We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Garden Court Aylesbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Garden Court Aylesbury
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Aylesbury
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not so bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Not the freshest of hotels, but the staff were very friendly, the room (20) was big and clean with sofa, table etc and it was quiet.….that's all I ask for....the bar looked a bit B&B, but as I didn't eat or drink in it I can't comment!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank The_Canal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Court Aylesbury, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear The_Canal,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    58
    77
    62
    35
See reviews for
39
69
21
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip mid November 2013. The hotel itself is a bit tired but the staff offer a warm welcome. The bar/restaurant has to be seen to be believed ... reminiscent of someone's front room (complete with 70s bar) it lacks atmosphere and space. The food on offer is very limited but on positive side it was reasonably priced.

The hotel internet (provided by Swisscom) was incredibly unreliable.

As a platinum member I did get a good welcome and the option of 500 points or a free drink but this hotel sadly lacks the Holiday Inn feel and it's about time that IHG looked at this brand.

OK if you are looking for a bed for the night. Clean and tidy but nothing to write home about.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CurlyEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Court Aylesbury, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear CurlyEric,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that you found our rooms clean and apologize for the inconvenience the internet may have caused. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aylesbury hotels

Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Booked this Holiday Inn for a one night stay with girlfriend as going to a concert in the town. We found all ok for price which seems to vary in accordance to how far in advance you book. In short what you see is what you get and room was on chilly side but comfortable and bar/restaurant reminded us of TV series crossroads, so in need of serious update. Receptionist was charming and helpful and if had wanted could have used gym/pool which in a separate building a couple of minutes away.
Our only grip was breakfast, which was twice the price you would expect to pay for the same food which was not even adequate in terms of quality or quantity and for this better to go down the road for a fry up. So for a one night stay good value if booked in advance and leave out breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Court Aylesbury, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Richard P,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words for the staff. On the other hand, I'm sorry your stay was negatively affected by the breakfast selections. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

As a Platinum Priority Club member, I've stayed at most of the IHG brands over the years, but I can't recall staying at a Garden Court property in the UK before. I'm not really sure where they fit in the bigger scheme of things or what their unique proposition is, but this hotel seemed to offer a basic level of accommodation and with friendly service. I believe there is only one category of room here, so there was no scope for my usual upgrade, though I did receive a voucher for the now customary 500 bonus points.

My room was basic with - unusually - all free-standing furniture, which did look dated. It was a large room though. The high wall-mounted heater was OK. Seemed to work well at 25c (maybe too well), but if you turned it down to 24c, it seemed to go off for a long time.

The curtain could have been wider, as it barely stretched beyond the sides of the window space.

I was disappointed to see that there was only ONE usable power socket. Given the modern day traveller usually carries a number of devices with them, unless you were prepared to unplug the fridge (aka empty mini bar) or TV, then you were stuck.

The bathroom was a good size, though needed updating. It was even missing the now standard IHG Group curved shower rail. The hot water was scalding and the water pressure very strong. It appeared that my room had its own hot water boiler. It was sometimes difficult to regulate the temperature through the shower, so parents might be well advised to supervise young children. The heated towel rail (which is controlled manually) was set close to the floor and it was easy to brush against this, which I unfortunately did, resulting in a small scalding. Again, families might want to ensure the rail is turned off.

The "restaurant/bar"/breakfast room is tiny. I counted about 12 tables (for a hotel with c. 40 rooms). The cold buffet was laid out on a table in front of the bar and for the hot English breakfast choices, they took your order and cooked this for you. This did mean the portion sizes were their choice not yours, though for those on a diet, that might not be such a bad thing.

As I'm relocating to the area, I will no doubt stay here again - and at their sister Holiday Inn Aylesbury.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritTraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Court Aylesbury, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear BritTraveller68,

We certainly appreciate your feedback about your stay and thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum Member. Please accept my apologies if this visit was not 100% satisfactory due to the condition of the room and if the restaurant ambiance was not completely to your liking. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon and make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Nice hotel with good facilities, breakfast etc. Plenty of space for free car parking. Good location near Watermead Lake which is a nice place to go for a walk in the morning. Price for stay was reasonable for the bank holiday weekend and all other hotels in the area were fully booked. Very short drive from Aylesbury centre and also quite close to Waddesdon Manor. Recommended.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tutululupinju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Found hotel on booking.com and booked a room for a Saturday night for £99 only to find out the next morning that same room was available for £69. Desk manager/ receptionist was rude & unsympathetic when I pointed the variance out. Booking.com were great - eventually - and refunded the difference after a bit of to & froing by email. I have since seen the room advertised for £45 for a week night & notice that many guests have complained about how shabby & cheesy the place is and not worth even this much. Frankly, I agree except that the staff in the very small dining/ breakfast room were the one bright note and provided a delicious, nicely-served breakfast quickly & cheerfully totally belying the poor attitude on display on th the reption desk

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DerekJones330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Court Aylesbury, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear DerekJones330,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Budget Hotel, Good and friendly staff, Rooms are very spacious,Quiet Location though it is not afar from Aylesbury City centre.

The accompanying Reflexions Gym and Leisure facilities are quite handy for those interested in Sports and Fitness.

Cons :
Breakfast options are very limited.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shiv N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Court Aylesbury, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Shiv N,

Thank you for your comments on trip advisor regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Garden Court Aylesbury. I was pleased to read that you had a great stay with us. I will pass your comments onto the hotel team who will be delighted to hear this.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Best regards
Carlos Maio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aylesbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Aylesbury Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#7 of 11 in Aylesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
4.8 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
5.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Garden Court Aylesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Garden Court Aylesbury

Property: BEST WESTERN Garden Court Aylesbury
Address: Best Western Garden Court 45 Buckingham Road | Watermead, Aylesbury HP19 9PT, England (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Aylesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Garden Court Aylesbury 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Garden Court Aylesbury, a conveniently located 40 bedroom hotel in a suburban location within easy reach of the M25, A41, M1 and M40 for business and leisure travelers alike. The hotel is within easy reach of an abundance of historic sights including Waddesdon Manor, Hartwell House and Blenheim Palace with places of interest such as Silverstone Race Circuit, Whipsnade Zoo and the Roald Dahl Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Garden Court Aylesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Garden Court Hotel Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Aylesbury Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing