We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Dropping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Aylesbury
Reviewed 12 October 2008

I recently had occasion to stay at the Holiday Inn, Garden Court, Aylesbury.

For the benefit of your records, this took place on 11th and 12th March,2008.

I would like to point out that I have stayed in many hotels over the years and never had the need to voice my concerns in this manner until now. I would have to say that I am particularly unsatisfied with the standard of accommodation offered the Garden Court, Holiday Inn.

I travel on business and pleasure on a regular basis and use a variety of different hotels. I am quite a forgiving and tolerant individual and am quite prepared to take a realistic view of the occasional shortfall.

On this particular instance, I would have to say that things have gone beyond the occasional shortfall and the standard of accommodation experienced was far less than and well below the standard I would expect from The Holiday Inn.

In particular, on arrival, I was issued with room number 111, first impressions were that it was a reasonable room although the bath room fixtures did appear a little tired, this was not something that I would normally take issue with. As the evening progressed however and I prepared for evening meal things started to go wrong. Whilst using the shower, I became aware of a large number of what could only be described as small black coloured pieces of debris accumulating within the bath. These it transpired had come from the water system. Following this, whilst shaving at the sink, I experienced the same problem from the water there.

Given the amount of foreign objects in the water and having regard to possible health issues, I contacted the reception and asked for someone to come and see the problem. I have to say to be fair that the female receptionist arrived within minutes and having viewed the problem for her self, declared that there was no way she would be washing in that. A change of room was immediately offered and gladly accepted following which I was moved to room 205.

An immediate check of the water proved satisfactory and things seemed back on track. If that had been the only issue, I would not be writing this review, unfortunately there are more.

The following day I requested and was provided with an iron and ironing board. Yet again this was not a good experience, the cover on the board was badly stained and indeed had two tears in the material, the overall impression was not one of hygiene. More significantly was the state of the iron, it had some form of repair to the cable whereby insulating tape had been wrapped around the wires as they exited the main body of the iron, as if this was not bad enough, I could clearly see the live wire protruding from the edge of the insulating tape. I should point out that this wire still had insulation around it however this was the inner insulation which was already showing signs of wear and there is no way that this could be regarded as a safe piece of equipment.

This matter was brought to the attention of a member of the reception staff who stated she would remove it from the room.

In addition to the above, the fridge within my room (205) was inoperative and my experience at breakfast on the first morning found the service sub-standard and less than satisfactory.

In particular, on arrival within the dining room, which was not busy with only one other table in use, I was directed to a table which had clearly been used earlier and had not been reset. I was left to make up my place setting using a mixture of cutlery gathered from the other incomplete place settings at my table. Not good.

I have to say apart from the iron, any one of these I could have put up with but cumulatively this was a less than satisfactory experience.

I have photos of the iron if required.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FalkirkTravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2007

I stayed in the Holiday Inn for two nights wihle I did training in the town centre.

My first choice had been the Premier Travel Inn but I couldn't get into the accommodation so the next best choice for a hotel that offered a place to put my head at night without too many frills.

And it certainly did that! The room was large and comfortable. (The bed was particularly comfortable.) The shower was a bit disappointing as it was either cold or very hot and getting a reasonable temperature to shower in was difficult. The doors needed to be slammed to be shut which was noisy. (I also got to hear the television from the next room until midnight on one of the nights.)

The breakfast was nothing fancy but certainly adequate. Dinner was taken on one of the evenings. It was pleasant but expensive and there wasn't a lot of choice.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2007

As others have described, the plumbing is still very quirky. No-one would accept it domestically. Apart from the shower nonsense, the hot water is over-hot and difficult to regulate. At the basin the water pressure is deceiving; it begins slowly then soaks you. I would guess and hope that the bathrooms are getting close to renovation to resolve these issues.
Now for the positives:
I had a very good internet deal with advanced booking.
Check-in and check-out were prompt and efficient.
The room was huge and tastefully furnished.
The hairdryer worked efficiently (a rarity in most hotels!).
Breakfast was excellent. The 'English' breakfast was freshly cooked, and there was a good choice of other items. Tea and coffee were freshly served at the table and the service was friendly and efficient.
The hotel is not difficult to find. On the A 413 there are signs to Watermead.
There is plenty of parking.
The hotel is very convenient for on overnight stay after events at the Riviera restaurant.
Despite the plumbing irritations, the hotel represented good value, hence my overall grading.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunny19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2006

I stayed here for one night on business and wasn't expecting it to be anything special having stayed in Holiday Inn's before.

Located just outside the town centre (a 10 min taxi ride / drive) this is a medium sized motel type hotel. It's in a quiet area and is fairly straightforward to get to although there are no road signs en route so consult a map!

The recepetion is quite small and pokey but the staff are friendly, efficient and attentive. The communal areas are smallish but look reasonably well kept. I didn't use the bar or restaurant so can't comment on food.

The room I stayed in was quite large and the furnishings (bed linen, curtains etc., were good. There was workspace and a small sofa in my room too. The bed was quite soft (a little too soft for my liking) but not uncomfortable.

On the downsides, the decorating was quite tatty with part finished painting on the wooden frames, window shelves and skirting. The heating seems to be from an electric wall mounted heater although it does seem to keep the room warmish.

The bathroom was tired, old fashioned fittings and slightly grubby looking. The hot water system is odd and getting the shower working takes some doing involving turning various taps on and off (it is explained in the room).

Overall, it's probably only ever going to be a business users hotel, I certainly wouldn't recommend it to couples looking for a romantic break. It could do with some proper finishing touches by the decorators and a general updating. It's also not a particularly cheap place to stay, the advertised room rate is over £100 although you can get good rates on the internet.

I probably wouldn't stay there again but only because there are better alternatives.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sparkdog15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2005

The hotel is a little out of town and not easy to find. The seperate leisure centre is privately run and I was unable to get an ealy evening swim due to classes in the pool. My room was the largest I have ever had at this level of hotel. It was let down by the complicated method of turning on the shower - bath taps on, adjust shower lever, taps off, shower
I did not use the restaurant as the Horse and Jockey with the Travel Inn 2 minutes away was so good.

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mr_Cellophane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2005

Clean hotel, good sized room. But it is a bit like a motel really their photo is a deceptive. As the taxi driver put 'more like holiday in forecourt'. The receptions areas and bar etc are a bit pokey. Still, you can get a good rate off the net.

4  Thank RichTMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: エレベーターが無いので荷物が多い場合は1階がおすすめです。
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 593take
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylesbury
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#11 of 16 in Aylesbury
751 reviews
4.8 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
560 reviews
3.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
696 reviews
12.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Magnolia Park Hotel, Golf and Country Club
8.9 mi away
De Vere Horwood Estate
De Vere Horwood Estate
#1 of 1 in Little Horwood
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury

Address: Best Western Garden Court 45 Buckingham Road | Watermead, Aylesbury HP19 9PT, England (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Aylesbury
Price Range: £49 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Garden Court Aylesbury, a conveniently located 40 bedroom hotel in a suburban location within easy reach of the M25, A41, M1 and M40 for business and leisure travelers alike. The hotel is within easy reach of an abundance of historic sights including Waddesdon Manor, Hartwell House and Blenheim Palace with places of interest such as Silverstone Race Circuit, Whipsnade Zoo and the Roald Dahl Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Garden Court Hotel Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Aylesbury Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing