We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty, tasty, very, very, tasty!”
Review of Assilah Bistro

Assilah Bistro
Ranked #114 of 1,623 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are a family run authentic moroccan bistro on the wells road between totterdown and knowle. Established 14 years ago we operate on a B.Y.O basis allowing the customer to bring the tipple of their choice. We use traditional moroccan recipes from tagines to meshwi and relax in the moroccan bedouin seating or the more traditional bistro seating. We can cater for large groups and belly dancing can be arranged. So come and enjoy a taste of morocco in Bristol. AS WITH ALL TRADITIONAL MOROCCAN RECIPES TAGINES DO TAKE A WHILE TO COOK SO WE WOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED FAST FOOD.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty, tasty, very, very, tasty!”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We have been coming to Assilah ever since we moved in near by, and it has never failed to impress us, the atmosphere is warm and friendly, the decor makes you forget your in Bristol and gives you a glimpse of the charm of Morocco... & the food as mentioned in my title is tasty- well its very, very tasty- the owner and her chef husband make you feel at home and aim to please. BYO is an added bonus and the food prices are great. Could not ask for more and its so close to home its like food heaven on your doorstep!
Go there for your next night out- you will not regret it, for romance or a night out with friends this place certainly ticks all the boxes....yummy....

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frankipanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    90
    22
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cracking neighbourhood BYO”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We have been regular visitors for over 6 years....always a warm welcome with authentic & tasty food, plenty of veggie options and all so reasonably priced. Friendly service, great decor and a BYO alcohol policy so the bill is not astronomical at the end. Particular favourites are the poussin or djibnah bake, my mouth is watering just typing this! Would recommend.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katiemook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic restaurant”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We had a lovely evening at this authentic restaurant. The decor is lovely....a feel of real Morocco! The food was very authentic and absolutely delicious, and all at a reasonable price. The proprietor made us feel very welcome and the whole environment was really friendly and cosy....would definitely recommend .....you won' regret it!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolandRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique, friendly and fab value”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We were regulars before moving away 3 years ago. Last night was our first meal in Assialh for ages and it did not disappoint: Food was lovely (sardines are amazing), service as friendly as ever and the atmosphere was warm and lively. Assilah is unique and is everything you want from a local restaurant. We are so pleased to see them still as busy as ever they were and we will be back again very soon. Love it!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keri140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Womens Institute thumbs up”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We rebooked a get together with our WI group as several ladies could not make our last visit, both visits were excellent, we were greeted by the owner, nothing was too much trouble, the food was very well presented and was served promptly, was exciting and delicious, and did not break the bank. The Stockwood and Knowle W I groups would recommend to our friends and family.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sally p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Assilah Bistro also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Been to Assilah Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing