We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,022)
Filter reviews
3,022 results
Traveller rating
894
1,190
572
216
150
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
894
1,190
572
216
150
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool privilege room separate building city centre office block two double beds good size air con per night an upgrade family room sunday morning coffee machine stayed here for one night buffet style bars and restaurants lovely room
Filter
Updating list...
1,720 - 1,725 of 3,022 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The car parking needs serious attention, we checked in to be told by a quite surly member of staff that the car park was "round the back" and we might not get in, but if we can we can park on the street for free over the weekend! We had a problem with out booking and the member of staff immediately went on the offensive with us rather than help us deal with the problem, needless to say we only styed the one night.
It's simply not worth the money.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa.
Please accept my apologies for the issues you highlighted.

Kind Regards
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here for the Harbour Festival. Booked at short notice and was quite impressed with the price for a family room with two double beds. This is such a luxury for a family rather than pull out beds and sofa beds. Room was very clean, smart, quiet, nice and dark and we all slept well.
My issues though are firstly with the welcome on reception and the attitude throughout our stay. If you are going to advertise family rooms, then please ensure that families are made to feel welcome. The lady who booked us in and was on the desk throughout our stay was not in the slightest bit welcoming, friendly and obviously did not like children.
The website should clearly state that parking has an extra charge.
The pool is a nice addition but the cleanliness of the pool and the changing rooms left a lot to be desired. The lighting was very dark in the pool area and made the water look very murky. Hope it was just the lighting! There was a lot of rubbish around the edge of the pool, it wasn't very pleasant.
We paid extra for breakfast but I wouldn't pay to have it if we were to stay here again. Staff were friendly in the restaurant but the food wasn't the nicest.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank katoxbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your detailed feedback following your visit to the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa.
The comments are most comprehensive and each point will be discussed with the Departmental Managers concerned. Please accept my sincere apologies for these service issues. All of which will be resolved moving forward.

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed in a 'Privilege' room as the last time we stayed at this hotel, the bathroom smelt rather unsanitary in the wee hours so they gave us a free upgrade for the next time. This time was okay although the staff were difficult to understand at times, we had to wait at a dirty table for breakfast as that was where we were put and told that it would be attended to! We ended up having to get a member of staff ourselves to clean it!!! The restaurant/breakfast room was full and extremely loud, very popular with hen parties, which is great, but they do need more staff to cope with a full room. We saw one waiter leave the cleaning fluid and a cloth on a table where people were sitting and they returned the cloth to him themselves!!!!! Again it was difficult to understand some staff!

Date of stay: July 2014
Thank Sheil59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you raised, in particular Food and Beverage service. These points will be addressed with the Departmental Managers concerned.

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We only stayed here for a night while we were on a tour. The location was fantastic and the hotel facilities were very good.
The room we had was very comfortable and was one of the better rooms we stayed in on our United Kingdom journey. It conveniently had a restaurant for us to have a meal as we arrived quite late in the day and didn't feel like going out.
This hotel is definitely a nice place to stay and the staff at the desk and in the restaurant were very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ZoeR549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.
I will be delighted to share this feedback with the team and hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bristol in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews