We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely City Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Sussex
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Lovely City Hotel”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

My second visit and I was more impressed than the first - we went for a superior twin. The room was very spacious at the front of the hotel on a high floor. Lovely bathroom, quality linen and very comfortable bed, room came with a mini fridge which was a bonus.
Breakfast was really lovely - lots to choose from and quality ingredients.
Service was brilliant - low key, efficient and friendly.
Pool was fine - but very hot and steamy!
Location is excellent right next to the tourist centre....go down the slope off the road next to the hotel and you are in the harbour area.
Also there is free weekend parking in the road next to the hotel....so don't waste money in carparks on Sat/Sun
I think this is the best Bristol city hotel I have stayed in so far!

Room Tip: Go for a more expensive room on the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisySalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion E, Front Office Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Bristol Holland House. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel& Spa.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    1,032
    476
    149
    88
See reviews for
401
938
133
574
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel is a very short distance from the city centre, to its south, but it is a short walk to many of the city’s main attractions and restaurants. It is adjacent to some large concrete blocks of public housing which significantly detracts from the area.

I have stayed in the hotel a number of times and its quality is quality... it aims to be a good 4-Star but it has settled into the overnight bus trade and this makes it difficult to develop any character or quality in the hotel. The rooms are comfortable but moderate in size and facilities, the breakfast is very average and the cleaning services need improving.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon555-2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion E, Front Office Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa. Please accept my apologies for the issues you highlighted. These points will be addressed with the Departmental Managers concerned.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be more pleasant than the previous ones.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This hotel is in a good location. The reception staff were very friendly, knowledgable and welcoming. One gentleman recommended M-Shed and SS Great Britain, giving us directions. It was a great recommendation as M-Shed had a Wallace and Gromit exhibition which totally entranced our eight year old.
The breakfasts were excellent and the room we had was fine for the three of us.
I can't comment on the parking charges but I think it's worth it just to leave the car and explore Bristol on foot.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion E, Front Office Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel &Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I am happy our colleague at reception has helped to make your stay in Bristol interesting for you and your family.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel& Spa.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I stayed here for one night while I was attending a conference. Staff were friendly and efficient. I arrived a bit early and was able to put my luggage in my room straight away. Room was large, well equipped and comfortable. The three window design added to the spacious feel. Facilities were good. Nice shower and tv. Free wifi was a bonus. Although breakfast time was busy, there was plenty of food and a very good choice. Would recommend for anybody visiting Bristol. It is convenient, but not in the busiest areas of the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion E, Front Office Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel &Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night as part of a hen party, check in was very quick, our room was very clean and well equipt.

The breakfast food was very nice and fresh but the restaurant was extremely busy and there was few staff around to assist people.

I didn't use the pool but those who did were pleased with the facilities

I would definitely stay here again, it's really central and was good value.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion E, Front Office Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Bristol Holland House. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

I came as part of a hen party. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food in the was very good. I didn't stay at the hotel but the rooms were clean stylist. Unfortunately the facial that I had in the spa gave me a headache and doesn't sound like it was done correctly.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion E, Front Office Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa. Please accept my apologies for the issues you highlighted. These points will be addressed with the Departmental Managers concerned.
At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us.
I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Bristol Holland House and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
Level Contributor
571 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The hotel is well situated for getting around Bristol, but if you arrive by car be warned car parking is very limited. Surprisingly the smaller of their two car parks often is easier to use.
Rooms were fine and well cleaned.
Corridor outside of room a little musty.
Rest of public areas good.
Bar area was fine but needs a better selection of beers.
Breakfast was below par, over cooked.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion E, Front Office Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Bristol Holland House. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Please note that our rooms are now being refurbished, which should solve the issues mentioned in your feedback
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,514 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Property: Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Address: Redcliff Hill, Bristol BS1 6SQ, England (Formerly Mercure Holland House Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#13 Business Hotel in Bristol
#13 Family Hotel in Bristol
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of the 4 star Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa which is perfectly placed for business or leisure, be it a family break, city getaway or a fun filled adventure in this cosmopolitan metropolis. All 275 rooms are contemporary and well appointed bedrooms with large beds. The Urban Bar & Kitchen offers a vibrant and contemporary atmosphere with a fantastic open plan dining facility. Using the finest local produce, you can expect urban food, unsung heroes along with some guilty pleasures to satisfy your appetite. For ultimate relaxation and indulgence why not visit the Spa which offers various treatments, a large indoor heated pool and fitness suite. An affordable yet stylish and luxury hotel that delivers and will ensure your stay is memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Bristol Hotel Bristol
Mercure Holland Hotel Bristol
Accor Holland Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing