We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice in Bristol”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed 4 November 2008

Stayed on 2nd November having booked a twin room (1 king size bed and 1 double bed). Room tastefully furnished and clean. Staff helpful. Breakfast very good but a little cool. Will stay again. Only 10 minute work to Cabot Circus shopping centre.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANZ8740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,474 - 2,480 of 2,655 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2008

very good hotel. very close to the city centre. Modern hotel, free Internet, and outstanding service. Extremely polite and helpful front desk staff. Including restaurants suggestions and bookings. I would come again with no doubt. Holland house is my bristol's hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kobe7894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2008

I stayed here for three nights tin October 2008 for business purposes and was immensely impressed with the service and the standard on the hotel. The bar area is second to none ( having experience my far share of hotel bars ) and the food was great. The hotel is a five minute walk to the harbour area ( with the usual bars / resturants ) and very easy access to the train station. The swimming pool is more of a relax pool but does it job well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bristol and would like to thank the hotel staff for taking care of me in such a specal way. it was also nice to see members of the management team on the 'shop floor', taking care of the guests.

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank stateside74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

When I stayed here in august the food was very below standard for a 4 star hotel (in fact i couldn't believe how basic it was!!!) and the queue for breakfast was a complete joke with terrible service! However upon my recent stay the food was a major improvement, (it was actully the best meal I have ever had!) But the attention paid to the individual at breakfast is little, in fact it is just rude! after asking for some coffee i was greeted with a grunt! The room was very good, spacious and modern, which is the reason I returned to the hotel. I would recommend dinner in the restaurant to anyone, but avoid breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank petergiles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

My wife and I stayed for a Friday and Saturday night, and my mother joined us for the Saturday night.
We were on a cheap, room-only rate of £69 per room per night - breakfast not included. We didn't eat in the hotel, because that didn't suit our timetable.
The rooms were very good, spacious, well-furnished and clean. We all slept well. The staff on reception were very helpful and friendly. I paricularly enjoyed being able to use the very attractive swimming pool.
I'd definitely stay here again - especially if we could get the same cheap rates!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2008

A Converted Office Builidng which was close to where I was working. High Price, Poor Service, and Mediocre Food. It appears to be Completely Non-Smoking (Advised Differently at Booking). The Bar had no Gin! — Only Perfumed Exotic Brands! My seat 'Fell Apart' due to poor Fit-Out. My room was next to The Lift, and I could hear every 'Bing Bong, First Floor' as other guests arrived.

Breakfast is a complete 'Bun Fight!' just walk-in and get a table! Food was also 'Cold' and 'Fat Laden!'

Basic Bar Meals are charged at Five-Star Prices! - And are not all that good!

Arrange your Second Mortgage before you use The Telephone!

Stayed: November 2007
Thank BobSATWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2008

My port of call in Bristol used to be the Hotel du Vin, but following a disappointing stay there on my last visit (check out the review) this time I opted for the Holland House. I mainly chose this hotel because it is just around the corner from Temple Meads Station. In the event this proved not to be such a great choice.

The hotel is in a pretty grotty area and the views from the first floor rooms at the sides and back of the building are most definitely “gorblimey”. My room faced directly onto a rough boozer less than 30’ away (probably explains why the curtains were already closed when I checked in late afternoon before dark). The rooms are sparsely furnished and seem to be designed for one-night-stays, in that they have tiny wardrobes and little storage space. That’s not a problem for me, but a couple booking in here for a few days would struggle to unpack their bags completely. I suppose the Spartan style might kindly be described as “shoestring chic”.

The room did have a decent flat-screen TV but there was no CD or DVD player – something you would now normally expect to find in an “executive room”. The room was clean enough but there was a lack of attention to detail. The handset for the TV was missing (took two calls to reception to sort out) and one of the towels in the bathroom was badly marked.

Dinner was just about okay overall but there were too many false notes to justify the prices charged. A fillet steak (£22.50) lacked flavour while the potato dauphinois that came with it was undercooked and greasy. The cheese course was absolutely dire: five chunks of tasteless supermarket cheese straight out of the fridge. On the positive side, the wine-list featured some good bottles at reasonable prices. The service was pleasant enough and top marks go to the French Maitre D’ (who is surely wasted in this establishment, particularly when it fills up with corporate yobs).

Breakfast was chaotic and unpleasant. Both the dining room and the number of staff were too small to cope with the hoards of guests. As for the breakfast food...well, as a previous reviewer has remarked, it was no better than you would get at a motorway service station (where you would pay a fraction of the price).

Would I stay at this hotel again? No way – there are much better options for the B&B rate of £164.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TedMeades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,712 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Address: Redcliff Hill, Bristol BS1 6SQ, England (Formerly Mercure Holland House Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#13 Family Hotel in Bristol
#13 Business Hotel in Bristol
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £63 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of the 4 star Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa which is perfectly placed for business or leisure, be it a family break, city getaway or a fun filled adventure in this cosmopolitan metropolis. All 275 rooms are contemporary and well appointed bedrooms with large beds. The Urban Bar & Kitchen offers a vibrant and contemporary atmosphere with a fantastic open plan dining facility. Using the finest local produce, you can expect urban food, unsung heroes along with some guilty pleasures to satisfy your appetite. For ultimate relaxation and indulgence why not visit the Spa which offers various treatments, a large indoor heated pool and fitness suite. An affordable yet stylish and luxury hotel that delivers and will ensure your stay is memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Bristol Hotel Bristol
Mercure Holland Hotel Bristol
Accor Holland Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing