We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly/spotless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Aylesbury
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly/spotless”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were met by a very friendly and courteous front of house receptionist, the area was spotless and welcoming,comfy seats were in abundance should the checking in process be laborious - it wasn't. Our room was spotless, bed and pillows gave an excellent nights sleep, the curtain/blinds are unusual - something we havn't Come across before - but hey, they did the job,no light passed through to disturb our rest and the room temperature was fine.

On finding our room we did observe a breakfast tray which another guest had left outside their room following room service - at 4pm in the afternoon one would of thought this would've been removed.... As too the amount of cigarette stumps on the inner court - guests who smoke have a designated smoking area complete with sign - this area is obviously not being monitored as every table we looked at had varying amounts of cigarette stumps on the floor/seats and/or table, why do some smokers not think stumps are litter? Why is the hotel not enforcing the designated area,the clues are there - the tables for non smokers do not have ashtrays so don't use the table/chair/floor instead please, it was very off Putting and prevented us having a meal outside in the sunshine.

The evening meal we did have was lovely,plentiful and overall reasonably priced, we chose to sit
in the bar area rather than the main dining as we wanted an intimate meal ( tables are very close to other diners) we did ask to sit in an area of the dining room but as it was not "set up" this was denied,however we were informed we could order from the dining/restaurant menu and sit where we wanted!

Breakfast was very good - self service, with an anundance of foodstuffs to choose from, it is NOT an " all you can eat breakfast" - one particular guest appeared to think it was! It was hot and there was a good choice, no side plates or tea spoons, and heavy mugs! We were happy not to be seated next to anyone elses table as again we wanted a little intimacy rather than hear everything other diners had to say and of course perhaps move a little when they got up to get food from the self service buffet, cereals, a selection of hot food,toast,pancakes,fruit,yogurts,juice,pastries,ham and cheeses, along with fresh fruit .Excellent.

We would recommend and if in the area again would deffinately stay over again ( especially at the rate we got ).

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and had an end room,,it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56Saintsfan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    301
    172
    63
    35
See reviews for
175
208
32
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Expensive for one level up from a budget hotel. OK but nothing special. Have been told that they routinely overbook so make sure you ring if you're going to check in late at night. As others have said, having to pay for WiFi feels like a rip off particularly given the room charge. Breakfast OK. Dinner reasonably tasty for a standard hotel. Decent sized room. Walls thin and can be noisy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank servicechampion2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear servicechampion2,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am glad that you enjoyed our food selection. However, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience the noise challenges may have caused you and if you were unhappy with the Internet fee. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve upon our service.

Thank you for your time and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding on 20th June and simply cannot fault anything. Bridal suite was huge, spotless. All our guests commented on their lovely rooms. Very quiet at night. Breakfast was superb and the pancake machine was genius. Grant the operations manager put us at ease during our wedding and worked tirelessly to make everything perfect for us. Had a fantastic time, thankyou to all the staff for a simply perfect day! Nikki & Jon

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Easy to find, pleasant location and after a long and tiring drive from the Midlands on a Friday night a warm friendly welcome at reception. Check in was very smooth, all details correct and staff seemed genuinely concerned that we would enjoy our stay. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

The room had a pleasant outlook over a grassy hill, was very quiet and the roomy bed made for a great night's sleep one of the best I have had in a hotel in long time. No lift here, so if you need help getting bags upstairs ask to have a room on the ground floor.

We had dinner in the restaurant and the steak and chips looked fantastic especially with the colourful salad garnish enough to feed two beautifully presented on a slate! The gluten-free option was however, disappointing to say the least given my recent fantastic experience at the Holiday Inn, Colchester. Despite having gluten-free pasta I was told there wasn't a sauce to go with it and so opting for the easy alternative I had the chicken with the cheese and bacon, sweet potato wedges and rocket and avocado salad with the BBQ sauce on the side. Sadly the chicken was so pale it looked positively anaemic it could have done with being rushed to A and E at Stoke Mandeville Hospital for a blood transfusion! The restaurant manager asked for feedback on our meal and to give her her due she listened. The chef came out and I take my hat off to him for coming out into the restaurant to hear about my dining experience which he agreed, wasn't good and they could and should have done better. My complimentary mini pudding, a creamy panna cotta with a little fruit surprise in the middle was delicious and just enough with a cup of coffee to finish off the meal. Hopefully my next visit to Aylesbury will find the kitchen brigade more up to speed with a gluten-free diet especially with new labelling legislation coming into force in December 2014. Although I was disappointed in my gluten-free meal it wasn't the worst I have had so take heart in the kitchen.

We checked out with a pleasant surprise to our bill - thank you- just as staff were getting the centre courtyard for a wedding and guests arriving.

Don't write off this hotel - they are good at what they do front of house and I am sure they will be trying hard in the kitchen to up the ante.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you can't manage the stairs. Overlooking the grassy bank if you want peace and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fossieWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Plenty of free parking. Efficient check in. Rooms ok. Wooden covers instead of curtains which certainly kept the room dark but thin walls so noise heard when the woman in the next room was using a mobile at 7a.m. Unless she was calling Australia she didn't need a phone to be heard!
Food was decent both at dinner and breakfast.
They wanted to charge £12.95 per day for the internet in your room. That is simply a rip off. In this day and age a hotel should not be charging anything let alone this outrageous rate

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy69Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Jeremy69Uk,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm pleased with your positive comments regarding our check in and restaurant services. It is regrettable though that your recent stay was not 100% satisfactory because of the noise levels you have experienced.

As for the internet service provided, it is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our guests with our rates, but to instead offer options that make sense.

We always appreciate comments from our guests. We will use this feedback in making decisions to improving our facility so we can serve you better in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed for one night because it's a handy location for getting to RAF Halton. The rooms are clean and very quiet, and I had a good night's sleep. Great selection of food for breakfast. The bar prices were pretty steep but maybe that's a North/South divide thing - around £7 for a large glass of wine (I nearly fainted!) No ironing board or iron in the room but the receptionist brought one along for me when I asked. The staff were all friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vja26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Devon, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed for one night whilst visiting friends in the area. Hotel is clean, checking in was fine and room was spacious, clean and airy. We didn't use any of the facilities and checked out before breakfast so this review is not of great value to those staying anymore than a single night. However, I'd stay here again, it's a safe bet for a decent nights sleep and is what I expect from an Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylesbury
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Aylesbury Hotel
2.3 mi away
Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury
3.4 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
7.2 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
2.0 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Aylesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aylesbury

Property: Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Address: Previously ASTON CLINTON Road New Road, Aylesbury HP22 5QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Aylesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Aylesbury 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Aylesbury offers stylish yet comfortable surroundings for the business and leisure guests alike. The hotel enjoys a semi-rural location on the outskirts of Aylesbury conveniently located on the A41, yet within easy reach of the M25, M40 and M1 motorways.This hotel is a suitable base for visiting Silverstone, Stoke Mandeville Hospital, Whipsnade Zoo & RAF Halton. Holiday Inn Aylesbury combines an excellent range of facilities - 139 bedrooms,including family rooms,interconnecting rooms and 60 Ground floor bedrooms including 2 fully accessible rooms and all public areas are situated on the ground floor. Junction restaurant, Hub bar and lounge facilities overlooking the Courtyard Gardens. Kids Stay & Eat Free* *Terms and Conditions apply. The Spirit health and fitness club including indoor swimming pool, steam Room, gym, dance studio & two beauty treatment rooms. Air Conditioning, High Speed Internet Access & Wireless Internet access available in all bedrooms, public areas and Conference Rooms. Holiday Inn Aylesbury is a perfect venue for Meetings and Events with a large selection of Suites catering for up to 130 delegates. The hotel is one of the few venues that has a license for hosting a Civil ceremony in its gardens or alternatively in 2 other venues inside the hotel. Complimentary onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Aylesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aylesbury Hotel Aylesbury
Aylesbury Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing