We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable bank holiday Monday lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Aylesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We had a most enjoyable pub lunch in the front garden on the bank holiday Monday. Friendly, prompt service and reasonable prices. Beer battered mushrooms really enjoyable and cost only £2 to add-onto a sandwich deal. Chicken and bacon sandwich was well made with a tasty filling. BBQ beef ciabatta was also very nice and a little bit different. Pâté and bread also good quality and my wife enjoyed. Lovely shandy! Would definitely recommend and go back again. Was quite tempted with the special Father's Day lunch. Was quite surprised how nice the pub was inside, original flagstones, lots of seating and very cosy.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank BucksOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed just one night and found that the accommodation was very good - beds were comfy, enough wardrobe space and the bathroom was extremely spacious compared to other hotels I have stayed in. There are loads of car parking spaces and the only downfall of these premises is the bar food, although it looks old worldy and comfortable the service is really bad. We ordered a meal and drinks and it took 50 mins to complete. The food was not tasty, obviously frozen fast food, and we paid for B & B but we did not take up the offer of breakfast as the dinner was not nice!

I would reccommend the accommodation and drinks in the bar but not the food.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miryam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed for one evening and on check in we had a friendly welcome and were given the keys for our room immediately We dropped our bags in the room and went downstairs to the attached bar for a snack and drinks which was very convenient.

Our room was nicely decorated with plenty of lights(something you don't always get), the bathroom was extremely warm due to a broken thermostatic radiator valve and the only way to cool it down at all was to open the bathroom window which was a challlenge due to it being stuck. The bedroom was also very warm and we slept with the window open. The room was small but included a wardrobe, desk, free wifi and a small brochure about the histpry of the pub which I thought was a nice touch. The complimentary continental breakfast was nicely presented and included fruit juice, fresh fruit, cereal and a bakery selection plus a newspaper on each table to read - again a thoughtful touch.

Just as we about to leave when checking our room to make sure we had left nothing behind we did notice that the pillowcases weren't clean.

I think that the Five Bells is a good economical, friendly choice to stay in and despite my niggles about the room if asked if I would stay again I would say yes. I think the owner works very hard at providing accomodation at a very reasonable price and it would not take much to bring this into the very good category.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We spent three nights at this pub, and found our room to be warm and comfortable in good decorative order and clean. The bathroom was also very clean and adequate although somewhat on the compact side. We dined here every evening and found the menu to be fairly extensive with good food at a reasonable price. Nathan and his team were extremely friendly and helpful and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touristgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I stayed for one night, but friends and family stayed for two/three nights and I have also asked their opinions and incorporated them in this review.

Overall, the place does the job and is very reasonable for the price. The accommodation is in a block right next to the pub, and the breakfast is taken in the pub. The pub itself is old and nice, serving a reasonable range of drinks. I did not eat any main meals there myself but am told by others in my group that they were fine. The pub closes at 11pm which whilst bad news for the drinkers amongst us, is good news for those in the rooms who want to go to sleep!

The rooms are fine in terms of size, cleanliness, comfort and facilities. No problems at all. There is plenty of free off road parking, and free wifi (I did not use this so can't say how good a connection it is)

The continental breakfast is a "help yourself buffet" style and is fine. I would have preferred a full English breakfast but this is not an option even though the pub offers a full menu from lunchtime onwards so must have the facilities and chef.

My only minor gripes are about that extra care that you would like to see, but I didn't - there was some confusion on arrival about the payment arrangements although the pub had a piece of paper from their central reservations unit giving all the details, there was no member of staff around when we we were taking breakfast or when I wanted to check out, and although almost all the hotel was taken over by people attending my son's wedding reception nearby there was no acknowledgemenbt of this or best wishes given etc

All in all, a good bet for a reasonable value overnight stay if you are doing something nearby

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

My partner and I stayed here for New Years Eve. The pub is lovely and very vintage looking with a lovely log fire that you can sit by, the atmosphere was very nice. The room was cosy and clean with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was modern and clean, my only annoyance is that they hadn't replenished the hand wash in the bathroom. Breakfast was included in the room and consisted of juices, fruit, yogurts, different breads and pastries with jams and spread. I really enjoyed our stay here and for £30 a night will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Five Bells. The evening meals we had in the restaurant were very good and the service was friendley and efficient. The restaurant was very busy but in spite of that food arrived quickly and was well cooked. Ashley is a hard worker! The rooms were basic but clean. Although we had a problem with our allocated room (room 7) we were moved to another room immediately without a fuss. We were actually locked in the room and were unable to open the door. From the state of the doorframe this looked like an ongoing problem. Please get it fixed! Continental breakfast was adequate but a cooked breakfast is always a good start to the day. However, it's still good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taylors94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aylesbury hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#9 of 12 in Aylesbury
789 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Aylesbury Hotel
1.8 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
607 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury
3.8 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville

Address: 40 Main Street | Weston Turville, Aylesbury HP22 5RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Aylesbury
Price Range: £54 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel with character near Tring and the Chiltern Hills, this charming 19th century lodge, nestled in the ancient Aylesbury village of Weston Turville, is a great place to stay.In the 1800s, local farmers tethered their horses to the fence of the pub while they popped inside for a drink. Back then there was barely enough room for four tables. These days, guests can enjoy much more spacious surroundings, which combine all the rustic charms of the original old English inn together with plenty of 21st century comforts.Upstairs there are 16 modern rooms while the pub, among the cosiest around, is the perfect spot to enjoy a few heart-warming drinks and some fresh, seasonally inspired food.You'll find the village near Aston Clinton and Aylesbury, just down the road from the renaissance-style splendour of Waddesdon Manor. Nearby, you can venture into the hills along the famous Icknield Way or relive the glories of the age of steam at Buckinghamshire Railway Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing