We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad and the indifferent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Aylesbury
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the indifferent”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

On arrival we were told our room was on the first floor. As I am disabled we had specifically stated that a ground floor room was required. On checking, the desk clerk said " you're lucky. There's one ground floor room available " We suggested that perhaps it was the hotel who were lucky. Others in our party who were on the first floor were directed to a flight of stairs that took them all round the building when another flight took them directly to their room. Free Wi Fi was advertised but four different members of staff were unable to connect me. We had been unable to find disabled parking on arrival and discovered that it was about twice as far away than where we had parked. As usual the cost of eating and drinking in these type of hotels is exorbitant and the evening menu was not very attractive. On the plus side the rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable, something that's not always the case. The breakfast selection was good and well cooked. Also it was hot, something that is not always the case. It is a shame that, what could be a very good hotel, lets itself down with faults that are so easy to put right. I hope that the chain would try to achieve more

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Keith B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We deeply regret to see you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    305
    176
    63
    38
See reviews for
181
213
32
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Good Points - free parking and quiet rooms
Bad Points - 2nd floor rooms definitely more run down than the ground floor, general standard of food not good and overpriced although breakfast was better than evening meal. Service charges added automatically which I requested was removed and they ask for a gratuity as well. Wifi should be free. More staff needed at peak checkout.
Wouldn't stay here for pleasure

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Jules2407,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We are sincerely sorry for the issues you had during your stay with us. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

As this was priced the same as the other cheap hotels in the area I was very pleasantly surprised at the size of the rooms. The bedroom was huge and nicely decorated and clean, with a huge big bed which was very comfy. Bathroom looked quite swish and was also clean.
The only thing that let it down was the extortionate price of the wifi which could have easily been thrown in for free. Also the price of food was very expensive.
They don't have a lift which I was surprised at so something to bear in mind for people with mobility problems. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SparklyStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Fantastic customer service reception exceptional, even got a good morning from the cleaning staff. Very clean rooms and excellent breakfast everything what you'd want a hotel chain like holiday in to be. One little niggle the bar was constantly left unmanned which left people waiting around.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_UK_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Tim_UK_London
Thank you for making the effort to provide your feedback further to your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Aylesbury. I am delighted to learn of the great guest service experience that you enjoyed, this is an area we work hard at delivering. Good to know that you also enjoyed the hotel breakfast, however disappointed we missed out on that "excellent" due to the intermittent bar service, I shall investigate.
Thank you once again
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just stayed one night, but nice hotel with really helpful staff. We were very early for check-in but the reception made a point of finding us in the hotel cafe as soon as a room became available and checking us in. Others staying at the hotel had issues with access to the rooms, which the management attended to in order to remedy. The cafe and bar area is accessible with a range of food and drink options. The rooms are usual hotel room size, clean and well maintained. In particular we liked the shutters on the window (useful after a late night). Breakfast was nice, with both continental and cooked breakfast available and plenty of food available.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPS26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear LPS26
Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback further to your recent stay at Aylesbury. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotels facilities and that the hotel team were professional and helpful. Great to know that you enjoyed the massive choice available for breakfast.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed just 1 night there after visiting a national trust property nearby. We were with a coach party the room was very good with a nice clean bathroom. very comfortable bed and a decent size tv. The evening dinner was ok but really not much choice. Just roast beef with the usual trimmings or a fish cake which would have to be eaten with the veg available with the beef. i would have given 5 stars if there had been more choice at dinner, also some items ran out on the sweet bar, they were eventually replenished, The staff were very friendly and helpful would stay again if in that vicinity.

Room Tip: we had a ground floor room which was very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trish70NSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear trish70NSomerset
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback further to your recent stay with us. It was good to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and found the facilities to your satisfaction. Sorry to learn that you found the menu choice slightly limiting, I shall pass your feedback on to the kitchen team. Once again thank you
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Down
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for 3 nights to attend a family wedding. 2 adults & 4 kids. After a 12 hour journey we arrived exhausted but relieved to have reached our destination safely. We had booked interconnecting rooms online & I had rang 2 days before setting off to confirm this. However, we were checked in to 2 separate rooms on separate floors! Having a tired & irate husband didn't help but we spoke to the duty manager who explained that although the hotel was fully booked he would try & accommodate us. He was wonderful! So pleasant & dealt with it all calmly. He checked us in to interconnecting rooms & said someone would make up the 3rd bed shortly. Our rooms were clean, well appointed & were airconditioned. He arrived within 5 mins to make up the bed. Generally this was the theme for the rest of our stay. All the staff were very efficient,pleasant &, after slipping on a wet floor, came & sorted it out promptly. The airconditioning unit was struggling with the extreme heat & condensation was dripping onto the floor. We ate in the bar on 2 nights & again, the staff were very helpful & the food was good. The breakfast was super & had a great selection of items which were constantly being restocked. We would have no hesitation in booking a Holiday Inn for a future break. It is a little out of the town centre but we preferred this as everyone enjoyed the pool etc that this hotel offers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie73codown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear charlie73codown
Thank you for making the effort to provide your Trip Advisor comments further to your stay. I am delighted to learn that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you enjoyed the hotels facilities. Its good to know also that apart from being friendly and helpful that the hotel team were able to act quickly on the occasions you refer to.
Thank you once again
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylesbury
2.5 mi away
Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury
1.3 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville
3.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
675 reviews
2.0 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
194 reviews
7.2 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Aylesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aylesbury

Property: Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Address: Previously ASTON CLINTON Road New Road, Aylesbury HP22 5QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Aylesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Aylesbury 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Aylesbury offers stylish yet comfortable surroundings for the business and leisure guests alike. The hotel enjoys a semi-rural location on the outskirts of Aylesbury conveniently located on the A41, yet within easy reach of the M25, M40 and M1 motorways.This hotel is a suitable base for visiting Silverstone, Stoke Mandeville Hospital, Whipsnade Zoo & RAF Halton. Holiday Inn Aylesbury combines an excellent range of facilities - 139 bedrooms,including family rooms,interconnecting rooms and 60 Ground floor bedrooms including 2 fully accessible rooms and all public areas are situated on the ground floor. Junction restaurant, Hub bar and lounge facilities overlooking the Courtyard Gardens. Kids Stay & Eat Free* *Terms and Conditions apply. The Spirit health and fitness club including indoor swimming pool, steam Room, gym, dance studio & two beauty treatment rooms. Air Conditioning, High Speed Internet Access & Wireless Internet access available in all bedrooms, public areas and Conference Rooms. Holiday Inn Aylesbury is a perfect venue for Meetings and Events with a large selection of Suites catering for up to 130 delegates. The hotel is one of the few venues that has a license for hosting a Civil ceremony in its gardens or alternatively in 2 other venues inside the hotel. Complimentary onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Aylesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aylesbury Hotel Aylesbury
Aylesbury Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing