We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average sums it up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Aylesbury
Lincoln
Level Contributor
208 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Average sums it up”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The wooden shutters rather than curtains certainly keep the light out, but they also keep out cooling breezes. I prefer to have the window open rather than use air con all night. The window wouldn't stay open and I had to prop it open with the TV remote (which later fell to the ground so I had to go and retrieve it). Food in the evening was no better than OK although breakfast was distinctly better. There was a barbecue on as part of the evening buffet and as a result some areas of the hotel (including a colleague's room) were full of a faint but definite haze. The buffet included a rather ordinary vege burger (I'm vegetarian) but there was also an a la carte menu with a couple of other options. The charge for Internet access is outrageous. £5 for an hour?? Free wifi please. Lots of hotels can manage this now, and are likely to get my custom in the future in preference to this one.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lemmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Lemmus,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast selection. On the other hand, I am sincerely sorry that you were dissatisfied with the rate for the Internet. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for your time and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    303
    175
    63
    36
See reviews for
179
209
32
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
148 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A pretty average experience at this hotel on the outskirts of Aylesbury. Staff were friendly at check-in but they do not upgrade IHG Platinum members. Breakfast staff and at check-out were OK but not as friendly as when checking in.

Rooms are a touch on the small side but my main gripe was that you can hear everything through the thin walls. I had a room with an interconnecting door which I think made it worse - even a normal volume conversation the occupants next door were having could be clearly heard.

Cleanliness was lacking in some areas - dead moths below the window! Otherwise the cleanliness was good, so I think it was just blip.

I would not return due to the thin walls/noise problems.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny_c-l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear johnny_c-l,

Thank you for being one of our IHG Rewards Club Platinum members. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am glad to see that you placed a high mark on our location and I am appreciative of your comment about our check- in staff. However, I am very sorry for any inconvenience the noise challenges and the level of service you received, particularly on your Platinum benefits, may have caused you. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest services.

Thank you for your time and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed here for one night as part of a male voice choir from Swansea. We all had a fab time, lovely clean rooms, very helpful staff, good hot breakfast, very pleasant courtyard to sit and chill in and most important to us the boys behind the bar kept the beer flowing well into the night/morning What more could you want.....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigaliSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were met by a very friendly and courteous front of house receptionist, the area was spotless and welcoming,comfy seats were in abundance should the checking in process be laborious - it wasn't. Our room was spotless, bed and pillows gave an excellent nights sleep, the curtain/blinds are unusual - something we havn't Come across before - but hey, they did the job,no light passed through to disturb our rest and the room temperature was fine.

On finding our room we did observe a breakfast tray which another guest had left outside their room following room service - at 4pm in the afternoon one would of thought this would've been removed.... As too the amount of cigarette stumps on the inner court - guests who smoke have a designated smoking area complete with sign - this area is obviously not being monitored as every table we looked at had varying amounts of cigarette stumps on the floor/seats and/or table, why do some smokers not think stumps are litter? Why is the hotel not enforcing the designated area,the clues are there - the tables for non smokers do not have ashtrays so don't use the table/chair/floor instead please, it was very off Putting and prevented us having a meal outside in the sunshine.

The evening meal we did have was lovely,plentiful and overall reasonably priced, we chose to sit
in the bar area rather than the main dining as we wanted an intimate meal ( tables are very close to other diners) we did ask to sit in an area of the dining room but as it was not "set up" this was denied,however we were informed we could order from the dining/restaurant menu and sit where we wanted!

Breakfast was very good - self service, with an anundance of foodstuffs to choose from, it is NOT an " all you can eat breakfast" - one particular guest appeared to think it was! It was hot and there was a good choice, no side plates or tea spoons, and heavy mugs! We were happy not to be seated next to anyone elses table as again we wanted a little intimacy rather than hear everything other diners had to say and of course perhaps move a little when they got up to get food from the self service buffet, cereals, a selection of hot food,toast,pancakes,fruit,yogurts,juice,pastries,ham and cheeses, along with fresh fruit .Excellent.

We would recommend and if in the area again would deffinately stay over again ( especially at the rate we got ).

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and had an end room,,it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56Saintsfan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Expensive for one level up from a budget hotel. OK but nothing special. Have been told that they routinely overbook so make sure you ring if you're going to check in late at night. As others have said, having to pay for WiFi feels like a rip off particularly given the room charge. Breakfast OK. Dinner reasonably tasty for a standard hotel. Decent sized room. Walls thin and can be noisy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank servicechampion2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear servicechampion2,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am glad that you enjoyed our food selection. However, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience the noise challenges may have caused you and if you were unhappy with the Internet fee. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve upon our service.

Thank you for your time and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding on 20th June and simply cannot fault anything. Bridal suite was huge, spotless. All our guests commented on their lovely rooms. Very quiet at night. Breakfast was superb and the pancake machine was genius. Grant the operations manager put us at ease during our wedding and worked tirelessly to make everything perfect for us. Had a fantastic time, thankyou to all the staff for a simply perfect day! Nikki & Jon

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Easy to find, pleasant location and after a long and tiring drive from the Midlands on a Friday night a warm friendly welcome at reception. Check in was very smooth, all details correct and staff seemed genuinely concerned that we would enjoy our stay. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

The room had a pleasant outlook over a grassy hill, was very quiet and the roomy bed made for a great night's sleep one of the best I have had in a hotel in long time. No lift here, so if you need help getting bags upstairs ask to have a room on the ground floor.

We had dinner in the restaurant and the steak and chips looked fantastic especially with the colourful salad garnish enough to feed two beautifully presented on a slate! The gluten-free option was however, disappointing to say the least given my recent fantastic experience at the Holiday Inn, Colchester. Despite having gluten-free pasta I was told there wasn't a sauce to go with it and so opting for the easy alternative I had the chicken with the cheese and bacon, sweet potato wedges and rocket and avocado salad with the BBQ sauce on the side. Sadly the chicken was so pale it looked positively anaemic it could have done with being rushed to A and E at Stoke Mandeville Hospital for a blood transfusion! The restaurant manager asked for feedback on our meal and to give her her due she listened. The chef came out and I take my hat off to him for coming out into the restaurant to hear about my dining experience which he agreed, wasn't good and they could and should have done better. My complimentary mini pudding, a creamy panna cotta with a little fruit surprise in the middle was delicious and just enough with a cup of coffee to finish off the meal. Hopefully my next visit to Aylesbury will find the kitchen brigade more up to speed with a gluten-free diet especially with new labelling legislation coming into force in December 2014. Although I was disappointed in my gluten-free meal it wasn't the worst I have had so take heart in the kitchen.

We checked out with a pleasant surprise to our bill - thank you- just as staff were getting the centre courtyard for a wedding and guests arriving.

Don't write off this hotel - they are good at what they do front of house and I am sure they will be trying hard in the kitchen to up the ante.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you can't manage the stairs. Overlooking the grassy bank if you want peace and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fossieWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylesbury
2.3 mi away
Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury
3.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
469 reviews
1.3 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
667 reviews
2.0 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
191 reviews
7.2 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Aylesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aylesbury

Property: Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Address: Previously ASTON CLINTON Road New Road, Aylesbury HP22 5QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Aylesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Aylesbury 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Aylesbury offers stylish yet comfortable surroundings for the business and leisure guests alike. The hotel enjoys a semi-rural location on the outskirts of Aylesbury conveniently located on the A41, yet within easy reach of the M25, M40 and M1 motorways.This hotel is a suitable base for visiting Silverstone, Stoke Mandeville Hospital, Whipsnade Zoo & RAF Halton. Holiday Inn Aylesbury combines an excellent range of facilities - 139 bedrooms,including family rooms,interconnecting rooms and 60 Ground floor bedrooms including 2 fully accessible rooms and all public areas are situated on the ground floor. Junction restaurant, Hub bar and lounge facilities overlooking the Courtyard Gardens. Kids Stay & Eat Free* *Terms and Conditions apply. The Spirit health and fitness club including indoor swimming pool, steam Room, gym, dance studio & two beauty treatment rooms. Air Conditioning, High Speed Internet Access & Wireless Internet access available in all bedrooms, public areas and Conference Rooms. Holiday Inn Aylesbury is a perfect venue for Meetings and Events with a large selection of Suites catering for up to 130 delegates. The hotel is one of the few venues that has a license for hosting a Civil ceremony in its gardens or alternatively in 2 other venues inside the hotel. Complimentary onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Aylesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aylesbury Hotel Aylesbury
Aylesbury Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing