We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,945)
Filter reviews
2,945 results
Traveller rating
883
1,165
557
203
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
883
1,165
557
203
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolprivilege roomseparate buildingcity centrehen partiesoffice blocktwo double bedstrouser pressgood sizeair conthe hotel car parkper nightan upgradefamily roomsunday morningcoffee machinestayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
2,754 - 2,759 of 2,945 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2008

My wife and I stayed for a Friday and Saturday night, and my mother joined us for the Saturday night.
We were on a cheap, room-only rate of £69 per room per night - breakfast not included. We didn't eat in the hotel, because that didn't suit our timetable.
The rooms were very good, spacious, well-furnished and clean. We all slept well. The staff on reception were very helpful and friendly. I paricularly enjoyed being able to use the very attractive swimming pool.
I'd definitely stay here again - especially if we could get the same cheap rates!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2008

A Converted Office Builidng which was close to where I was working. High Price, Poor Service, and Mediocre Food. It appears to be Completely Non-Smoking (Advised Differently at Booking). The Bar had no Gin! — Only Perfumed Exotic Brands! My seat 'Fell Apart' due to poor Fit-Out. My room was next to The Lift, and I could hear every 'Bing Bong, First Floor' as other guests arrived.

Breakfast is a complete 'Bun Fight!' just walk-in and get a table! Food was also 'Cold' and 'Fat Laden!'

Basic Bar Meals are charged at Five-Star Prices! - And are not all that good!

Arrange your Second Mortgage before you use The Telephone!

Stayed: November 2007
Thank BobSATWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2008

My port of call in Bristol used to be the Hotel du Vin, but following a disappointing stay there on my last visit (check out the review) this time I opted for the Holland House. I mainly chose this hotel because it is just around the corner from Temple Meads Station. In the event this proved not to be such a great choice.

The hotel is in a pretty grotty area and the views from the first floor rooms at the sides and back of the building are most definitely “gorblimey”. My room faced directly onto a rough boozer less than 30’ away (probably explains why the curtains were already closed when I checked in late afternoon before dark). The rooms are sparsely furnished and seem to be designed for one-night-stays, in that they have tiny wardrobes and little storage space. That’s not a problem for me, but a couple booking in here for a few days would struggle to unpack their bags completely. I suppose the Spartan style might kindly be described as “shoestring chic”.

The room did have a decent flat-screen TV but there was no CD or DVD player – something you would now normally expect to find in an “executive room”. The room was clean enough but there was a lack of attention to detail. The handset for the TV was missing (took two calls to reception to sort out) and one of the towels in the bathroom was badly marked.

Dinner was just about okay overall but there were too many false notes to justify the prices charged. A fillet steak (£22.50) lacked flavour while the potato dauphinois that came with it was undercooked and greasy. The cheese course was absolutely dire: five chunks of tasteless supermarket cheese straight out of the fridge. On the positive side, the wine-list featured some good bottles at reasonable prices. The service was pleasant enough and top marks go to the French Maitre D’ (who is surely wasted in this establishment, particularly when it fills up with corporate yobs).

Breakfast was chaotic and unpleasant. Both the dining room and the number of staff were too small to cope with the hoards of guests. As for the breakfast food...well, as a previous reviewer has remarked, it was no better than you would get at a motorway service station (where you would pay a fraction of the price).

Would I stay at this hotel again? No way – there are much better options for the B&B rate of £164.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TedMeades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2008

Stayed for one night on business. Fairly easy to find, although car park is at rear of property. This, it should also be noted, cost £10 per night.

Checked was swift.

Room was spotlessly clean, very modern fittings etc. I was missing TV remote control, which reception dealth with swiftly.

Bed was very comfortable, and very quite around.

Bathroom was excellent, and shower pressure was superb.

Breakfast was first class, and unlike others, mine was nice and hot. fine selection.

Overall great stay, and would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2008

Looks realy nice from the outside, but as we pulled in we saw 2 wino's and 3 other people that looked seriously dodgy !! Got in the car park no touble and we got upgraded at check in, bonus !! Anyway the hotel was spot on, rooms very nice and modern and we had a great view. The reception and bar area are very smart, and the whole hotel has a classy feel and the staff were great. Didn't get to go to the pool, so no comment and we didn't dine in the hotel either. The only problem really was that the bufet style breakfast was only warm, all the food was in the trays that are heated from below but everything was warm at best. There was plenty of choice and it was all very well managed - it just wasn't hot !!!! Shame.

This is a great hotel in a really good location, very smart and modern. Definatly stay there again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanoR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews