We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent base in Bristol”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bristol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
9 Princes Buildings
Ranked #7 of 53 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This is a lovely comfortable, elegant, friendly B&B in a superb location in Clifton village with views over Clifton suspension bridge and the Avon Gorge. Take an evening stroll into Clifton with so many fabulous restaurants to choose from, and then amble back taking a walk over the suspension bridge with its fantastic views. Retire to your spacious bedroom with very comfortable bed and a view over the Gorge and sleep like a top. Awake for one of the best breakfasts you will ever have in a hotel or B&B. Simon knows how to look after you. Why would you want to stay anywhere else in this terrific city.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank mjjaegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for 9 Princes Buildings
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

My friends and I stayed here for a couple of nights for a wedding. We'd booked a twin room and a double. The double was on the 2nd floor and had lovely views of the river and a large ensuite. The twin was on the basement, and was more of suite than a room as we had our own stair well and separate huge bathroom! It initially smelt a little musty when we first arrived but this was easily sorted out by opening the sash window that looked out into the beautifully kept garden. On arrival, we found two glasses of sherry, some peanuts and slices of cake to go with the selection of teas and coffee which were also available. There were plenty of supplies in the bathroom as well. Breakfast was good with fruit salad and cereal available to start, followed by a cooked breakfast out of a choice of three: smoked salmon and scrambled eggs; full english or american pancakes with bacon and maple syrup, plus a plentiful supply of toast. The owners had good knowledge of the local area and recommended a nice pizza restaurant nearby. Location was good- parking can be tricky but we saw at least two weddings in the large hotel two doors down which may explain things! We were walking distance to the main clifton village shopping area where you can find restarants, bars, pubs and coffee shops. Lovely stay overall!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WhichHotelToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed here for a wedding in Bristol and from the moment we stepped through the door we were made to feel welcome. We were a earlier than we had advised so were shown through to a beautiful drawing room for refreshments as our room was prepared. We had a room on the top floor and the views across the gorge were breathtaking, and the sherry and nuts were a great touch. In the morning the breakfast was fantastic. All-in-all a wonderful place to stay which we will be happily recommending to others.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have breath-taking views
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimOstle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Wonderful B&B overlooking the Clifton Suspension Bridge. Warm welcoming glass of sherry and cashew nuts. Great hosts and very comfortable room and ensuite facilities with everything you need.Try the Primrose Cafe in Clifton Village for dinner - great atmosphere

Room Tip: Ask for Ginny's Room which has a great view of the gorge
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Charming B&B, perfectly situated for exploring the best parts of Bristol. Stayed in one of the upper rooms with a view out over the garden/Avon Gorge. Very close to the Clifton Suspension Bridge and next door to a pretty convenient pub that overlooks the bridge. Owners are very attentive and friendly. Breakfast was top rate. Great place!

Room Tip: The lower floors overlook the garden (which is beautiful) but I prefer a higher up room for the view...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sicboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here, we had the basement room with a nice view of the beautiful garden and huge bathroom. The room was a good size and had everything we needed, along with a glass of sherry, nuts and a delicious slice of cake. Although the decor is beautifully old fashioned, the bedding was good quality and so comfortable. There is no traffic noise and the shutters kept out the light, which ensured a great nights sleep. The breakfast was two courses and a wide selection - all very delicious and served in the gorgeous dining room.
There are really good shops, restaurants and pubs locally, we were so pleased with the excellent surroundings. We walked into Bristol town fairly easily and caught the bus back, which stops a short way from the B&B. We chose to eat locally both nights and appreciated the recommendations from Joanna and Simon.
I would recommend this as a really good B&B to stay when in Bristol.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Wonderful B&B - luxurious in a slightly down at heel comfortable way. Owners look after you well, with sherry and nuts in the room and a delicious breakfast. The views from the back of the house are incredible - ask for a room with a view if you can.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view! Also some rooms have only showers but others have baths.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redfish66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.0 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#34 of 39 in Bristol
968 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 39 in Bristol
546 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 39 in Bristol
434 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 Princes Buildings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Princes Buildings

Address: 9 Princes_ Buildings | Clifton, Bristol BS8 4LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range: £48 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
9 Princes Buildings Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing