We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Aylesbury
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here on Christmas Day night when we were visiting family in Aylesbury. Check in and check out were quick and efficient and all the staff we met were pleasant and helpful.
The hotel was bright and modern. There was a bit of a queue at breakfast next morning, but I think this was because most people had a lie in and all arrived at the same time. Despite this, staff coped well and still had time to deal with requests from guests. There was a little wait for hot food to be replenished, but again, this was because so many people arrived at once. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Happytraveller22
Thanks for your feedback further to your recent stay with us. I was really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us over Christmas and found the hotel modern and comfortable. It was also good to know that the hotel team delivered a friendly and positive throughout and that you experienced a good breakfast.
Many thanks
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Booked two rooms for Christmas day, check in was quick, rooms were clean but looking a bit tired especially in the bathroom where paint was flaking off the ceiling and taps on bath covered with lime scale, we did find the selection of tea and coffee a bit mean within the room as we only drink green tea, only normal tea was available.
When returning to the hotel in the evening the temperature was quite warm, we all decided to have a drink in the bar unfortunately there was some “Travellers” staying in the hotel and the men were getting very loud and aggressive along with the gutter swearing, we retired for bed and again we found the temperature overwhelming in the bedroom even turning the thermostat down , I also found the pillows a bit small and hard.
Breakfast was good with good choice of hot and cold buffet, but checkout was poor as a guest was complaining about his booking I stood at the desk for around 6-8 minutes with two receptionists attending to the complaining guest they totally ignored me, thank you Mr Complaining Guest as he asked one of the receptionists to attend to me otherwise I would still be standing there for the rest of Boxing day.
Overall Holiday Inn has lost its image their hotels are looking tired and need to keep up with the competition, I have used them in the past but changed to the new kids on the block Premier Inn, I feel the rooms are of better quality and that includes green tea, nicer beds with soft pillows and duvets

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sport53uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear sport53uk,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is unfortunate that this visit was a disappointment on several aspects especially with your experience upon check out and room temperature being a problem. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and we will use the points you have raised to improve on what we can offer.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

From the minute we arrived here we knew the guests came first. Mohammed should be running the company!! Knowing there were Christmas Parties we were allocated a room well away from revellers and noise by him. Room was great and you could not fault the whole experience. The only let down was Aylesbury itself. Other than that brilliant.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear John P
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback from your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Aylesbury. I was really delighted to learn that Mohamed had delivered such a fantastic guest experience for you. Actions such as those you mention whereby he shows the thought he places upon ensuring our guests have a great stay are most typical of the passion he has for ensuring our guests comfort.
Thank you
Ian Rees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We spent a pleasant couple of days at the hotel and the room was fine on the whole - we had been upgraded as members of their loyalty scheme. The only real problem was that the air conditioning did not work - the hotel are clearly aware of this as there was a note in the room advising that fans were available on request! It was warm when we were there (in June) and air con would have been better - but a fan was quickly provided when we asked. The property generally is fine - with a small garden with outdoor seating and quite a good sized lounge area around reception. We decided to have breakfast in the hotel as we were offered a good discount and it proved to be a good decision. There was plenty of choice - including a machine which produced small pancakes! Masses of parking available. We didn't get time to use the swimming pool. The Receptionist was very helpful and kindly printed off some information (about Bletchley Park) for us - which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarbellaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear MarbellaSue
Thanks for your Trip Advisor feedback. It was great to learn that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us earlier in the year. Sorry but I am unable to identify why the Air Conditioning within your room was ineffective due to this being some months ago, however I do recall we had an issue with a compressor unit in the summer, so it was possibly linked to this, however good to see that the team were thoughtful and looked to provide fans. It was also great to see that the Reception team recognised your status as valued IHG Rewards Club members by providing an upgrade, all to often this is not possible due to the level of business, but glad we were able to on this occasion.
Yours sincerely
Ian Rees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This hotel is on the outskirts of Aylesbury. Parking is ample and easy. The hotel is nicely decorated. The rooms well appointed. Breakfast was a delight. Even a Hot Pancake machine! Swimming pool and steam room was very relaxing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAgentPaul99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear TravelAgentPaul9
Thanks for your feedback and really pleased to see you that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Its great also to see that you made the most of our leisure facilities.
Kind regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I was staying here with my team last night. My company are regular and large users of this hotel as it is near to one of our key sites.
One of my team, travelling from Denmark, and after a long drive from Mancester airport arrived at 10pm to be told that there was no room available despite having a booking through our company travel agent.
Apparently the hotel have a policy of overbooking rooms and then priotisiing their 'platinum' members. Therefore a young female travelling alone was turned away late at night.
Apparently this is a holiday Inn wide policy - all postential customers should be aware of this and take note.
Profit and greed before safety and guest satisfaction from this major chain. I have been a regular customer of Holiday Inn over the last 10 years, I will now avoid.

Room Tip: Try another hotel that may actually honour your booking!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobinD76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear RobinD76
Thanks for your Trip Advisor feedback further to your stay with us earlier this month. I was very disappointed to learn of your feedback with regard to this situation, and at the outset would like to offer my sincere apologies for the situation that arose and resulted in the situation you describe.

It was most disappointing to read that you believe that we run our hotel purely to turn a profit and have no thoughts for our guests comfort, safety or indeed loyalty, this is most untrue, hence the reputation we strive to achieve within the locality, which is one of integrity and with a passion to deliver a positive and memorable guest experience. Yes we can make mistakes but we genuinely care about our guests comfort and experience at the Holiday Inn Aylesbury. Companies such as yours I am sure would testify to this in the grand scheme of things, however I readily admit on this occasion we did let you down for which I am most apologetic, and have also made my personal apologies to your team member.

Whilst I have already corresponded to you direct with regard to the points you raise I have added my comments below for the benefit of other Trip Adviser users to permit the hotel response.

Firstly I would like to confirm that there is no policy for Holiday Inn to overbook and then in turn to book out guests, in addition to which there is no policy that IHG Platinum Rewards guests receive preferential treatment over any other guests. Both of these are incorrect, and I was most concerned to learn that the Manager on Duty communicated this in a way which implied this to be true, further to which I have completed a full review with the line manager of the team members on duty to ensure that training is provided to assist should a similar event occur in the future.

However there is Holiday Inn policy with regard to the accommodating of guests when an overbooking situation occurs, as on occasion this can occur and normally is due to guests extending their reservations or maintenance issues affecting guest accommodation. In this particular case the over booking was caused due to the failure of a bedroom door lock.
Within this policy we clearly identify that it is unacceptable to out book any lone female guests, in the interest of their personal safety, comfort and general satisfaction.

The out booking of your colleague should not of occurred last night, it was most concerning that the team believed this was the correct decision to make, and further to your feedback and with the additional training provided will now be in a better position to deal with any similar situation in the future.

Once again thank you for making me aware of this situation, feedback such as this truly helps us in our efforts to deliver a consistent and memorable guest experience.
With sincere apologies.
Ian Rees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed a couple of months ago, to attend an evening at the theatre.
The room, I really have no complaints. We had a king size room, booked earlier in year, for same price as standard.
Had a couple of drinks at bar, beer ok, but wine prices extortionate!
We actually came back to eat, in the bar as it was late, but that was fine. Vegetable lasagne was good.
Breakfast is very good. Just ask if you want eggs done different. Poached were nice.
I also like their bacon!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliekBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear juliekBucks
Thank you for your Trip Advisor feedback. Great to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylesbury
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Aylesbury Hotel
2.2 mi away
Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury
7.2 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
607 reviews
1.3 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Tring Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Aylesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aylesbury

Address: Previously ASTON CLINTON Road New Road, Aylesbury HP22 5QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Aylesbury
Price Range: £62 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Aylesbury 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Aylesbury offers stylish yet comfortable surroundings for the business and leisure guests alike. The hotel enjoys a semi-rural location on the outskirts of Aylesbury conveniently located on the A41, yet within easy reach of the M25, M40 and M1 motorways.This hotel is a suitable base for visiting Silverstone, Stoke Mandeville Hospital, Whipsnade Zoo & RAF Halton. Holiday Inn Aylesbury combines an excellent range of facilities - 139 bedrooms,including family rooms,interconnecting rooms and 60 Ground floor bedrooms including 2 fully accessible rooms and all public areas are situated on the ground floor. Junction restaurant, Hub bar and lounge facilities overlooking the Courtyard Gardens. Kids Stay & Eat Free* *Terms and Conditions apply. The Spirit health and fitness club including indoor swimming pool, steam Room, gym, dance studio & two beauty treatment rooms. Air Conditioning, High Speed Internet Access & Wireless Internet access available in all bedrooms, public areas and Conference Rooms. Holiday Inn Aylesbury is a perfect venue for Meetings and Events with a large selection of Suites catering for up to 130 delegates. The hotel is one of the few venues that has a license for hosting a Civil ceremony in its gardens or alternatively in 2 other venues inside the hotel. Complimentary onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Aylesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aylesbury Hotel Aylesbury
Aylesbury Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing