We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to childhood.”

Roald Dahl Children's Gallery
Ranked #12 of 29 things to do in Aylesbury
Attraction details
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Back to childhood.”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I really enjoyed Dahl books but found the gallery disjointed. As it was Bank Holiday everywhere was busy and consequently couldn't really spend any time at exhibits. Possibly better to go at a quieter time - unless of course you have childfren who are on holiday and then you are restricted.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosie190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    13
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for kids!”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I took my 2 boys aged 6yrs and 3yrs here. Great for both of them. Everything is interactive, and they are encouraged to press buttons etc which is always a hit.
Bright and colourful and fun for adults 2.

Has a lovely walled garden, with nice clean benches. where we sat and ate our picnic. Grounds are clean and well maintained. Cafe is very reasonable

Small shop with some good pocket money toys.

Clean toilets, and baby change was clean as well - always a bonus for us mums!!

Recommended!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank VikkiH1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Small and cute, but not quite five star”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This is the main attraction in the county Museum. The rest of the museum is free, but this is chargeable and it is advised that you book in advance. The gallery is really made up of 4 rooms packed with exhibits based Roald Dahl's books. There's a foxes tunnel, which children can go through, exhibits that make sounds, microscopes set up and plenty for children to touch, feel and have a go. It's all about story telling and encouraging children to think about sounds, sights and what they feel. If you are expecting to find out about the life of Roald Dahl, I'd suggest the http://www.roalddahlmuseum.org instead.

The biggest problem with the museum is that there simply isn't enough in it, some of the exhibits are starting to feel a little dated and it's rather disappointing that one of the exhibits was not working, especially because of the premium paid to enter.

Overall, it is worth it if your children love the Roald Dahl books, but otherwise I'd recommend going to the local indoor play area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jabela30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aylesbury
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

nothing to dislike,children have fun.small but not expensive restaurant.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank areoengine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrific fun! The children loved it!”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The museum itself was fairly small and it seemed like the whole place was more dedicated to story telling rather than the life of the author. At first I was sceptical but the kids had an absolutely amazing time. It was quite unlike most other museums which is probably why they enjoyed it so much!

Helpful?
4 Thank william-lashly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roald Dahl Children's Gallery also viewed

Waddesdon, Aylesbury Vale
 
Wendover, Aylesbury Vale
 

Been to Roald Dahl Children's Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing