We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hen Party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We visited this hotel and stayed one night as part of a Spa Hen Do. The rooms were clean and very comfortable; the bed and linen were pristine and there was plenty of room. We asked for soap for hand washing and it was brought to our room within 5 minutes. We later found that some of the nicer touches of the hotel such as water and other toiletries were not supplied in our groups' rooms possibly as a result of us booking through an agent for our celebration weekend.
The Spa was very good and our treatments were lovely although it was a little strange to go out of the back door of the hotel to the back door of an adjacent building to access the Spa itself.
We decided to have lunch in the hotel to save time. It was understandable that we had to arrange tables to accommodate 11 of us but a shortage of chairs didn't warrant such rudeness from the waitress - bar and waiting staff were very obviously in a bad mood with each other/guests and this reflected abysmally on most of us dampening the party spirit! We had almost finished our food before condiments/more cutlery arrived.
However, Bristol has an excellent night life and the girls very much enjoyed the evening in town.
The food at lunch was good but the main restaurant, open only in the evening was exemplary! The restaurant manager and staff were discreet; helpful; watchful and quite charming. The food was delicious and presentation was very good. No hesitation to tip!
Reception were helpful and very pleasant; the foyer was well dressed and very clean with a nice atmosphere. I would have happily added another 'star' on my rating if the lunch time staff had been just a little happier in their work!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gf-kb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Bristol Holland House. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you raised, in particular the service you received in our bar. Please be assured that these points will be addressed with the departmental manager concerned.

In regards to your room amenities, in all our classic rooms we have standard amenities like shampoo, soap and shower gel. For an additional £20 per night there are upgraded room types available, which includes enhanced bathroom amenities and complimentary mineral water in the room.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and on behalf of the team I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,628)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,372 - 1,378 of 2,628 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

The toilet smelt, so we had to ask for it to be cleaned, the mini fridge in the bedroom didnt work, the changing rooms for the pool had the female and male signs on the wrong side - so when you entered you were a female but on returning from the pool end the signs had been swapped over, causing confusion, so in other words they read female one end and male the other! To top it all off we were required to pay parking for using their hotel of £12 per day - which was refunded to us when we complained about the state of our room. In general the hotel is trying to maintain being 4 star, but the rooms are rather 'tired' look and could doing with a complete refurb! The shower basin was slow to drain out. On conclusion looks like serious problems with the drains, causing the bad odours from the WC. We stayed in a family room but there were not really enough cupboard space for a family and only one small side table for the beds for 4 people! One of the bed lights wasnt working and we were glad we were only staying one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a nicer view. We looking out over the customer car park and industrial area...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
Thank shakey61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Bristol Holland House, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I was disappointed to read you found the accommodation element of your stay tired, I am glad to inform you that all our bedrooms are up for a reburbishment from July onwards. I will pick up the mentioned issues with the relevant members of the team and address any of the areas we can.

I hope we can welcome you back to Bristol in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is 10 minutes walk from the station. Bristol main town and docks are short walk from the hotel. We didnt eat at the hotel as there are so many places around the docks to eat you are never short of choice and obviously its cheaper. The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotlessly clean and all have fridges which is useful. They all seem to have only showers. The rooms are all airconditioned as the windows do not open. The pool was easily accessible and is not deep but its warm and nice to wind down with a swim. The only downside is there a no nets at the windows and you can see in, so you shut the curtains and the rooms a bit dark. Would definitley recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 447 quiet but faced the car park.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bangoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa.
I am delighted to hear the possitive comments regarding the staff, your room and the hotel cleanliness.
All the hotel bedrooms will be undergoing a refurbishment from July onwards and the plan is for every room to have sheer curtains.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bristol in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

One night stay here on business, all fine. Room had no remote control or hairdryer but this was quickly remedied by a quick call to reception.
Comfortable bed, basic room amenities. Would have been nice to have water in the fridge and some type of shower gel, basics for a 4 star hotel really.
Plus points for cheery, helpful staff and great location; few minutes walk to excellent harbourside restaurants Cherry Duck Bistro and Riverstation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank monkeystar861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa.
My apologies about the missing hairdryer and remote control, however I am pleased to hear that the reception rectified this immediately. Shower gel is a standard in all of our rooms and should have been there, I will speak to our housekeeping manager regarding this. In regards to the mineral water, I am pleased to inform you that all our Privilege Rooms come with complimentary mineral water and enhanced bathroom amenities.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bristol in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

It was another great stay at this lovely hotel. The welcome was pleasant as usual, a quick drink in the bar and then the really spacious room and comfy bed. Breakfast was good and hot, something I hope for in a hotel. It was a very comfortable stay and I would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your very positive feedback following your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I spend most of the working week in hotels all over the country. I have been to this hotel on a regular basis for 2 years averaging I suppose 1 or 2 nights per week. I've seen staff come and go but without doubt I can honestly say the rooms, food, service but mostly the staff are brilliant. On the very rare occasion something goes wrong it is rectified without fuss or delay. Just had scallops as a starter and rump of lamb as the main course, both cooked to perfection. Couldn't miss this opportunity to praise the place.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear George T,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stays at Mercure Bristol Holland House. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous ones.

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank OldAccountant
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Address: Redcliff Hill, Bristol BS1 6SQ, England (Formerly Mercure Holland House Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#13 Business Hotel in Bristol
#13 Family Hotel in Bristol
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £71 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of the 4 star Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa which is perfectly placed for business or leisure, be it a family break, city getaway or a fun filled adventure in this cosmopolitan metropolis. All 275 rooms are contemporary and well appointed bedrooms with large beds. The Urban Bar & Kitchen offers a vibrant and contemporary atmosphere with a fantastic open plan dining facility. Using the finest local produce, you can expect urban food, unsung heroes along with some guilty pleasures to satisfy your appetite. For ultimate relaxation and indulgence why not visit the Spa which offers various treatments, a large indoor heated pool and fitness suite. An affordable yet stylish and luxury hotel that delivers and will ensure your stay is memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Bristol Hotel Bristol
Mercure Holland Hotel Bristol
Accor Holland Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing