We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Aylesbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Aylesbury
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Had an excellent stay booked through superbreaks £120 for 2 nights easter weekend 2 people breakfast 2 days dinner 1 night bargain!!! We literally just went for a break headed to oxford one day. Your a £5 taxi ride from atelsbury town with waterside theatre and pubs all close togethor. Found reception so helpful when we arrived room pretty good and nicely laid out. Went to bar average prices (£7 for 2 drinks) stuart the barman was brilliant as were all the lads behind the bar that evening but stuart made a real effort with everyone! Breakfast was really really nice! Dinner was great from looks of prices not too bad either although the portions were huge! Way too much! But overall brilliant stay and would visit again without a doubt! Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dannhev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear dannhev

Thank you for your Trip Advisor response.

It is always most rewarding to learn when the hotel team have successfully provided a positive and memorable experience to our guests. Thanks for your great feedback and the call out for Stuart, he will be delighted.

Many thanks
Ian Rees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    293
    167
    63
    33
See reviews for
170
200
31
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Booked this hotel to meet up with friends we'd not seen for a while - I booked 3 rooms in all. Booked through Superbreak for £90 per room for 2 nights including dinner on the 1st night-bargain!

We & another group of friends were upgraded to Executive rooms without prompting - may have been the only family rooms left- the hotel was busy a nd several coach parties. Our other friends had a double(standard) fairly close by. The rooms were great:modern, spacious, bottles of water, mini fridge(fab), bath robes(not used) and sliding doors instead of blinds (good for blocking light) & a large screen TV with HD channels(great for kids). The only thing was there was an odd smell in our room from the start - it wasn't a big deal so didn't say anything and didn't spoil the stay. I slept better than at home! We were all quite far from Reception but that was fine for us but may be an issue if you have mobility issues.

As a Holday Inn regular the breakfast more than lived up to expectations:great hot choice including black pudding & the meat was decent quality in the bacon & sausages. Usual array of fruit, breads -croissant, pain au chocolat, pain au raisin,(regularly topped up), toast, cereals (they even got frosties for our 2nd day after none was avaiable the 1st morning). Staff in the Restaurant were particularly friendly although they were noticeably helpful and friendly in every part of the hotel- printed off instructions for Coombe Hill for an Easter Egg hunt & happily arranged taxis (£5 into Aylesbury).

We had an inclusive dinner on the 1st night. The choice and quality was slightly disappointing -not sure if we could have gone of the main menu -we all went off the buffet . Have had better choice at other holiday inns but it was acceptable. Drinks are pricey but what you would expect at a hotel.

The reception and lounge areas are modern, spacious and welcoming. We spent a fair bit of time in the lounge just chatting -sky sports on many screens if required.

We made full use of the leisure facilities;me & the kids had 4 sessions in the pool/hot tub over our stay. Not too busy, clean & nice changing rooms. There was also a sauna and steam room as well as a well equipped gym(I'm told).

All in all a great stay and would be happy to return. Recommend also the Roald Dahl gallery and both Coombe Hill and Wendover Woodsfor walks,

Room Tip: Rooms far away from Reception are quiet bt a long walk to the 'action'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dekkerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear dekkerb

Thank you for your Trip Advisor response.

I am delighted that we were able to provide your family a fabulous Easter weekend at the Holiday Inn Aylesbury.
It is always such a great pleasure to learn that the hotel team have once again delivered a great experience for our guests.

Hope to see you back

Many thanks
Ian Rees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

A nice hotel with very friendly staff and a good breakfast. Rooms were clean, although a little cold. All that spoiled my stay was the inadequate noise insulation in the room. I could hear the guest in the room above me stomping about into the early hours (like a baby elephant) and I could hear the guest next door showering at 5am, which is not ideal when you don't need to get up till 7am yourself. Would advise asking for a room on the second floor if possible.

Room Tip: higher floors may have less noise from other guest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear claire d

Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, great to learn that the hotel team were friendly and helped deliver a good experience, however most disappointed to see you were disturbed by other guests. This is not something we have typically had issues with in the past so I have asked my Engineering team to check that all the door seals are in good order to prevent any other of our guests to be disturbed in a similar manner.

Once again many thanks

Ian Rees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Visited the hotel for an afternoon to use the Spirit Health Club situated within it. My sister & I were booked in to use the pool & spa facilities, and to have facials. There was no-one on reception when we arrived and eventually a young man turned up. He was casual and uninformative almost to the point of being rude, and we practically had to beg to be pointed in the direction of the pool changing rooms, gym etc. We were provided with a towel each, which smelled horrible. No bathrobes or flip-flops (we have always had them at other spas). The pool was ok, the steam room had a nasty smell, the sauna was ok and the jaccuzzi was out of order. The therapist doing the facials was running late because she is the only one trying to look after all the customers booked in (we had discovered that the previous two or three therapists had left after only a very few weeks and frankly we weren't surprised as it must be a rotten place to work). She herself was very pleasant and did a very nice job, so at least that part of our visit was very nice. But my sister wasn't given fresh towels to cover herself on the couch when she followed me for the facial - shedidn't mind in the least using the same ones as I had used but I just wonder how many people had used them before me!
We will not be going there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rev_arderne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear rev_arderne

Thank you for your feedback further to your recent use of the Spirit Health Club.

I was most disappointed to read your review and whilst It was reassuring to learn that you were pleased with the treatments you received, and the service provided by the therapist, I am most concerned to see that so many basic aspects of your experience were unsatisfactory.

The experience you describe is far from typical, and therefore as a gesture of goodwill I would be delighted to offer you a complimentary treatment for you and your sister, here at the Spirit Health Club at the Holiday Inn Aylesbury.

Yours sincerely

Ian Rees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aylesbury hotels

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

did a weekend here with national holidays
the rooms where beautiful the meals where very nice and the service from the
staff was brilliant only problem for our party of 4 was the bar and its prices
i've stayed in many holiday inns in the us and this is on par with them
so i would use it again on a national holiday

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murdoch4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Murdoch4

Thank you for your feedback further to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Aylesbury.

It is always such a pleasure to learn when we have delighted our guests, and especially due to the service delivery of our team.

I shall have great pleasure in sharing your feedback with my team.

Many thanks
Ian Rees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

The hotel is easily accessible by road (A41 going south from Aylesbury) but is out-of-the-way for both local transportation and amenities. The town centre and railway station are a 15-20 minute taxi ride away so a car is likely to be convenient. Parking is adequate and inclusive.

The hotel itself is well appointed with the expected leisure suite, bar, restaraunt and so on. The bar regularly shows Sky Sports (for the football fanatics!) and has a pleasant ambience. Having stayed a number of times, food has been a little variably in quality on occasion.

Service is very good by UK standards and the staff seem keen throughout the hotel, but particularly on reception.

The rooms are fine and come with the usual array of facilities e.g. iron board, kettle, tv (c. 20 free-to-air channels) and so on. Disappointingly, wifi is not free - indeed is pretty expensive. Like the rest of the hotel. the rooms looked clean and tidy.

This hotel works well as a base for both leisure and business, if you have a car. Nothing particularly exceptional but still a decent hotel with very good service. Certainly, I've returned many times and have usually enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UK49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear UK49er

Thank you for your feedback further to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Aylesbury.

I am delighted to learn of the great service you experienced during your stay, the hotel team will be especially pleased that their hard work has once again created a positive experience for our guests.

Thanks also for highlighting the inconsistencies you have experienced around food quality, this is an area we work hard upon to ensure great service, great quality and value for money.

With regard to Free Wi Fi, this is an offering our owning company currently are reviewing, however for the foreseeable future remains as is.

Many thanks once again

Ian Rees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

I only stayed for 1 night in Feburary 2012 as I was here for a family funeral but the staff were very helpful.

The room was good, clean and comfortable.
The bed was just right for a good nights sleep.

I would have no problems in recommending this hotel for a short stay, but the only problem was it seemed a little out of the way for local pubs and restaurants unless you are happy to get a taxi or drive.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aapierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear aapierre

Thank you for your feedback further to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Aylesbury.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel facilities to be clean and comfortable and that the hotel team were friendly.

Many thanks
Ian Rees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aylesbury hotels
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Aylesbury Hotel
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden Court Aylesbury
7.1 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
3.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
2.0 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Aylesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aylesbury

Property: Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Address: Previously ASTON CLINTON Road New Road, Aylesbury HP22 5QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Aylesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Aylesbury 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Aylesbury offers stylish yet comfortable surroundings for the business and leisure guests alike. The hotel enjoys a semi-rural location on the outskirts of Aylesbury conveniently located on the A41, yet within easy reach of the M25, M40 and M1 motorways.This hotel is a suitable base for visiting Silverstone, Stoke Mandeville Hospital, Whipsnade Zoo & RAF Halton. Holiday Inn Aylesbury combines an excellent range of facilities - 139 bedrooms,including family rooms,interconnecting rooms and 60 Ground floor bedrooms including 2 fully accessible rooms and all public areas are situated on the ground floor. Junction restaurant, Hub bar and lounge facilities overlooking the Courtyard Gardens. Kids Stay & Eat Free* *Terms and Conditions apply. The Spirit health and fitness club including indoor swimming pool, steam Room, gym, dance studio & two beauty treatment rooms. Air Conditioning, High Speed Internet Access & Wireless Internet access available in all bedrooms, public areas and Conference Rooms. Holiday Inn Aylesbury is a perfect venue for Meetings and Events with a large selection of Suites catering for up to 130 delegates. The hotel is one of the few venues that has a license for hosting a Civil ceremony in its gardens or alternatively in 2 other venues inside the hotel. Complimentary onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Holiday Inn Aylesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aylesbury Hotel Aylesbury
Aylesbury Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing