We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern well appointed hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Aylesbury
Buckie, Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Modern well appointed hotel”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here for the weekend for a reunion. The hotel on well spread out with long identical corridors so finding your room can be a trek. The room itself was excellent and well appointed although the bed was a small double. The restaurant offered an excellent evening meal and good range of breakfast. The bar prices in my opinion are high and should be avoided. I made use of the excellent 12m pool for lane swimming and had it to myself.

Room Tip: Try to book a room closer to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Andrew G
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments further to your recent stay. It was good to learn that you found the hotel facilities to you satisfaction, enjoying the Spirit Leisure club and also having a great dinner and breakfast experience. Thanks also for your feedback with regard to the bar prices this will be shared with our corporate Food and Beverage team, who co ordinate all menu and drinks pricing across the UK.
Once again many thanks.
Yours sincerely
Ian Rees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    303
    175
    63
    36
See reviews for
179
209
32
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

As a previous review stated Dinner was overall poor in that the stak was either very grisly or very under done. Breakfast the first morning was plenty full but completely dried out. better on second morning.
Reception was very good and rooms were clean although not put together on opposite sides of hotel which was quite a long walk(originally on different floors!!)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear cathchris
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback further to your recent stay with us.
Im really sorry we let you down with your dinner experience, and with the quality of the steak you had ordered, this feedback will of course be passed onto our meat supplier, as we expect to receive top quality meat at all times, in addition we will review our kitchen processes for preparing steaks before dinner service, to ensure a positive experience is provided to our guests. I was also disappointed to learn that breakfast was not presented in the best condition on your first day, this is a very basic point that is inexcusable, and I will endeavour to establish who was on duty to explain the need to ensure little and often is the best way to ensure a fresh and hot breakfast.
Once again my apologies..
Yours sincerely
Ian Rees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a coach trip and the bedrooms were above expectations as I was a single traveller. I was given a room with a king size bed and the room and bathroom were immaculate and very well furnished.
The problems came when we had dinner. The food was cold, the roast potatoes burnt, a strange mix of fish cake, pork steak, potatoes and pasta and the pork steak needed a hacksaw to cut it. No gravy or dressing was provided. On to the dessert which was a frozen lemon meringue or chocolate tarte with no cream or ice cream with which to moisten the pud. We were expected to pay extra for coffee and usually this is included as part of a meal.
Breakfast was slightly better but as it was a buffet the cooked option was cold and therefore unappetising.
Dinner the 2nd night was not much better than the first night so they ought to sack the chef and get one who can cook or they are going to lose a lot of return customers as I would never stay there again and neither would the party of friends I travelled with.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barawlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear barawlings
Thank you for your Trip Advisor comments further to your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Aylesbury.I was most disappointed to read your feedback with regard to your dining experiences over the weekend as we deal with many events, and groups of varying sizes of which food quality and food temperature is I am pleased to advise not typically experiences associated with poor feedback, nevertheless I am most sorry that you did not enjoy either dinner or breakfast, and will of course investigate accordingly to endeavour to understand why on this occasion this was not the case. It was good however to learn that you found the accommodation to your satisfaction.
Yours sincerely
Ian Rees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here for a girls shopping weekend 16th Nov - good location for Bicester outlet village.
Rooms are basic and dated but clean and all you need for a 1 night stay. I wouldn't have wanted to stay for longer, but it depends on what you want out of a hotel.

Had a disastrous restaurant experience for our evening meal. They had a function on elsewhere in the hotel and I think the kitchen crippled under the strain. We had to wait two hrs before getting our main courses. Everyone complained that their food was cold and tasteless.

When we complained they did knock any extras off our restaurant bill and gave us a few bottles of wine so redeemed themselves slightly. It did however put a dampner on our evening and it meant it was too late to go anywhere else afterwards.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Leanne C
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback further to your recent stay. I was most disappointed to learn of the poor dining experience you describe, and whilst I understand this was not satisfactory I am however pleased to learn that the restaurant team on duty were able to take steps to reflect some compensation for the poor experience surrounding dinner.
Please accept my sincere apologies for our poor service and the overall disappointment caused.
Yours sincerely
Ian Rees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aylesbury hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This hotel is on a few sites including trip advisor stating that it is pet friendly, and I have stayed there before when it was. However, this is no longer the case. If you read the holiday in page it states that they only take guide dogs now., and even if you phone them and explain you have stayed there with your pets previously, they still inform you that they no longer allow pets. Hence we have had to find other pet friendly hotels in the area, and they loose our custom.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonReaperBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear GordonReaperBrown
Thank you for your comments further to your recent stay with us at Aylesbury, however we no longer allow pets to stay with their owners at the hotel. This decision was taken some time ago and was made in conjunction with feedback from other hotel users whilst also based around the experiences we had encountered upon occasion when pets had been permitted to stay.
Yours sincerely
Ian Rees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times over the past 5 years and have always found it to be reliably comfortable, with great service, at an affordable price. We usually book an executive room as these are well worth the little extra, with tasteful, stylish decoration and lovely wooden sliding shutters, that not only look fabulous, but provide black out and quiet for good sleep. The bathrooms are tidy and well looked after with good, modern design. Staying as a family of 4 this time, breaking up a long drive home from Stansted Airport (about 1 hour away), we enjoyed quick check in and found the room made up perfectly, complete with kingsize bed and the sofa made into twin beds. The pillow menu is an added bonus for the more fussy amongst us and another guarantee of a good night's sleep. At weekends, the breakfast buffet stays open an hour later, to 11am, allowing a lovely lie in without worrying about missing out on a sturdy breakfast. A newer addition to the buffet is a make-your-own pancake machine which went down very well with the children! We all really enjoyed a plate of pancakes with fresh fruit salad and honey. The gym and pool facilities are a real bonus whether we're travelling for business or pleasure and along with the fabulous staff, make this our very favourite Holiday Inn to visit. I have just one moan to mention; they, like many 'non-tabecloth type' restaurants, go around cleaning tables with noxious D10 spray while people at nearby tables are still eating. Having been put in hospital by someone using this toxic product too near me in the past, hearing the 'tsst - tsst' of fine chemical mist being squirted from a height on any table in the same room, puts me in a state of tension not conducive to good digestion! I wish more restaurants would adopt (at the very least) a 'spray the cloth, not the table' approach to cleaning, or maybe go environmentally and human friendly by using a non toxic yet equally effective product like Ecover. Go on Holiday Inn, start a trend, go green and become the healthiest place to work, stay and eat, you will knock the spots off all your competition!

Room Tip: Executive rooms are well worth the money if you like a bit of luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helsbiggerpicture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Helsbiggerpicture
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments further to your recent stay with us at Aylesbury. I was delighted to read your feedback and more so to learn that this was based upon your many visits, its really great to know that we can deliver a great and memorable guest experience on a consistent basis, rather than something more inconsistent. It will be a real pleasure sharing your comments across the hotel. On the note with regard to the use of the chemical trigger spray, I will share your comments with the Food and Beverage teams in endeavour to make your request a standard process.
Once again thank you for the great comments and constructive feedback.
Yours sincerely
Ian Rees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sogndal Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I've stayed at this hotel place a couple of times. Both with family and a girl.
It's a very business hotel, so it's quiet and the service is good. They got a great breakfast and restaurant.
Good gym and swimming pool, so bring your fitness kit!
The hotel is placed outside of the city centre, so there is not much noise at night (or during the day)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear RInem
Thank you for your feedback further to your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Aylesbury. I was really pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel facilities to your satisfaction. Thank you for your continued loyalty and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Ian Rees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylesbury
2.3 mi away
Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury
3.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
469 reviews
1.3 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
666 reviews
2.0 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
191 reviews
7.2 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Aylesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aylesbury

Property: Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Address: Previously ASTON CLINTON Road New Road, Aylesbury HP22 5QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Aylesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Aylesbury 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Aylesbury offers stylish yet comfortable surroundings for the business and leisure guests alike. The hotel enjoys a semi-rural location on the outskirts of Aylesbury conveniently located on the A41, yet within easy reach of the M25, M40 and M1 motorways.This hotel is a suitable base for visiting Silverstone, Stoke Mandeville Hospital, Whipsnade Zoo & RAF Halton. Holiday Inn Aylesbury combines an excellent range of facilities - 139 bedrooms,including family rooms,interconnecting rooms and 60 Ground floor bedrooms including 2 fully accessible rooms and all public areas are situated on the ground floor. Junction restaurant, Hub bar and lounge facilities overlooking the Courtyard Gardens. Kids Stay & Eat Free* *Terms and Conditions apply. The Spirit health and fitness club including indoor swimming pool, steam Room, gym, dance studio & two beauty treatment rooms. Air Conditioning, High Speed Internet Access & Wireless Internet access available in all bedrooms, public areas and Conference Rooms. Holiday Inn Aylesbury is a perfect venue for Meetings and Events with a large selection of Suites catering for up to 130 delegates. The hotel is one of the few venues that has a license for hosting a Civil ceremony in its gardens or alternatively in 2 other venues inside the hotel. Complimentary onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Aylesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aylesbury Hotel Aylesbury
Aylesbury Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing