We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel - ideal location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - ideal location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I really couldnt fault our stay at this hotel - the hotel staff were so friendly and polite, room was spacious and clean and the location was perfect - short walk away from harbourside and shopping centre!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Bristol Holland House. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    1,004
    462
    145
    85
See reviews for
391
918
131
553
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a very well appointed hotel within a very short walk of the harbour and the city center. Our room was huge with two very comfortable double beds - for just over £70 per night! The decor was clean and modern throughout the hotel and the breakfast was excellent as well for £10pp. Parking on a quiet street at the side of the hotel is free over night and then £1 for the first hour after 8.00 in the morning. This is a really good base to explore the city and with easy access to the main routes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Old-peculiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your very positive feedback following your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Karin Snoek – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel is well placed for the bars and restaurants but the aircon let the hotel down badly. Service in the restaurant was slow and impersonal which led us to eating out after having experienced the restaurant twice, once for a very slow breakfast and once for a cold dinner. Reception staff were equally inert - one disabled lady was stuck in the outside lift and no reception staff were willng to come and help without being shamed into it! The room was good and housekeeping excellent. Car parking arrangements were vague and expensive, which again comes down to the reception staff communication.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa. Please accept my apologies for the issues you highlighted.

Kind Regards
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on arrival we were greated very promptly and booked in quickly. Our room was a family room which was very spacious. There were plenty off towels for all of the family. Could of done with an extra cup as only two provided with 3 guests per room.

The bathroom was a good size. Howerer a little more attention could of been given to the bathroom floor as the white grouting between the floor tiles was brown with dirt. Also the since plug area wasnt that clean nor the overflow on the sink. This didnt really affect my stay but worth noting.

Be aware of the ironing board ! It collapsed several times and collapsed when my daughter walked by.

Lovely breakfast at hotel. But not prompt enough to refill dishes for cereal or products when half full. Breakfast items like bread, croissants, preserves and milk were left to run out rather than monitored.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank allthefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review following your stay at the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa. I hope we can welcome you back to Bristol in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights and would like to say "full marks for everything". Totally happy with room, food and cleanliness. Very friendly and helpful staff in reception and restaurant. The location of hotel was in a beautiful spot by the river and central to the rest of the town and waterfront. Thanks to you all. Regards to Cedric and Quintin.

Room Tip: We were at the back, nice and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Bristol Holland House. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Went to bristol with our friends to celebrate my birthday. This hotel had a deal on, half price rooms on the day i wanted to go.So booked ahead and when we arrived i was really pleased. huge room with 2 queen size beds.The beds were exceptionally comfy!The room was spotless and everything worked. Air conditioning was very good. Everything felt 4 star, the breakfast was lush and great value for money.All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay there again.About a 10 minute walk to the shopping and a few minutes walk by the harbourside where we ate by the waterside.had a fab 2 days!

Room Tip: Our rooms were in the 270's, which is 2nd floor and we overlooked an inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueanDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.
I will be delighted to share this feedback with our team and hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bristol in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Karin SNoe - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Property: Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Address: Redcliff Hill, Bristol BS1 6SQ, England (Formerly Mercure Holland House Bristol)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#13 Business Hotel in Bristol
#13 Family Hotel in Bristol
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of the 4 star Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa which is perfectly placed for business or leisure, be it a family break, city getaway or a fun filled adventure in this cosmopolitan metropolis. All 275 rooms are contemporary and well appointed bedrooms with large beds. The Urban Bar & Kitchen offers a vibrant and contemporary atmosphere with a fantastic open plan dining facility. Using the finest local produce, you can expect urban food, unsung heroes along with some guilty pleasures to satisfy your appetite. For ultimate relaxation and indulgence why not visit the Spa which offers various treatments, a large indoor heated pool and fitness suite. An affordable yet stylish and luxury hotel that delivers and will ensure your stay is memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Bristol Hotel Bristol
Mercure Holland Hotel Bristol
Accor Holland Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing