We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$94
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$113
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Bristol Centre(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,841)
Filter reviews
2,842 results
Traveller rating
862
1,134
539
180
127
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
862
1,134
539
180
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolseparate buildingprivilege roomcity centrehen partiesoffice blocktwo double bedstrouser pressgood sizeper nightan upgradefamily roomcar parkingsunday morningcoffee machinestayed here for one nightbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
1,511 - 1,516 of 2,842 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed for a long weekend. It was well located for the city, the harbourside and for tourist attractions further away, and was easy to find on arrival.

The car park was small but we have no complaints as we obtained a parking space every day without difficulty. There is a barrier and you obtain a token from reception on the way out so it's only used by hotel guests. At £12 a night it's very expensive (any other hotels we have stayed in which charge their guests for car parking is usually about £3, although I can't understand why they charge their guests extra for car parking unless it's an airport hotel - that's one of life's mysteries!.)

We found the reception staff very polite and efficient and, one time we had a problem with the car park barrier and a member of reception staff immediately came and solved it - no problem.

Our room was very spacious, bright and light with the usual 4 star amenities of tea/coffee tray and safe and it had 2 lounge chairs, a table and a lounger (never come across that before). It had a fridge (a must) and the air con was excellent. The rubber around a couple of the windows was loose (which doesn't look nice) but they were well insulated none the less and the curtains were really well fitting blocking out most of the light. There were several functions in the hotel during the course of the weekend but our room was well located for peace and quiet (room 472).

The matress and the pillows were a bit squishy for us but the quilt was lovely and we slept well.

One of our pleasures is having room service which was really good and the room service breakfast was the best we have had in about a couple of years.

The bathroom contained the usual toiletries and lovely white fluffy towels and was clean.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Bristol Holland House. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We chose to stay in the his hotel as years ago it was an office and my Husband used to work in so was keen to see how it now looked. No changes to the outside still looked like an office block not a hotel, but assume there is nothing that can be done about that.
Car park is very small and quite hard to find, luckily we knew how to get to it, at £12 a night is on the expensive side some other hotels in city are cheaper.
Check in was smooth enough though we were not told that our room on 5th floor can only be accessed from lift at back and not front ones. We ended up having to go through the conference suites to get to the room, not a good start as there were conferences in place but the staff guided us through ok.
The room itself was not great very poorly lit and laid out, too much furniture in the way to get around. The bedside lights were not bright enough for reading by and the bedside tables had drink rings left from previous occupants. The water pressure in the shower was non existent and the water lukewarm at best.
We went to the bar for a drink and the staff on duty did not know how to use the till and to get assistance from another member of staff, not sure how you can have staff on duty that do not know how to use the equipment.
Breakfast the first morning was a complete joke and not what is expected from a hotel of this standard. No one was clearing the tables so they were piled up with dirty crockery and was difficult to find somewhere to sit, eventually we were found a clean table but was missing cups and saucers, no drinks order was taken and took over 10 mins to find a member fo staff to order drinks. There was a lack of hot and cold food and necessary plates to put food on in the cold area, the plates for the hot food were so hot you couldn't hold them and there was no napkins to use they were also a way from the hot food. The cheese was left out in the room and was not refrigerated so we left that well alone, had to wait a while for food to be replenished. I dread to think what this would have been like at a busy time and if the hotel was full. There were plenty of staff in the breakfast room but none seem to be actually doing anything useful.
Our second morning was a complete change we thought we had gone to a different breakfast room everything that was so wrong the day before was fixed, maybe they listened to the complaints from customers.
All in all not a good return and if in Bristol again will not stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExileQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Bristol Holland House, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Bristol Holland House and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My daughter (aged 15) my dad (aged 73) and myself (aged 44) came here on a 3 night stay. We were part of a coach party who have travelled up from Ingleton.
The staff were very helpful and kind with a smile to greet you whenever you approached them.
Our room was for 3 people but unfortunately there was a cup short on the tea tray and a glass short in the bathroom. I asked for extra's on the evening we arrived before going for our evening meal but unfortunately these never arrived - only trivial things I know but if asked for it should be followed through.
The only other gripe I had was the food in the restaurant was not labelled sufficiently so I had to keep asking what was in the food as I have a milk allergy. This was only the case in the evening although there was no choice of different milks in the morning if you prefer cereal instead of continental /cooked breakfast.
My daughter and my dad who have no food allergies thought the food was fabulous.
The room we had was lovely and quiet - we also able to control the heat of the room with aircon which was fabulous as it was quite hot. The room was clean and the appropriate towels were provided for us.
On one occasion I had to go and chase the cleaner for an extra toilet roll and replenishing of facial tissues in the bathroom.
On all accounts I would defo use this hotel again as its on the outskirts of Bristol which is quite a nice area to work round.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maria_coward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your detailed feedback following your visit to the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa.
The comments are most comprehensive and I will pick this up with the relevant members of the team and address any of the areas we can.

I hope we can welcome you back to Bristol in the near future .

Kind Regards,
Karin Snoek - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights whilst my partner was on a course in Bristol! The location of the hotel is easy to find by road, and within walking distance of Bristol temple meads, and all of the great shops on offer in the city, it is also a short walk into the harbourside, which means you get a full experience if Bristol. Breakfast was excellent with a good variety, the staff are very helpful and polite. The pool is a little small, as is the gym.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Estin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBristolHH, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your very positive feedback following your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Karin Snoek – Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews