We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family break”
Review of The Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bell Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Aylesbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have just returned from The Bell and must say it was fantastic the staff are all so friendly and happy. Our room which was a family room was huge and spotless very comfortable, lovely bathroom we were over the moon, breakfast was lovely and lots of choice as well. We ate in the pub a couple of times and were very impressed with the menu and service the chefs do a very good job we all thoroughly enjoyed it and would definitely return and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2013

Booked a Xmas meal for 15 people....only 7 showed up.
The waitress and bar staff were so forgiving as I asked them to wait and wait and wait, before very politely informing us that unfortunately they really needed to get on in the kitchen. They wait over an hour for us and I am so appreciative of them putting themselves out for us.
Our food arrived warm and very flavourful.
It was cheap and cheerful and we had a very merry Xmas meal :)
As a nursing student I also receive a 20% discount with my NHS card, it's really nice to receive something back in day to day life.
We go to the bell a lot and its always great. I particularly recommend their hangover breakfasts ;)
Thanks to all at the bell
X

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Suzy_Loo91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Went there at lunch-time, just wanting a good value pub lunch and as I wasn't working that day, a nice pint too. I was not disappointed on either grounds. The fish, chips and peas was very good. As a bonus struck up a lively conversation with two of the regulars, which made it a very enjoyable couple of hours.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MikeinKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

A group of just over 15 of us who were aged 17-18 booked a table at the Bell on a monday night for 6:30. After arriving and being seated all of us were immediately asked to provide ID before any food or drink was ordered. I would like to add that not a single 18 year old bought any alcohol throughout the evening. After this we were then told by the waitress that we were only allowed to purchase a meal and two drinks each before we had to leave, which seemed unreasonable. 4 members of the party arrived late (8 o’clock), ordered food by 8:30 and recieved their food by 8:40. At quarter to nine we were abruptly told by a waitress (and I quote), “you need to leave by 9 o’clock, so eat up”. At 9, when they sent the barman who had not been serving us to ask us to leave, we politley asked why we had to leave by 9. He said that it was pub policy to not allow under 18’s on the premises after nine o’clock. We asked him if there was any signage in the pub that showed this policy, to which he replies yes, but when he returned he said he could not find it. One member of our party asked if we could talk to the manger and the barman went to get him. We explained to the manager that we accepted that the pub may have a policy of not admitting under 18’s after 9 but we added that we felt it was unfair that we were told at such short notice and that this policy was not clearly displayed. We were not a disruptive or rowdy group and we were not causing any trouble and we feel that we have been treated in both a patronising and unfair manner. Our group had spent a considerable amount that evening that must have accounted for a good amount of the pubs income that evening as it was by no means busy. One of us asked for the head office of Wetherspoons number and will be lodging a formal complaint.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Charlo12e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank fran3e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aylesbury hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#9 of 12 in Aylesbury
789 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
735 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Aylesbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury
4.1 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
200 reviews
12.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Magnolia Park Hotel, Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Address: 40 Market Square, Aylesbury HP20 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Aylesbury
Price Range: £38 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing