We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”

The Bridge Cafe @ The Avon Gorge Hotel
Ranked #917 of 1,615 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: US$0 - US$45
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A disappointing experience. The place is chaotic, with only 4 diners to look after our waitress was too busy doing other chores to attend to the tea room, I had to go in search of her several times. Sarnies and scones are obviously made well in advance rather than to order. Tea didn't come with hot water - that was charged at an extra cost of £1.75. Cake was good though. The view across the gorge and up to the Clifton Suspension Bridge I'm sure is all that pulls the punters in.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CousinBelloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    111
    71
    40
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful View”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Their 3 course lunch special is well worth it. Only 3 choices but the food was cooked and served well. Superb views over the Avon as you sit on the terrace. On a sunny day nothing can be better.
Would visit again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank June A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quirky views at the Cafe”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Fabulous afternoon tea with amazing views. Floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Clifton Bridge. REasonably priced afternoon tea. Can sit outside on the terrace weather permitting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnomalousLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“This place has really gone down hill”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Despite the lovely view I was shocked how awful the service here is and how the prices do not reflect the quality of the place. We sat down and then had to queue three times for separate things (you can't order a tea in the same place as food and ice-cream somewhere else!!). They wouldn't bring our tea to the table so one of our party had to do our own waiting at table. The wait for the food which was only tea and scones was ridiculous.

Apart from that, the floor of the terrace was filthy with broken glass, dog ends and obviously not regularly or adequately cleaned.

The view is gorgeous but unless they improve the service and cleanliness I would never go back and I will tell my friends the same.

Awful!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chandramoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“City break”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great view of the suspension bridge. Very large outside area. Staff friendly. Very popular. Would use again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bridge Cafe @ The Avon Gorge Hotel also viewed

 

Been to The Bridge Cafe @ The Avon Gorge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing