We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty, cosy and good value!”
Review of Juniper Restaurant - CLOSED

Juniper Restaurant
Price range: US$30 - US$65
Cuisines: European, French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: From the moment you step inside our Bristol restaurant our dedicated team will ensure that you feel at home by providing impeccable and attentive service with a selection of dishes for everyone. Juniper is about celebrating with partners, friends and family in a relaxed and cosy dining environment. Head chef Nick Kleiner takes his inspiration from contemporary eclectic menus that specialise in balancing bold and fresh flavours. Using well-sourced seasonal produce is also vital to Nick and he strongly believes in supporting local food suppliers regularly. Since we opened over twelve years ago in the heart of the Cotham / Kingsdown, our restaurant has been continuously recognised in the Bristol food world. For two years running now we are award winning, holding an AA Rosette.
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Tasty, cosy and good value!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We visited for a romantic meal for two for my Birthday, and opted for the tasting menu which gave us a smaller experience of the larger dishes served.

The service was very friendly although rarely there when you needed it, requiring a few strolls to the bar to get their attention (it felt that they needed to employ more staff), but otherwise the food was promptly served course after course. We ordered a bottle of wine as well, which was very reasonably priced for a Clifton restaurant.

Overall, very impressed and we look forward to returning to order up some full-size portions of our favourites from the tasting menu!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sergeant1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    82
    40
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Tasting Menu”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This was our first visit to Juniper and we took advantage of a groupon offer of a 6 course tasting menu. When we got to the restaurant we were given a menu that showed five courses rather than six and I began to worry that all might not be as I'd hoped. This fear was totally allayed by a fab meal- the five courses were super filling and delicious.

There was one pescatarian and one meat eater in our partnership and the waitress couldn't have been more helpful. She checked with the chef and came back to make sure the Pesci was happy with the selections. Our meal consisted of:

King prawns with coconut, lime and sesame served with rice. Delicious. Couldn't fault it. We agreed we'd happily have another couple of portions as a main!

Chicken liver terrine with brioche and pear chutney for the meat eater. This course was the one he least liked the sound of but thought it was beautifully executed and would certainly order it again.

Halloumi with chickpea and red onion chutney for the Pesci. The chef clearly knows what he or she is doing as the chutney really complimented the halloumi and turned this simple sounding dish into something really very moreish.

Hake - served with chorizo, pesto and mushroom cream for the meat eater and with creme fraiche and chive sauce and samphire for the Pesci. Yummy!

Lamb with dauphinoise potato, spring vegetables and lamb jus - this portion was much bigger than tasting size...more of a main course. The meat eater thought it was fabulous and commented on how creamy and melt in the mouth the dauphinoise was. The spring vegetables turned out to be asparagus , broccoli and peas in a creamy sauce which the Pesci was rather envious of!

Wild mushroom risotto for the pesci- so often risotto is offered as a veggie course and it can be disappointing but the risotto at Juniper was lovely it was packed with wild mushrooms and had a fantastic consistency.

Almond pudding with salted butterscotch sauce. Neither person is a big pudding eater but we enjoyed the flavours of this dessert. It was a lovely way to finish our meal although neither of us could finish as we were so full. We agreed that five courses served as they were was far better than six.

Service at Juniper is laid back and unfussy. If you are looking for a 'posh' fawning restaurant then Juniper may not be the choice for you but if you are looking for great food, packed with flavour and a relaxed, neighbourhood restaurant feel then get thee to Juniper!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DameJoolsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Excellent Tasting Menu”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

As in my previous reviews of this restaurant - the chef feeds you the meal of his or her choosing, you sit back and enjoy it. This was a five course tasting menu. No choice, just five dishes which they want you to enjoy. We did.

The first starter was King Prawns, coconut rice, sesame and lime. absolutely delicious, although I had to take the coconut on trust. Perhaps it was thrown from far away?

Then we had smooth chicken liver pâté with cognac terrine, soda bread and pear chutney. The menu said brioche but the waitress came round and said there had been a change. Terrine or pâté? I've never been entirely sure of the difference, and it looks like the chef was covering all options. It was runnier than I would have expected, but yummy too.

The menu promised fillet of salmon (though in fact they gave us hake) beetroot pickle, chive creme fraiche. I'm not wildly keen on beetroot, but this was OK; on of my companions, not a great fish lover, declared afterwards that this one was his favourite dish.

The main course was a small rectangle of sirloin of beef, sitting on a bourguignon of shin. Shin of beef, I'm pretty certain, slowly cooked for a long time until it was melting away under the rare sirloin. It came with potatoes dauphinoise, and spring vegetables (mangetouts and asparagus). Everything was excellent.

For dessert they gave us warm apple and almond pudding, with salted butterscotch. I'm not very keen on desserts, especially not spongey ones. This was fine if you like that sort of thing.

Overall? five stars. I like the place, the food is great although with no choice you sometimes get a dish which you wouldn't choose for yourself. Service was efficient and friendly, never rushed although the place was pretty full.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacw2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had the tasting menu and could not fault it. Each course was beautifully presented and delicious - the only (minor) criticism was that there wasn't quite enough of a gap between courses - could have done with more time to savour each one. I'd certainly recommend this place if you're looking for somewhere new to try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norman003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Went to this restaurant for my birthday as someone had given me a voucher. The voucher states it has a value of £90 but £45 was paid. It was for a 6 course tasting meal which when we arrived was a 5 course menu and it was on offer for £24 pp which was meant to be a 50% saving. Had I paid even the half price cost i thought the meal and service was poor. The main course was sirloin steak which was so tough we couldn't eat it. On informing the waitress she just said oh i will inform the chef. No offer of a replacement. The sweet was an apple and almond sponge which was burnt on one side and very little butterscotch sauce. I appreciate we had a voucher but i would have thought this would encourage the staff would want you to have a good experience so that you would return and encourage others to visit. I will never return and would not recommend it. Like others have said the way they add a service charge to the cost of the meal before any voucher total is deducted is not explained anywhere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahw20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Juniper Restaurant also viewed

Bristol, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing