We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much to choose from”
Review of Porto Lounge

Porto Lounge
Ranked #366 of 1,613 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast
Description: Porto Lounge is an informal, neighbourhood food led cafe/bar open all-day everyday where families, friends, and locals can come for a coffee, a drink, or something to eat in a relaxed comfortable environment. We also welcome well behaved pooches!
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So much to choose from”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

There is an amazingly extensive menu, so large it's tricky to decide what you want, it all sounds amazing! The atmosphere is great, think this is to do with the turn up find a seat and sit with strangers.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JackieorrBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto l, General Manager at Porto Lounge, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your review, we're always glad to hear our customer's opinions.

We hope you're looking forward to working your way through our varied menu. If you ever need any help or advice choosing, just ask one of our friendly staff members who will happily help you narrow it down and choose something delicious!

Kind Regards,
The Porto Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    71
    22
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Relaxed lunch”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A very pleasant relaxed lunch with a friend. Hadn't visited for some time so was surprised to see the blackboard has gone to be replaced by prints of all descriptions. Took our time over ordering but there was no feeling of being rushed. Nice atmosphere, friendly staff and good food. A definite plus is the air-con - it's very hot today.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank briztime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto l, General Manager at Porto Lounge, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi,

Thanks so much for posting your review. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Next time you're in try one of our home made lemonades, even more cooling than air conditioning!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
The Porto Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darvel, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Good coffee but food needs improvement. Nice atmosphere.”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I regularly come "up country" to Bristol, as I have friends in the area.
I came here 5 years ago or so and had a lovely lunch.
Thought I'd revisit with anticipation......
The place was pretty busy with a large group of students, which gave the place a nice buzz.
The coffee (Americano with hot milk on the side) was hot and full-flavoured. My pet hate is the lukewarm coffee they seem to serve in Starbucks - YEUGH!!!!
Anyway, I had the Bubble & Squeak. My mouth was watering!!!
The food, in my humble opinion was not hot enough. The Bubble & Squeak was too moist - it needs a crispiness to the outside, it also had carrots in it?? Not come across that before. The bacon was good, not salty and the egg was nice and runny.
I could have made it better myself, which, in my mind, defeats the object of dining out. Marks & Spencer do a lovely B and S that is pretty darn perfect.
This is a shame. The place has great potential and what seems, a loyal, local following.
Chef, take note.
Thanks for reading.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RumblesBird04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto l, Manager at Porto Lounge, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thanks so much for giving us your feedback on your last visit. We always strive to maintain high standards and make improvements wherever possible.

We will be sure to pass on your comments about the bubble and squeak to our executive chef who designs all the dishes on our menu. If you're ever in Porto and you're not particularly enjoying whatever it is you are having, just let a member of staff know and we'll happily change it for something else.

So glad you enjoyed your coffee, we all put a lot of love into our cups of coffee!

Hope to see you again when you're next up this way.

Kind regards,
The Porto Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food, shame about the staff”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I've regularly eaten in the Porto Lounge and always enjoyed it's atmosphere and it's always bbeen great for my children, family friendly. Recently the restaurant has been tweeked, in a strange, can't put my finger on it style, a mix of 1970's pictures and vintage style bits. The board has gone, for the best I think, but the choice has dwindled, and it's now more expensive. Also a bit of customer service training from the woman behind the bar wouldn't go a Miss, quite rude and not very friendly. I will visit again, but wont be expecting miracles

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saraBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto l, Manager at Porto Lounge, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback on our Lounge, all feedback is greatly received.

The current rise in our prices have been due to suppliers increasing their prices, but I will be sure to pass on your comments to our executive chef who designs the menu.

We have also had a big shake up in staff very recently, taking care to hire some really lovely, bubbly people who hopefully you as customers will love just as much as we do!

If you have any further feedback we'd be happy to have a chat with you when you're next in Porto or you can pop any more thoughts in an email to us at porto@thelounges.co.uk

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
The Porto Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“very cool place”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Nice food selection, fast service very atmospheric. this is one of this places that you don'd want to get out as is very relaxing and confortable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yabel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto l, Manager at Porto Lounge, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review on Porto Lounge.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We love everyone to feel relaxed and enjoy their time here so stay as long as you like!

Look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
The Porto Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porto Lounge also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Been to Porto Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing