel Bristol
Mercure Holland Hotel Bristol
Accor Holland Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing