We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Aylesbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Aylesbury
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Use HIs a lot and find this one rather disappointing. Reception staff gave insipid welcome, room getting rather tired, charged for Internet with poor connectivity at times, bar area very untidy at 10 pm at night, food crumbs and grease on many tables making them unusable and an unpleasant area to sit. Pool a little on small side but well managed on a busy Sunday morning by roping off a swimming area. Large car park which even when busy had space. Very noisy guests on one night and walls very thin could hear conversation in next room. Other hotels offer better value for money if pool not required.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fromhome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Fromhome1
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments further to your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Aylesbury. I was concerned to learn that we did not provide you with an enjoyable stay, and whilst this is not typical I remain disappointed. I sincerely hope that you will give us a second opportunity to deliver a more positive experience.
Thank you for your constructive feedback.
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    292
    167
    63
    33
See reviews for
170
200
31
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

They do what they can, they are very kind and helpful, but the things are too expensive for what they offer, food is expensive and the breakfast is poor quality and expensive, when you check in if your room is at the second floor no one will help you with you luggage and there is not an elevator so you need to use the stairs, the distribution of the room is not good, the power sockets are not in an ideal position, rooms don't have security box, you need to pay for WIFI and its speed is sometimes slow. Overall not recommended, you can get better prices on better places.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jose Rodrigo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Jose Rodrigo P,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the pricing structure of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aylesbury hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice hotel and rooms with helpful staff, but the rooms are not well sound proofed, doors let in a lot of light from the corridor and window shutters do not allow good ventilation. There is no attempt to remind guests to respect others with the result that people are noisy in the corridors well in to the early hours. I stayed two nights and on both was woken well after 02.00. If this were a Premier Inn I would have had my money back under their guarantee.

Breakfast is also expensive - one price fits all - so if you don't want a full blow-out, £11.95 is pricey. No option or leeway for coffee and toast or cereal.

I would not recommend Holiday Inn as a first choice but adequate if you cannot get in somewhere better for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear David B
Thank you for your comments further to your recent stay with us at Aylesbury. I was disappointed to read that your stay was disturbed by other hotel users, this is most unfortunate and not typically an issue our guests experience, my apologies. Thank you also for your comments with regard to breakfast pricing and options, and whilst suggestions such as yours are currently not available, I shall make them known to our corporate office to ensure they are included when we next conduct a breakfast pricing review.
Thank you once again
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We used to come to the holiday Inn for a quick tasty lunch or a decent meal in the last few years but slowly the menu has been changed and changed...they have taken off the sharer platters which were good value and had interesting stuff like whitebait, olives, dips etc .Now its just fairly average sandwiches with a very small choice and not cheap at nearly £6 or you have to double that and get a equally dull main course of the meat and 2 veg variety ...its a shame cos the staff are always great but they have been left with poor tools to work with. The people making the decisions at Holiday Inn headquarters need to lift up their heads and see the revolution in good food that you can now get in the UK

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Jim M
Thank you for providing your constructive comments further to your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Aylesbury. I was disappointed to read that you do not find the food items on our menus to your satisfaction. Our menus are created based around guest feedback, analysis of what sells and what doesn't, market research and of course we follow on other Restaurant trends. We change our menus fairly often, typically each season, and our menus are based around using fresh quality foods. In general feedback would suggest that our menus provide dishes our guests enjoy and want to eat. However I also recognise that on occasion guests want to eat something else, and typically we encourage our hotel team to be flexible in attempting to provide our guests with the food they wish to eat, as long as we have it available. Once again thank you for your constructive feedback and please accept my apologies if on this occasion we were unable to provide food to your satisfaction.
Yours sincerely
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I had a reservation for myself and my GM Monday evening just gone, the reservation was made using a credit card. Upon arrival at 8pm we were told that there was an Overbooking system running and due to our late arrival we were being sent to another 4 star hotel 7 miles away! Not what you want after a 4 hour drive! After reluctantly accepting that we had no alternative we headed for the other hotel, needless to say this was not a 4 star hotel. The next morning we headed back to the Holiday Inn to make a further complaint to the manager who was very nice and thought where we had been sent was top quality, unfortunately she had never been to the other hotel! We received no real acceptable apology, me and my GM are Gold and Platinum members which we both now feel means nothing to the Holiday Inn, this is the third time this has happened at a Holiday Inn Hotel. This has now given our organisation a feeling that we cannot trust or guarantee that a booking with Holiday Inn will be met even is secured with a credit card. Shame as we have always enjoyed Holiday Inn Hotels as you normally know what to expect, comfort, good food and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Make sure you pay up front for your room to guarantee it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Paul T
Thank you for providing your feedback further to your recent reservation with us at Aylesbury.
At the outset please accept my apologies for the overbooking situation which occurred, and in turn resulted in us failing to honour your reservation. Unfortunately on occasion this situation does arise and is normally due to either a maintenance issue with accommodation, or more often guests extending their stays. In most cases we are able to manage these issues without having impact upon arriving guests, however in this case I am sorry we were unable to resolve this prior to your arrival.
Once again my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and whilst I am most aware that there are many alternative providers of accommodation I do hope we can be of service to you again in the future.
Yours sincerely
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were booked in for just one night for a re-union dinner. The choice of venue was excellent and the reception staff were first class.We were booked for dinner, bed and breakfast, we had a room overlooking a lawned area and it was very quiet except for the odd noisy guest. The person who booked the venue informed the staff that I would require a gluten free meal and was told that was fine. I rang two days before we went down and was told there was no problem with my diet. When we went In for dinner my starter was soup, I asked for a bread roll and was told the kitchen was too busy to find one, the main course arrived, chicken potatoes and veg, no gravy no dressing and they were too busy to do anything. Dessert was a fresh fruit salad, no cream or ice cream but they did get me some cream. Breakfast was great,lovely bacon,eggs etc the works..The rooms were clean with tea/coffee facilities,tv. The bathroom was a bit old, the sink was cracked and would benefit from a re-vamp.The staff were generally very polite and helpful

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear John R
Thank you for providing your feedback further to your stay with us at Aylesbury.
I was really disappointed to learn that we failed to provide you with suitable options around your dietary requirements for your evening meal. I shall endeavour to establish why this was the case as we provide items on all our menus for guests requiring a gluten free diet, its disappointing that you were told we were too busy. Otherwise it was good to see that you enjoyed all other aspects of your short stay with us, and you will be pleased to learn that shortly we are due to commence a refresher programme to deal with issues around bathroom age.
Yours sincerely
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Book a weekend away at the Holiday inn the room was spotless and the staff could not do enough for us. The breakfast had enough choices for every one. It was well cooked and fresh. We ate in the first night and although the food was nice I feel that it was very expensive for what we had. The second night we found a pub where we had a fantastic meal for half the price. We would stay again but would eat out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraMPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear BarbaraMPeterborough,

Thank you for taking time to post a review about our hotel. It is great to know that you liked the cleanliness of our rooms and found our hotel staff accommodating. As for the dining cost, we strive to provide a competitive rate in the area. It is not our intent to inconvenient our guests instead provide rate options that make sense. Nevertheless, I have taken note of your comments and forwarded them our restaurant management for review and consideration.

We are looking forward to hosting you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCase
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aylesbury hotels
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Aylesbury Hotel
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden Court Aylesbury
7.1 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
3.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
2.0 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Aylesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aylesbury

Property: Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Address: Previously ASTON CLINTON Road New Road, Aylesbury HP22 5QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Aylesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Aylesbury 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Aylesbury offers stylish yet comfortable surroundings for the business and leisure guests alike. The hotel enjoys a semi-rural location on the outskirts of Aylesbury conveniently located on the A41, yet within easy reach of the M25, M40 and M1 motorways.This hotel is a suitable base for visiting Silverstone, Stoke Mandeville Hospital, Whipsnade Zoo & RAF Halton. Holiday Inn Aylesbury combines an excellent range of facilities - 139 bedrooms,including family rooms,interconnecting rooms and 60 Ground floor bedrooms including 2 fully accessible rooms and all public areas are situated on the ground floor. Junction restaurant, Hub bar and lounge facilities overlooking the Courtyard Gardens. Kids Stay & Eat Free* *Terms and Conditions apply. The Spirit health and fitness club including indoor swimming pool, steam Room, gym, dance studio & two beauty treatment rooms. Air Conditioning, High Speed Internet Access & Wireless Internet access available in all bedrooms, public areas and Conference Rooms. Holiday Inn Aylesbury is a perfect venue for Meetings and Events with a large selection of Suites catering for up to 130 delegates. The hotel is one of the few venues that has a license for hosting a Civil ceremony in its gardens or alternatively in 2 other venues inside the hotel. Complimentary onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Aylesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aylesbury Hotel Aylesbury
Aylesbury Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing