We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived and had to wait 3 hours as rooms were not ready this was explained as "human error" due to some cleaners being slower than others!? "Spa" is a beauticians room where I paid £45 to have my nails painted and a veggie wrap. There was a constant wringing noise that turned out to be the air con. Had to walk across car park several times in dressing gown and slippers as hotel, restaurant and pool were a completely different building. Check out time 12 but cleaners knock door at 9.30! The hallways stink and at one point there was a man wandering around in his pants! On the way out they slapped a 12pound charge for the parking that at no point were made aware of. We were directed to a photo frame sized sign hidden by the back door showing the charges.I Have complained and have been told they will sort issues for future customers. I will not be one of them and neither will the other 31 dissatisfied ladies who joined me.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank local82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your detailed feedback following your visit to the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa.
The comments are most comprehensive and each point will be discussed with the Departmental Managers concerned. Please accept my sincere apologies for these service issues.

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,488 - 1,494 of 2,779 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

The car parking needs serious attention, we checked in to be told by a quite surly member of staff that the car park was "round the back" and we might not get in, but if we can we can park on the street for free over the weekend! We had a problem with out booking and the member of staff immediately went on the offensive with us rather than help us deal with the problem, needless to say we only styed the one night.
It's simply not worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa.
Please accept my apologies for the issues you highlighted.

Kind Regards
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here for the Harbour Festival. Booked at short notice and was quite impressed with the price for a family room with two double beds. This is such a luxury for a family rather than pull out beds and sofa beds. Room was very clean, smart, quiet, nice and dark and we all slept well.
My issues though are firstly with the welcome on reception and the attitude throughout our stay. If you are going to advertise family rooms, then please ensure that families are made to feel welcome. The lady who booked us in and was on the desk throughout our stay was not in the slightest bit welcoming, friendly and obviously did not like children.
The website should clearly state that parking has an extra charge.
The pool is a nice addition but the cleanliness of the pool and the changing rooms left a lot to be desired. The lighting was very dark in the pool area and made the water look very murky. Hope it was just the lighting! There was a lot of rubbish around the edge of the pool, it wasn't very pleasant.
We paid extra for breakfast but I wouldn't pay to have it if we were to stay here again. Staff were friendly in the restaurant but the food wasn't the nicest.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank katoxbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your detailed feedback following your visit to the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa.
The comments are most comprehensive and each point will be discussed with the Departmental Managers concerned. Please accept my sincere apologies for these service issues. All of which will be resolved moving forward.

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed in a 'Privilege' room as the last time we stayed at this hotel, the bathroom smelt rather unsanitary in the wee hours so they gave us a free upgrade for the next time. This time was okay although the staff were difficult to understand at times, we had to wait at a dirty table for breakfast as that was where we were put and told that it would be attended to! We ended up having to get a member of staff ourselves to clean it!!! The restaurant/breakfast room was full and extremely loud, very popular with hen parties, which is great, but they do need more staff to cope with a full room. We saw one waiter leave the cleaning fluid and a cloth on a table where people were sitting and they returned the cloth to him themselves!!!!! Again it was difficult to understand some staff!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Sheil59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you raised, in particular Food and Beverage service. These points will be addressed with the Departmental Managers concerned.

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We only stayed here for a night while we were on a tour. The location was fantastic and the hotel facilities were very good.
The room we had was very comfortable and was one of the better rooms we stayed in on our United Kingdom journey. It conveniently had a restaurant for us to have a meal as we arrived quite late in the day and didn't feel like going out.
This hotel is definitely a nice place to stay and the staff at the desk and in the restaurant were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ZoeR549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.
I will be delighted to share this feedback with the team and hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bristol in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Arrived at this hotel early evening and was greeted with a welcome smile, reception was very efficient at getting me checked in and in a matter of minutes I was off to my room and wow....

The room was very smart with a contemporary feeling and a amazing view. The furnishing were extremely clean and well presented including a very comfortable armchair and foot stool, so much so I almost fell asleep in it watching a film.

Breakfast was the usual buffet but there was nothing tired about any of it, it all looked and tasted fresh.

On the down side, there was not enough parking on site for the number of rooms in the hotel, had to park in a back street, if you do park it is £12 for the day... ouch.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alan_N_CRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Bristol Holland House. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Address: Redcliff Hill, Bristol BS1 6SQ, England (Formerly Mercure Holland House Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#13 Business Hotel in Bristol
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £68 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of the 4 star Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa which is perfectly placed for business or leisure, be it a family break, city getaway or a fun filled adventure in this cosmopolitan metropolis. All 275 rooms are contemporary and well appointed bedrooms with large beds. The Urban Bar & Kitchen offers a vibrant and contemporary atmosphere with a fantastic open plan dining facility. Using the finest local produce, you can expect urban food, unsung heroes along with some guilty pleasures to satisfy your appetite. For ultimate relaxation and indulgence why not visit the Spa which offers various treatments, a large indoor heated pool and fitness suite. An affordable yet stylish and luxury hotel that delivers and will ensure your stay is memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Bristol Hotel Bristol
Mercure Holland Hotel Bristol
Accor Holland Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing