We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday breakfast”
Review of Porto Lounge

Porto Lounge
Ranked #347 of 1,651 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Description: Porto Lounge is an informal, neighbourhood food led cafe/bar open all-day everyday where families, friends, and locals can come for a coffee, a drink, or something to eat in a relaxed comfortable environment. We also welcome well behaved pooches!
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Our daughter took us here for brunch today, I was really impressed with the variety on the menu, a lovely breakfast local and relaxed surroundings

Thank SALG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto l, Manager at Porto Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Customer,

First of all we are very pleased you and your family enjoyed your visit to Porto and look forward to seeing you again.

Secondly thank you for the nice review.

Team Porto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 131 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

As Tinto Lounge on Gloucester Road is one of my favourite coffee houses, with the Group Lounge being a close second, it was an easy decision to stop and have breakfast at Porto Lounge. Although it is considerably smaller than Tintos, the branding is identical.

I accept that the restaurant was busy, but I suspect no-more so than most Saturday mornings and there were a number of tables unoccupied. Ordering was quick and easy. However we waited 12 minutes for our pots of tea and 37 minutes for cold toast and a lukewarm bacon sandwich.

To be fair when the staff cleared our plates and asked how our meal was she did offer free drinks, but we didn't have time or want to wait around to be further disappointed. Not good enough Porto Lounge!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PandoraPistis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto l, Manager at Porto Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Customer,

May I first apologise for your bad experience recently at Porto. No one likes cold toast or luke warm bacon! The weekend that you visited us we had some broken heat lamps in the kitchen which affected both service times and our ability to keep food piping hot and unfortunately toast and bacon are the two things that like to go cold very quickly! But this should have been checked by chef before they were taken to your table, so I'm very sorry that in your case it wasn't.

I'm also sorry that you had to wait a little longer for your teas. We were indeed very busy at the time you ordered them and all hot drinks are made in order of when they were ordered but we always work hard to get all hot drinks made and brought to table as quickly as we can.

We hope this hasn't put you off returning to give us another try, especially now our heat lamps have been fixed!

Kind Regards,
The Porto Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have visited this cafe/bar many times over the past year and have not once been disappointed. The atmosphere is very warm, cosy, exactly what you want while you're sat relaxing and eating a meal. The breakfast was delicious, well cooked and presented to a high standard. Also my friends and I went for an evening meal here last week. We ordered the tapas, which was simple yet full of flavour, plenty to choose from and for a very reasonable price (tapas tuesday offer). I definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a friendly environment, great food and an all round good time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KCGWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto l, Manager at Porto Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you for the taking the time to say some great things about us, it's always nice to know we're loved! It's also good to hear that we consistently make our loyal regulars happy when they visit.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards,
The Porto Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Very very loud and ghastly music. Informed by offhand manager that it was company policy to deafen customers. Had to ask to have table cleared.

Had to bellow to have a conversation.

Food quite good but wont be returning

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto l, Manager at Porto Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Customer,

So sorry you experienced a volume of music louder to the norm on your last visit. We had just had lots of tables leave after a busy spell in which the music had been turned up to match the volume of voices within the bar. The music was turned down shortly afterwards to match the new level of business and empty tables were tended to so I am sorry that we had missed yours. We have music playing throughout the day and night to help create that cosy ambiance that our regular customers love so much but I am sorry if it was not to your liking.

I do hope you do return to us where we will be happy to help seat you in a quieter corner away from the music speakers.

Kind regards,
The Porto Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

There is an amazingly extensive menu, so large it's tricky to decide what you want, it all sounds amazing! The atmosphere is great, think this is to do with the turn up find a seat and sit with strangers.

Thank JackieorrBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto l, General Manager at Porto Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your review, we're always glad to hear our customer's opinions.

We hope you're looking forward to working your way through our varied menu. If you ever need any help or advice choosing, just ask one of our friendly staff members who will happily help you narrow it down and choose something delicious!

Kind Regards,
The Porto Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porto Lounge also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Been to Porto Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing