We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“acceptable accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Aylesbury
Reviewed 22 October 2007

I stayed in the Holiday Inn for two nights wihle I did training in the town centre.

My first choice had been the Premier Travel Inn but I couldn't get into the accommodation so the next best choice for a hotel that offered a place to put my head at night without too many frills.

And it certainly did that! The room was large and comfortable. (The bed was particularly comfortable.) The shower was a bit disappointing as it was either cold or very hot and getting a reasonable temperature to shower in was difficult. The doors needed to be slammed to be shut which was noisy. (I also got to hear the television from the next room until midnight on one of the nights.)

The breakfast was nothing fancy but certainly adequate. Dinner was taken on one of the evenings. It was pleasant but expensive and there wasn't a lot of choice.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2007

As others have described, the plumbing is still very quirky. No-one would accept it domestically. Apart from the shower nonsense, the hot water is over-hot and difficult to regulate. At the basin the water pressure is deceiving; it begins slowly then soaks you. I would guess and hope that the bathrooms are getting close to renovation to resolve these issues.
Now for the positives:
I had a very good internet deal with advanced booking.
Check-in and check-out were prompt and efficient.
The room was huge and tastefully furnished.
The hairdryer worked efficiently (a rarity in most hotels!).
Breakfast was excellent. The 'English' breakfast was freshly cooked, and there was a good choice of other items. Tea and coffee were freshly served at the table and the service was friendly and efficient.
The hotel is not difficult to find. On the A 413 there are signs to Watermead.
There is plenty of parking.
The hotel is very convenient for on overnight stay after events at the Riviera restaurant.
Despite the plumbing irritations, the hotel represented good value, hence my overall grading.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunny19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2006

I stayed here for one night on business and wasn't expecting it to be anything special having stayed in Holiday Inn's before.

Located just outside the town centre (a 10 min taxi ride / drive) this is a medium sized motel type hotel. It's in a quiet area and is fairly straightforward to get to although there are no road signs en route so consult a map!

The recepetion is quite small and pokey but the staff are friendly, efficient and attentive. The communal areas are smallish but look reasonably well kept. I didn't use the bar or restaurant so can't comment on food.

The room I stayed in was quite large and the furnishings (bed linen, curtains etc., were good. There was workspace and a small sofa in my room too. The bed was quite soft (a little too soft for my liking) but not uncomfortable.

On the downsides, the decorating was quite tatty with part finished painting on the wooden frames, window shelves and skirting. The heating seems to be from an electric wall mounted heater although it does seem to keep the room warmish.

The bathroom was tired, old fashioned fittings and slightly grubby looking. The hot water system is odd and getting the shower working takes some doing involving turning various taps on and off (it is explained in the room).

Overall, it's probably only ever going to be a business users hotel, I certainly wouldn't recommend it to couples looking for a romantic break. It could do with some proper finishing touches by the decorators and a general updating. It's also not a particularly cheap place to stay, the advertised room rate is over £100 although you can get good rates on the internet.

I probably wouldn't stay there again but only because there are better alternatives.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sparkdog15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2005

The hotel is a little out of town and not easy to find. The seperate leisure centre is privately run and I was unable to get an ealy evening swim due to classes in the pool. My room was the largest I have ever had at this level of hotel. It was let down by the complicated method of turning on the shower - bath taps on, adjust shower lever, taps off, shower
I did not use the restaurant as the Horse and Jockey with the Travel Inn 2 minutes away was so good.

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mr_Cellophane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2005

Clean hotel, good sized room. But it is a bit like a motel really their photo is a deceptive. As the taxi driver put 'more like holiday in forecourt'. The receptions areas and bar etc are a bit pokey. Still, you can get a good rate off the net.

4  Thank RichTMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank allesgut0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C M, General Manager at Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: エレベーターが無いので荷物が多い場合は1階がおすすめです。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 593take
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylesbury
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#10 of 16 in Aylesbury
768 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Aylesbury Hotel
5.0 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Magnolia Park Hotel, Golf and Country Club
9.6 mi away
De Vere Horwood Estate
De Vere Horwood Estate
#1 of 1 in Little Horwood
1,435 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury

Address: Best Western Garden Court 45 Buckingham Road | Watermead, Aylesbury HP19 9PT, England (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Aylesbury
Price Range: £47 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Garden Court Aylesbury, a conveniently located 40 bedroom hotel in a suburban location within easy reach of the M25, A41, M1 and M40 for business and leisure travelers alike. The hotel is within easy reach of an abundance of historic sights including Waddesdon Manor, Hartwell House and Blenheim Palace with places of interest such as Silverstone Race Circuit, Whipsnade Zoo and the Roald Dahl Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Garden Court Hotel Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Aylesbury Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing