We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A four star experience for only a three star price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
799 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
“A four star experience for only a three star price”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel is a five minute taxi drive from Temple Meads Station in Bristol and a 15 minute walk into the town. The building looks like a converted office block, but don't let that put you off. The public areas and bedrooms are all stylishly designed and furnished.

Check in was efficient, with an international group of staff. I was offered parking at £12 a night. The room rate, booked with Booking.com and so accruing a discount, was £73 for bed and breakfast. I had asked for a quiet room and this was duly provided.

The bedroom was a good size and well appointed, with air conditioning. The bed was very comfortable and gave me a good night's sleep. There is a well-lit and good working area, an iron and ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities (with biscuits for those who are peckish), an empty (discreetly built in) fridge and a safe to store valuables. What else could one want? Well, a small quibble: although the room had a large, modern flat-screen TV, which allowed you to watch the main stations and listen to several radio channels, it did not have access to Radio 4 - which I thought odd for an hotel which is full of business people.

The shower room was stylishly designed and had good quality towels and toiletries (although the loo paper was slightly on the harder side).

Breakfast had a good range of dishes available and, in addition to the buffet, one could order kippers, smoked salmon and scrambled egg, etc, seemingly at no additional cost. The bread was of good quality - always a test of a good breakfast. The staff did seem a bit over stretched and my table was a bit sticky, but apart from that, it was a great way to start the morning.

The hotel also has a small gym and swimming pool, for those who want to relax.

I have stayed in other hotels in Bristol and this was definitely one of the best, especially for the price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.

I will be delighted to share this feedback with our team and hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bristol in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    1,045
    479
    154
    91
See reviews for
403
945
133
584
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

A good standard of Mercure hotel. Enormous room. Ate in the bar, and the food was reasonable, if not fantastic.

Staff were helpful and hotel was immaculate.

The outside view as you walk from the city centre does hint at a hotel that is in need of a bit of care and attention, but once you get inside that is anything but the case.

Would happily stay there again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank DPF57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review following your stay at the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa. I hope we can welcome you back to Bristol in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The one great thing about this hotel is its staff... they are very attentive and nothing is an effort to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

The rooms are very well decorated and extremely comfortable
Great value which included a fantastic buffet breakfast

If your looking for a great city hotel, close to the main train station as well as walking distance to the main shopping area, you will find it hard to beat this one

Room Tip: try and ask for a room at the back of the hotel as its away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.
I will be delighted to share this feedback with our team and hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bristol in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Good to see a quality ale on tap. Nice rooms, well equipped and more importantly clean. Would be nice to able to open a window though! Parking limited, need to be there early. Reception staff were plentiful and very good. All staff, bar and restaurant included were all very good, excellent service. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atters68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa.
I was delighted to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. At Mercure we always try to source local products where possible. Therefore we are proud to serve the locally brewed Bath Ales Gem on draught in our hotel bar, I am glad to hear you appreciated this carefully crafted bitter.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We spent the night at the hotel as we planned to go to the beach the following day.
We were offered a massive room with a great decor. Staff are friendly and really helpful. Nice breakfast in the morning although quite busy ( well it all summer :0). It was worth the price we spend.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank thierry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your very positive feedback following your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Karin Snoek – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,581 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Property: Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Address: Redcliff Hill, Bristol BS1 6SQ, England (Formerly Mercure Holland House Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#13 Family Hotel in Bristol
#13 Business Hotel in Bristol
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of the 4 star Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa which is perfectly placed for business or leisure, be it a family break, city getaway or a fun filled adventure in this cosmopolitan metropolis. All 275 rooms are contemporary and well appointed bedrooms with large beds. The Urban Bar & Kitchen offers a vibrant and contemporary atmosphere with a fantastic open plan dining facility. Using the finest local produce, you can expect urban food, unsung heroes along with some guilty pleasures to satisfy your appetite. For ultimate relaxation and indulgence why not visit the Spa which offers various treatments, a large indoor heated pool and fitness suite. An affordable yet stylish and luxury hotel that delivers and will ensure your stay is memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Bristol Hotel Bristol
Mercure Holland Hotel Bristol
Accor Holland Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing